Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
151
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I appreciate that there is no support here for macOS Big Sur.

But for those that have looked at it, has anyone figured out how to get past the new file system security specifically with system file read and write privileges? I need to apply a previously known fix for a Corsair Commander Pro being recognised as a UPS.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,960
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I appreciate that there is no support here for macOS Big Sur.

But for those that have looked at it, has anyone figured out how to get past the new file system security specifically with system file read and write privileges? I need to apply a previously known fix for a Corsair Commander Pro being recognised as a UPS.
It's much harder to do this in Big Sur. Below is an article that describes the procedure. See Bypassing SSV (SSV = Signed System Volume).
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900
Graphics
RX 580
Please try the following in BIOS:
  • Settings --> Platform Power Management --> Power Loading --> Enabled
I got my hopes up there for a moment. Unfortunately, no change. :( I really thought this was going to be THE fix since it describes my issue well. Thanks again.

Ed
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2015
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 980 TI
I am a bit stuck here (and feeling slightly stupid) at the very beginning of configuring the config.plist.

I downloaded OpenCore Configurator 0.6.1 and renamed the config-AMD-GPU.plist to config.plist and then opened this with OpenCore Configurator.

I am getting stuck already at the first step:

"Then click DataHub - Generic - PlatformNVRAM and choose iMac19,1 from the pop-up menu at the bottom as shown below."

Nothing happens when I click the pop-up menu at the bottom and nothing happens when I click the "Generate" next to "ROM".

OCC-nothing-happens.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,960
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I got my hopes up there for a moment. Unfortunately, no change. :( I really thought this was going to be THE fix since it describes my issue well. Thanks again.

Ed
Because this is happening in Windows as well, it may be a good idea to contact Gigabyte tech support and list all of the components that are in the system.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,960
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am a bit stuck here (and feeling slightly stupid) at the very beginning of configuring the config.plist.

I downloaded OpenCore Configurator 0.6.1 and renamed the config-AMD-GPU.plist to config.plist and then opened this with OpenCore Configurator.

I am getting stuck already at the first step:

"Then click DataHub - Generic - PlatformNVRAM and choose iMac19,1 from the pop-up menu at the bottom as shown below."

Nothing happens when I click the pop-up menu at the bottom and nothing happens when I click the "Generate" next to "ROM".

View attachment 489844
Please check that you have the latest version, which is 2.14.0.0.

Screen Shot 2020-09-28 at 2.50.30 PM.png
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
101
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
Sapphire RX Vega64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I got my hopes up there for a moment. Unfortunately, no change. :( I really thought this was going to be THE fix since it describes my issue well. Thanks again.

Ed

@EdPayne Just out of curiosity, what PSU do you have?

Edit: NVM, saw one of your earlier posts (Corsair RM750)

-----

I just put together a new build with Z490 Vision D + 10900k and am running into the same issue as you. The machine does not wake from sleep in Windows or macOS, with ONLY the CPU and GPU (5700XT) plugged in along with an NVMe SSD.

The components we have in common are 64GB Memory (16GBX4) and NZXT H510 (I have the non i version) => As strange as it sounds, I'm wondering it is either or both of them. I'm going to try plugging in just one or two sticks of RAM, plus try the whole setup outside of the case to see if I have any luck. Please do keep me posted if you manage to get this resolved :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi again,
Maybe I should post somewhere else? let me know if somewhere else is best.
Anyone have ideas where to start troubleshooting an Apple Thunderbolt Display?
worked the first time after trying the Hackindrom, became less stable. So I rolled back to a backup and tried again. Now nothing on the monitor.
any ideas,
thanks
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
240
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ I have recently bought a new NVMe of a new kind; SK Hynix P31 Gold 1TB. By new kind I mean it is the first one of its kind with 128 layers of NAND. Anyway long story short, when I plug it in on the MB, macos does not boot.
Here is a screenshot of the boot screen after adding -v to the boot arguments:

1601374163122.png


We can see that there is an AppleNVME failed assertion and a panic a bit further up (following the applenvmerequesttimer call).
I have 2 samsung evo+ (1TB and 250GB), 1TB WD SN750 on a pciex4 adapter card and this new one. My intention was that given this new NVMe drive is currently the second fastest NVMe on the market with very low temperature, to clone my current boot NVME drive on that ssd and reformat the current macos drive (1TB) for windows 10. Windows 10 is currently installed on the evo+ 250gb and I am running out of disk space (thanks to MS flight sim which takes 110GB).
Any suggestion regarding the above issue with this SSD?
Hynix is a well known brand for memory but it is the first time they venture in the NVMe market and as such their website has not support page for firmware update.
Note that this drive boots fine with windows 10 via OC multiboot.
Thanks

PS: I tried the new NVMe drive in all MB M2 slots as well as the PCIe x4 adaptor. Same pb except when it is in the adapter card. When it is inserted in the M2 slot on that card, the SSD is not detected at all whether it is in the BIOS or Windows 10.

PS #1: just found out this reply from Hynix on the web:
"Thank you for reaching out to SK Hynix support team.

Unfortunately, SK Hynix Gold P31 is not compatible with MacOS.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may cause you.

Best regards,
SK Hynix support team."


IT turns out that the controller itself is not supported. I have found some patches that rehabman wrote 3 years ago for SSD drives that were causing issues (Hynix was one of them, not with this model but with standard SSDs) but it is too old to use.
is there a way in that case in OC to ignore/exclude this NVMe drive while booting macos but keeping it when booting windows? That would be a shame not to be able to use this SSD :(
 
Last edited:
Top