Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

elfcake

Banned
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,740
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The screenshot in Post #3196 above is not correct. Please see Step 4 again.
I have performed step 4 again. What should I be looking for in the screen shots that are incorrect?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-10-21 at 6.29.06 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-10-21 at 6.29.06 PM.png
    69.8 KB · Views: 42
  • Screen Shot 2020-10-21 at 6.29.24 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-10-21 at 6.29.24 PM.png
    164.4 KB · Views: 42
  • Screen Shot 2020-10-21 at 6.35.04 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-10-21 at 6.35.04 PM.png
    117.8 KB · Views: 34
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
322
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello @DominiqueGormand,

I have not personally encountered an issue with csr-active-config set to E7030000 when installing each of the six Big Sur public betas. Are you certain that the reboot problem you mention is due to csr-active-config? It is okay to change it to all-zeros. I considered making this change to the OpenCore 0.6.2 EFI, but decided at the last minute to minimize changes that might affect existing Catalina users. In the future I may change it to 00000000.


Well, I don't know if you already tried to install the latest V10 version. All was fine before.
For this one I had to change the value to 00000000 otherwise I was not able to reboot after logging off. But the install in itself was ok up to the end.
And I confirm that this change does not affect Catalina use.
Once again I am not as expert as you are, but Dortania guide mentions the same value of 00000000 in their set up.
I let you judge of recommendations for the future :)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,952
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have performed step 4 again. What should I be looking for in the screen shots that are incorrect?
Please compare the 1st screenshot in Post 3196 with the same one in Step 4. I cannot help any further.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
185
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks again for your advice.

This problem is driving me mad as once I have a successful boot, all is well.

I will try your suggestions.

I am using Corsair MP600 NVMe for Windows and Catalina. Are you aware if anyone else has tried these and had problems?

I do not have any Thunderbolt devices.

I am having the same issue but only on restart and only if I perform the restart from MacOs. It will restart then will hang on the Gigabyte logo splash screen and the various options (F12, etc.) displayed at the bottom of the screen. Only solution is to power off then power on and then boot is ok.
If I boot windows 10 from OC then restart, no problem at all. Gigabyte logo is displayed along with the options at the bottom of the screen, options disappear, OC boot picker/icons are displayed and everything is fine. I can boot again windows 10 then restart and it will work 100% of the time. I have not figure out what the issue is.

I experienced this again yesterday, but even more extreme - Everything was running fine, I restarted from MacOS to load up Windows for some gaming, and I got the hang at the Gigabyte logo, so I powered off and back on again, only for it to hang again. So I performed a cold boot, and the same thing happened. I started to panic as not only could I not get to OpenCore, I couldn't even get into the BIOS. After my 7th or 8th attempt at booting and it hanging at the Gigabyte screen, I checked the error code on the motherboard and it was A2. I decided to just leave it while I googled the error code on my phone. Lo and behold, after a few minutes, the OpenCore picker appeared, albeit with reduced options to choose from. My Catalina Backup drive which usually appears in the picker was absent, and the only things there were Windows and MacOS. Have either of you taken note of the code on the motherboard when you experience your hangs? Next time it does it, if you can afford to wait a few minutes, please do so and see if the OpenCore picker eventually appears on its own.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,952
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, I don't know if you already tried to install the latest V10 version. All was fine before.
For this one I had to change the value to 00000000 otherwise I was not able to reboot after logging off. But the install in itself was ok up to the end.
And I confirm that this change does not affect Catalina use.
Once again I am not as expert as you are, but Dortania guide mentions the same value of 00000000 in their set up.
I let you judge of recommendations for the future :)
I did not encounter any issues with all six Big Sur public betas. If I had, I would certainly have made the change.

Screen Shot 2020-10-21 at 5.42.32 PM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,952
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I experienced this again yesterday, but even more extreme - Everything was running fine, I restarted from MacOS to load up Windows for some gaming, and I got the hang at the Gigabyte logo, so I powered off and back on again, only for it to hang again. So I performed a cold boot, and the same thing happened. I started to panic as not only could I not get to OpenCore, I couldn't even get into the BIOS. After my 7th or 8th attempt at booting and it hanging at the Gigabyte screen, I checked the error code on the motherboard and it was A2. I decided to just leave it while I googled the error code on my phone. Lo and behold, after a few minutes, the OpenCore picker appeared, albeit with reduced options to choose from. My Catalina Backup drive which usually appears in the picker was absent, and the only things there were Windows and MacOS. Have either of you taken note of the code on the motherboard when you experience your hangs? Next time it does it, if you can afford to wait a few minutes, please do so and see if the OpenCore picker eventually appears on its own.

Page 113 in the owner's manual: :)
Screen Shot 2020-10-21 at 5.47.58 PM.png


There shouldn't be an legacy IDE devices. Do you have SATA HDDs or SATA SSDs? If so, is BIOS --> SATA Configuration set to AHCI?

Recommendation: Re-flash the BIOS and configure BIOS parameters again.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
185
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Page 113 in the owner's manual: :)
View attachment 492725

There shouldn't be an legacy IDE devices. Do you have SATA HDDs or SATA SSDs? If so, is BIOS --> SATA Configuration set to AHCI?

Recommendation: Re-flash the BIOS and configure BIOS parameters again.
I have two Sata SSDs. One is my Catalina Backup so has an EFI partition, the other is MacOS storage.

I’ll check my BIOS configuration, but it boots fine 99% of the time so I can’t see why that would happen? I’ll try reflashing the BIOS if I have this problem again.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
185
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Page 113 in the owner's manual: :)
View attachment 492725

There shouldn't be an legacy IDE devices. Do you have SATA HDDs or SATA SSDs? If so, is BIOS --> SATA Configuration set to AHCI?

Recommendation: Re-flash the BIOS and configure BIOS parameters again.
It is indeed set to AHCI
 

elfcake

Banned
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,740
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please compare the 1st screenshot in Post 3196 with the same one in Step 4. I cannot help any further.
Sorry for my denseness. I finally saw the problem it works when logging out but not upon restart . This was what I see upon restart/login:
Screen Shot 2020-10-21 at 7.06.23 PM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte z490 vison d
CPU
Intel-i710700k
Graphics
Nvidia 2080ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In system information --> PCI, I do not see Intel JHL7540 Titan Ridge Thunderbolt 3 NHI, I see XHC5, and pci8086,15eb. Ive tried all other steps you have provided, did not work.
 
Top