Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
918
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As I'm relatively new to Hackintoshes, and I've been curious what difference the model makes when configuring OC, I decided to conduct some tests on my own system. This was not a particularly scientific test, but I thought some people might find it interesting, so I decided to share my results. OS is Catalina 10.15.7 and I used CaseySJ's 'OC-061-VISION-D' as the base OC config (only Model was changed).
  • iMacPro 1,1
  • MacPro 7,1
  • iMac 20,2
  • iMac 20,1
  • iMac 19,1
Geekbench 5 scores:
View attachment 489483View attachment 489484

Couple notes:
  • MacPro gave me an error stating that my RAM was misconfigured and over the supported maximum. Did not investigate.
  • Only iMac 19,1 and iMacPro 1,1 worked with iStat Menus to display all the sensors in the below screenshot. The other models only showed two or three sensors (can't remember which).
View attachment 489487
It's very interesting because with the same CPU in Geekbench 5 - I only had got 7234 points
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2020
Messages
98
Motherboard
GigaByte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Plus
  5. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It may be that OpenCore Configurator updated the config file in the wrong EFI Partition. This problem occurs with both Clover Configurator and OpenCore Configurator. Actually it happens with BBEdit as well, namely:
  • If two EFI partitions are mounted at the same time,
  • and both of them have a file: EFI/OC/config.plist,
  • then if you open this file from one EFI partition,
  • it may get saved to the other EFI partition.
So please mount all EFI partitions one by one and confirm that the change is present in the right one.
Hey Casey,

Thanks for looking into this. I've only mounted one EFI Partition at a time. I have four physical disks in the system. I've attached a diskutil list. disk0 is the Windows NVMe disk. disk1 is the Apple NVMe disk formatted APFS. I've mounted and checked the EFI config.plist and it is set as 20,2. disk2 are the APFS Volumes for the disk1. disk3 is the hard drive for the Catalina Backup formatted APFS. disk4 are the APFS Volumes for the disk3. disk5 is a hard drive for my Windows Backup.

I'm using MountEFI to mount the EFI Partition. I've mounted "Catalina Backup" and config.plist shows iMac19,1 which is correct. I've not changed that. I've mounted "Catalina" and config.plist shows iMac20,2 which is what I changed it to with different SN, etc. "Catalina Backup" has Catalina 10.15.6. "Catalina" has Catalina 10.15.7. I haven't made a backup since I updated "Catalina". I've selected both from the Picker and I check and am booted into the correct version of the OS.

One thing I notice is the MountEFI partition that is listed for "Catalina" is disk2s5, however the actual EFI Partition is disk1s1. Same is true for the "Catalina Backup". It is shown in MountEFI as disk4s2 but the actual EFI Partition is disk3s1. I've even selected MountEFI option to mount the EFI Partition of the Boot disk. The config file shows iMac 20,2.

When I reset CMOS, I did reload the BIOS settings from a saved file. I'm not aware of BIOS containing this machine information, but I did not reconfigure BIOS. The only other thing I notice is in the OC Picker, there is a boot drive named EFI. Don't know where that is coming from and it is not bootable.

As far as I can tell, "Catalina" EFI is correct and I'm booting from the correct disk. I've also done an fgrep on the config.plist file to look for the old SN but it is not in that file, it is only in the EFI Partition of "Catalina Backup". Don't know where Catalina OS is getting the SN, etc when booting from "Catalina". Everything seems correct in OC. I don't want to start over wiping the disk now. If I have to do that for Big Sur, then that would be the time.

All with OC 0.6.1.

I've attached diskutil and MountEFI examples.

Thanks

Rand
 

Attachments

  • diskutil.jpg
    diskutil.jpg
    143.4 KB · Views: 31
  • mounteif.jpg
    mounteif.jpg
    53.2 KB · Views: 27
Joined
Jul 10, 2020
Messages
98
Motherboard
GigaByte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Plus
  5. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey Casey,

Thanks for looking into this. I've only mounted one EFI Partition at a time. I have four physical disks in the system. I've attached a diskutil list. disk0 is the Windows NVMe disk. disk1 is the Apple NVMe disk formatted APFS. I've mounted and checked the EFI config.plist and it is set as 20,2. disk2 are the APFS Volumes for the disk1. disk3 is the hard drive for the Catalina Backup formatted APFS. disk4 are the APFS Volumes for the disk3. disk5 is a hard drive for my Windows Backup.

I'm using MountEFI to mount the EFI Partition. I've mounted "Catalina Backup" and config.plist shows iMac19,1 which is correct. I've not changed that. I've mounted "Catalina" and config.plist shows iMac20,2 which is what I changed it to with different SN, etc. "Catalina Backup" has Catalina 10.15.6. "Catalina" has Catalina 10.15.7. I haven't made a backup since I updated "Catalina". I've selected both from the Picker and I check and am booted into the correct version of the OS.

One thing I notice is the MountEFI partition that is listed for "Catalina" is disk2s5, however the actual EFI Partition is disk1s1. Same is true for the "Catalina Backup". It is shown in MountEFI as disk4s2 but the actual EFI Partition is disk3s1. I've even selected MountEFI option to mount the EFI Partition of the Boot disk. The config file shows iMac 20,2.

When I reset CMOS, I did reload the BIOS settings from a saved file. I'm not aware of BIOS containing this machine information, but I did not reconfigure BIOS. The only other thing I notice is in the OC Picker, there is a boot drive named EFI. Don't know where that is coming from and it is not bootable.

As far as I can tell, "Catalina" EFI is correct and I'm booting from the correct disk. I've also done an fgrep on the config.plist file to look for the old SN but it is not in that file, it is only in the EFI Partition of "Catalina Backup". Don't know where Catalina OS is getting the SN, etc when booting from "Catalina". Everything seems correct in OC. I don't want to start over wiping the disk now. If I have to do that for Big Sur, then that would be the time.

All with OC 0.6.1.

I've attached diskutil and MountEFI examples.

Thanks

Rand
BTW Casey,

I selected the "Catalina" partition in MountEFI then used the unix df command to look at exactly what was mounted for EFI. EFI was /dev/disk0s1 [edit should be /dev/disk1s1] which is correct. MountEFI is mounting the correct EFI Partition.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
790
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
BTW Casey,

I selected the "Catalina" partition in MountEFI then used the unix df command to look at exactly what was mounted for EFI. EFI was /dev/disk0s1 which is correct. MountEFI is mounting the correct EFI Partition.

disk0s1 is your Windows disk, surely you want disk1s1. Download and use EFIAgent, far better IMO
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2020
Messages
98
Motherboard
GigaByte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Plus
  5. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It may be that OpenCore Configurator updated the config file in the wrong EFI Partition. This problem occurs with both Clover Configurator and OpenCore Configurator. Actually it happens with BBEdit as well, namely:
  • If two EFI partitions are mounted at the same time,
  • and both of them have a file: EFI/OC/config.plist,
  • then if you open this file from one EFI partition,
  • it may get saved to the other EFI partition.
So please mount all EFI partitions one by one and confirm that the change is present in the right one.
Hey Casey,

I accidentally figured out what I had done. When I updated the EFI folder on the Flash drive, I didn't boot the Flash Drive from BIOS but instead picked it from the OC Picker (which brought Recovery which confused me at the time). Turns out, if I setup the EFI correctly on the Flash Drive and use BIOS to boot from the Flash drive, that sets the Machine ID, SN, etc. After that it doesn't seem to matter what the EFI config.plist says on the internal drive.

Once I booted from the flash drive that seems to have changed the PlatformInfo.

So I'm able to change the system now.

thanks

Rand
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,883
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No its related to a Z490 Vision D.
The blue ports in the back have 2.0 speeds.
I know they are part of a hub. The yellow ones are ok.
All the other ports works ok.
Could you please check your speeds?
Thanks in advance
Using a USB 3.0 flash disk in a rear blue USB 3.0 port, the write speed is 16 MB/s and the read speed is 182 MB/s.
  • 182 MB/s is 1456 Mbits/sec
  • USB 2.0 is limited to 480 Mbits/sec
  • 1456 Mbits/sec is three times faster than USB 2.
  • Conclusion: USB 3.0 port is operating at USB 3 speeds.
Screen Shot 2020-09-26 at 9.39.37 AM.png
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,883
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
I accidentally figured out what I had done. When I updated the EFI folder on the Flash drive, I didn't boot the Flash Drive from BIOS but instead picked it from the OC Picker (which brought Recovery which confused me at the time). Turns out, if I setup the EFI correctly on the Flash Drive and use BIOS to boot from the Flash drive, that sets the Machine ID, SN, etc. After that it doesn't seem to matter what the EFI config.plist says on the internal drive.
...
Yup, it's always the little things. ;)
 

nss

Joined
Sep 16, 2019
Messages
89
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Just got my new PC with NX800 case which has 1 USB 3 and 2 USB 2.0 ports in the front would that be a problem bcuz of mac 15 ports limit?
Also planning to buy a monitor which also has usb ports would that be a problem as well?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,883
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just got my new PC with NX800 case which has 1 USB 3 and 2 USB 2.0 ports in the front would that be a problem bcuz of mac 15 ports limit?
Also planning to buy a monitor which also has usb ports would that be a problem as well?
Neither one of those is an issue.
  • Internal USB 2 headers (on motherboard) that connect to USB 2 ports on the front of the case are governed by a USB hub that counts as one port.
  • USB ports on the monitor are governed by a USB controller inside the monitor. So that has no effect on the USB port limit of the USB controller in the Intel Z490 chipset.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nss
Top