Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
321
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If I'm planning to use dual boot, is it necessary to apply settings prom this post?

@lewys @CaseySJ

I tried the modification to OC suggested in the referenced thread. I set my BIOS boot order to start from my OC drive. At the OC picker I picked Windows. Windows boots VERY slowly for me from the OC picker. Windows recognized the computer as a NUC10, which it is, instead of a weird OC designation prior to the suggested OC modification.

This OC modification works for me.

But I have other dual boot issues with OC:

I dual boot Windows and Catalina 10.15.6 using OC 0.6.0 on two hackintoshes. One of the annoying things for me has been how both Windows and OC seem to mess with my BIOS boot order settings. Does anyone know how to stop it?

For example, I can set the BIOS to boot to my OC macOS drive. It boots into the OC picker fine and displays both the Windows and macOS boot drives. I boot into macOS just fine. It works the same with each reboot.

If I then select Windows from the OC selector, Windows boots, but VERY slowly. If I then reboot or shutdown from Windows, Windows changes the boot order in BIOS to the Windows drive first. On the next boot the hack boots directly into Windows, instead of the OC picker as I had previously set in BIOS. Booting Windows when NOT going through OC is VERY fast, and the computer ID was correct as expected.

On my NUC hackintosh, because of the faster Windows boot speed, and the way Windows messes with my BIOS boot order, I just leave Windows as the first selection in the BIOS boot order, and use the F10 (for my NUC) to display the BIOS boot picker window and select the macOS drive when I want to run macOS.

On my Z390 Designare, also set to dual boot Windows, I set BIOS to boot my Catalina OC drive first. If I want to boot Windows I use the F12 key and select my Windows drive. When I leave Windows I have to remember to reset the BIOS boot order back to the Catalina OC drive, or the next boot boots Windows.

With OC 0.6.1 things got even weirder for me. OC also manipulated the BIOS boot order and selectable drives. So for now I've stuck with OC 0.6.0 which I have learned how to handle its weirdness.

If others that dual boot don't experience their BIOS boot order settings getting changed by Windows and/or OC, I'd like to know how to prevent it from happening.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
118
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried the modification to OC suggested in the referenced thread. I set my BIOS boot order to start from my OC drive. At the OC picker I picked Windows. Windows boots VERY slowly for me from the OC picker. Windows recognized the computer as a NUC10, which it is, instead of a weird OC designation prior to the suggested OC modification.
I also do not understand dual boot in OC. They claim better support for dual boot, but in fact it doesn't work as it should. Windows thinks that it boots on a real mac, OC injects wrong ACPI and I think this is not a best idea..
 

qbe

Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
138
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Did you ever experience black screen issues during boot? Any troubles?
If not, I might send my Vision G back and get a Vision D.

- reset NVRAM
- confirm you have whatevergreen kext loaded*
- try booting with every port, not just changing while its running
- does your install still work with 580x now?
- confirm card works in BIOS/Windows for extended time (5-10mins)
- confirm you are using Casey config for AMD cards with iMac rom and serials
- u can try running both 580 and 5700xt. I have no idea if that can work but maybe it will and you could confirm if 5700xt loads in macos (second display connected to this card)

*I use real Mac and share screen to hack on black screen (or other problems). That way you can confirm whatevergreen is loaded.

Mostly black screen on boot is solved by whatevergreen kext, plus for RX 5700 XT one needs pikera boot arg.


I didn't install Catalina, I changed HW and EFI (also Clover > OC). But only time I remember I had problems i needed to reset NVRAM. Don't recall if it was changing SMBIOS's iMac>iMacPro>iMac, or black screen on first run. I was also messing with iGPU as first and AMD as second.... So hard to recall where exactly I had black screen.

I have zero problems with the GPU, even fan works as it should. Using iMacPro SMBIOS for better FCPX performance. Card is used daily and a lot...

---------------
So, I just did clean install to USB external drive. With Caseys EFI, using his config-amd-gpu and iMac20,2 I landed to macOS desktop. Only needed to insert serials etc. Installing using UHD Benq monitor, DP, port is the most far from mb
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,530
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
If I then select Windows from the OC selector, Windows boots, but VERY slowly. If I then reboot or shutdown from Windows, Windows changes the boot order in BIOS to the Windows drive first. On the next boot the hack boots directly into Windows, instead of the OC picker as I had previously set in BIOS. Booting Windows when NOT going through OC is VERY fast, and the computer ID was correct as expected.
...
This should not happen if you use the OC 0.6.1 EFI ZIP and the config.plist files in that ZIP (simply copy/paste your serial number, system UUID, ROM, and board serial number into the new config.plist). OR you can simply do this to your existing OpenCore config.plist:
Screen Shot 2020-09-20 at 10.09.20 AM.png
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z490
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse (SLOT-1), MSI Nvidia GeForce 980 Ti (SLOT-2)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The black screen problem with Sapphire RX 5700 XT might occur on Vision D as well. If this is an intermittent problem, then let's reexamine some questions:
  • Does the card always work in BIOS and OpenCore? In other words, you always see an image on screen in BIOS and OpenCore?
  • If so, the "intermittent" problem is only with macOS? And it happens during the late stage of the boot process (before the progress bar reaches the end)?
  • Have you tried different monitors, including 1080p or 1440p monitors?
Previously we dropped the DMAR table in OpenCore. The other table to consider dropping is MATS.

It ALWAYS works on BIOS, OpenCore and any other operating system.
The "black screen" occurs when macOS is supposed to launch into the graphical user interface.
When I connect via Remote Desktop, I cannot see ANY display connected, except the 1280x1024 framebuffer.
And oddly enough, when this is the case, the connection gets terminated after several minutes, although the HDD activity LED is still active.
I have tried with a 4K Dell Monitor via DisplayPort and with my 1440p (actually 1600p : 2560x1600) via DisplayPort adapter. If black screen happens, it happens. Regardless of the connected monitors.

It seems to me that sometimes at boot, it is unable to correctly determine the output configuration or something like that. I wish there was a way to manually configure it for this card.
There are also some UI glitches. Even with WhateverGreen 1.4.2 loaded, switching between Spaces (Desktops?) does not have the smooth transition, but rather just a black wallpaper. After using the system for a bit, sometimes I am unable to select text in Safari and need to close the tab and re-open it again. YouTube videos can also be a hit or a miss. Sometimes the audio plays, but the video is just the site background (white or gray, depending on YouTube nightmode settings).

I am reporting this in such great detail so that fellow Googler's can find out that this card CAN cause issues.
Never had anything like this with the RX 580. Maybe I am just unlucky and it is because of pairing THIS card with THIS motherboard?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z490
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse (SLOT-1), MSI Nvidia GeForce 980 Ti (SLOT-2)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
- reset NVRAM
- confirm you have whatevergreen kext loaded*
- try booting with every port, not just changing while its running
- does your install still work with 580x now?
- confirm card works in bios/windows for extended time (5-10mins)
- confirm you are using Casey config for AMD cards with iMac rom and serials
- u can try running both 580 and 5700xt. I have no idea if that can work but maybe it will and you could confirm if 5700xt loads in macos (second display connected to this card)

*I use real mac and share screen to hack on black screen (or other problems). That way you can confirm whatevergreen is loaded.

Mostly black screen on boot is solved by whatevergreen kext, plus for 5700xt one needs pikera boot arg.


I didnt install Catalina, i changed hw and EFI (also clover > OC). But only time I remember I had problems i needed to reset NVRAM. Dont recall if it was changing smbioses imac>imacpro>imac, or black screen on first run. I was also messing with igpu as first and AMD as second.... So hard to recall where exactly I had black screen.

I have zero problems with the GPU, even fan works as it should. Using iMacPro smbios for better FCPX performance. Card is used daily and a lot...

---------------
So, I just did clean install to USB external drive. With Caseys EFI, using his config-amd-gpu and iMac20,2 I landed to macOS desktop. Only needed to insert serials etc. Installing using UHD benq monitor, DP, port is the most far from mb

Very interesting!
I will try to reset my NVRAM and go through the steps you've mentioned again.
Thank you for sharing your experience with this card. I think I will keep it and hope for the best.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,530
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Very interesting!
I will try to reset my NVRAM and go through the steps you've mentioned again.
Thank you for sharing your experience with this card. I think I will keep it and hope for the best.
Because you initially had an RX580 and switched GPUs, I would suggest CMOS Reset (which will also Reset NVRAM). After CMOS Reset we need to configure BIOS again starting with Save & Exit --> Load Optimized Defaults or F7.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z490
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse (SLOT-1), MSI Nvidia GeForce 980 Ti (SLOT-2)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Because you initially had an RX580 and switched GPUs, I would suggest CMOS Reset (which will also Reset NVRAM). After CMOS Reset we need to configure BIOS again starting with Save & Exit --> Load Optimized Defaults or F7.

Hi there!

I reset my BOPS and NVRAM. Loaded Optimal Defaults.
However, still black screen at least once when I booted.
Really strange.
WhateverGreen is definitely loaded according to kextstat.

So, now I have ordered a Z490 Vision D from Amazon for testing purposes and will report once it arrived.

I can confirm PS/2 works with a Y-Cable (Mouse + Keyboard), if somebody cares...

Cheers and thank you all.
schreiberstein
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
321
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This should not happen if you use the OC 0.6.1 EFI ZIP and the config.plist files in that ZIP (simply copy/paste your serial number, system UUID, ROM, and board serial number into the new config.plist). OR you can simply do this to your existing OpenCore config.plist:

@CaseySJ

With my NUC10 and OC 0.6.0 I did set the "Boot Protect" to "Bootstrap" as you suggested. (I had used that setting previously.)

After rebooting OC it set Boot Option #1 to "OpenCore" and moved my UEFI for macOS to #2 and UEFI for Windows to #3. Well OK.

Now continuing to boot to the OC picker I selected "Windows". It took 80 seconds to get to the first Windows login window. I rebooted from Windows and the BIOS boot option order remained unchanged. OK OC did its job and Windows didn't change the boot option order.

If I use the F10 key to get to the BIOS boot picker and I choose the UEFI for Windows I get to the first Windows log in window in 13 seconds. Very strange! I wonder why OC causes Windows to boot so slowly on my NUC10? I observe similar slowdowns in Windows booting from OC on my Designare.

So I changed to OC 0.6.1. to see if Windows booting from OC was any faster. No change, it still took about 80 seconds to get to the first Windows login window.

Since I use my NUC10 primarily for Windows I'll just turn "Bootstrap" off again, and set the Windows UEFI to #1 in the BIOS so Windows boots faster. I'll use F10 to boot Catalina when I want to use it.
 

qbe

Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
138
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hi there!

I reset my BOPS and NVRAM. Loaded Optimal Defaults.
However, still black screen at least once when I booted.
Really strange.
WhateverGreen is definitely loaded according to kextstat.

So, now I have ordered a Z490 Vision D from Amazon for testing purposes and will report once it arrived.

I can confirm PS/2 works with a Y-Cable (Mouse + Keyboard), if somebody cares...

Cheers and thank you all.
schreiberstein
Will be interesting to see if mb solves it. There are mentions of users who have problem with 5700xt, even proper Mac users in egpus. I can only say for myself, I never had any problem with this board nor asus x299. The last thing comes to mind would be some different vga BIOS or something. But that is topic for a separate thread, I guess.
 
Top