Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,294
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Fantastic guide! Thank you! Everything works good so far. Just Wifi is not working. Bluetooth is fine, no problems. But Wifi is not shown in System Report.
Please check if SecureBootModel is set to Default:
Screen Shot 2020-10-23 at 1.46.54 PM.png
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please check if SecureBootModel is set to Default:
Thank you for your quick reply! That was the trick. Now Wifi is showing up. Thanks a lot!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
235
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good to know that you are experiencing the same error code - looks to me like we have found the cause. I may try unplugging my backup drive too.
@Higgie the thing that concerns me is that is my case it only hangs on the A2 code if I "restart" from Macos. If I pick windows 10 from OC picker, I can restart windows 10 as many times as I want and it will never hang on A2. It will go to the OC picker from which I can pick again windows 10, load windows 10, restart, etc. No issue.
Only with Macos+restart. I don't think it is an issue with the MB but more the combination of OC, specific HW.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
180
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
Sapphire RX6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Higgie the thing that concerns me is that is my case it only hangs on the A2 code if I "restart" from Macos. If I pick windows 10 from OC picker, I can restart windows 10 as many times as I want and it will never hang on A2. It will go to the OC picker from which I can pick again windows 10, load windows 10, restart, etc. No issue.
Only with Macos+restart. I don't think it is an issue with the MB but more the combination of OC, specific HW.
Yeah it usually happens when I restart MacOS too, except the last time where it happened even from a cold boot. It’s not EVERY time I restart from MacOS either. I haven’t been able to work out whether there is any kind of indicator or prerequisite for the next restart to hang.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
796
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
same here, i was thinking get back to the z390 or sell a kidney to buy the new mac :lol:

Probably both of them, and maybe your liver as well, for a decently specced one :wave:
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
10700K
Graphics
Radeon 580
@CaseySJ I found interesting thing thout after successful install. If I used iMac20,2 in config.json - then I experienced system instability - usually Finder stopped working properly, computer started to hang and so on. No certain pattern, but eventually I had to reboot every time.

When I changed the model to iMac19,2 - issues were gone. Completely. So just FYI.

Again - thanks for your great work!
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Messages
39
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z490 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 580
@happyjohn78 According to the OpenCore guide, SMBIOS iMac20,1 would be the better choice for your processor and not iMac20,2. Have you tried this first?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_2020-10-26 Desktop Comet Lake OpenCore Install Guide.png
    Screenshot_2020-10-26 Desktop Comet Lake OpenCore Install Guide.png
    75.4 KB · Views: 45
Last edited:
Top