Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Availability is different every month or so.
Right now, only the MQUPIN Fenvi T919 is available (for 76,99 euro, mind you!) on Amazon.
You may order anything from AliExpress, but Amazon only has this limited selection if you prefer instant delivery.
Quality of the card I bought now (for only ~60 euro) is good. Reception of both WiFi and Bluetooth seems great.

I live in Germany and I bought the YOUBO from Amazon US. Fast delivery and no problems at all. If you need to return something they're even paying back the customs.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
991
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I purchased this cable for Z170x UD5-TH because there was not DP-out on board, that's why I decided USB3.1 to DP on Monitor, but as I found out later, on board z490 Vision-D is also no DP-out either, therefore it's probably on z490-D impossible direct connection via DP to DP, but I'm not sure about this.:confused: I always felt that there was something wrong with this cable.:( Obviously, I need to replace it with a better and more correct one, the question is which one ...? advise me the correct cable please.

this is my cable USB 3.1 to DisplayPort
View attachment 488641

USB to DisplayPort relies, I think, on DisplayLink extension which Apple broke functionality as of 10.14.3, I think? It caused a lot of problems with picking resolutions. I might have the name andis versions a bit off but it affected me at the time as well.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
118
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Glad to hear it. Three Sabrent Rockets and no issues! HWMonitorSMC2 can monitor their temperature; curious to see how warm (or cool) they run.

This is an interesting issue with Linux. Some comments:
  • First, please see this post in the AMD Ryzen Announcement thread in which I describe my experience with triple boot (macOS, Windows, Linux).
  • Because you removed all other drives when installing each O/S, Linux created an EFI partition on its own SSD. This partition contains a BOOT folder and a Linux folder (named "ubuntu" in my case).
  • When you created the manual Entry in OpenCore, what is the exact Path you used?
  • When I installed Linux, the Windows SSD was already installed. So Linux combined its boot loader with the Windows boot loader.
  • So in the EFI partition of my Windows SSD, I see a folder structure like this:
    • EFI --> BOOT
    • EFI --> Microsoft
    • EFI --> ubuntu
  • Because both the Windows and Linux boot loaders are in the same EFI partition, OpenCore does not automatically recognize Linux. It only recognizes Windows. But Clover recognizes both Linux and Windows.
  • So I added an Entry in Misc as described in the link above. The result:
    • Only my entry for Linux appears.
    • Because OpenCore does not recognize Linux on its own, there is no additional Linux entry.
    • Selecting the entry boots Linux just fine.
  • As if that weren't enough, there's more!
  • I tried to see if I could move the Linux EFI files out of the Windows SSD and onto the Linux SSD. I moved both EFI --> BOOT and EFI --> ubuntu. I also copied a Linux disk icon to the EFI partition of the Linux disk and named it ".VolumeIcon.icns".
  • Now OpenCore auto-detected the Linux disk and displayed the custom Linux disk icon! But every attempt to boot that entry resulted in an OpenCore failure message right away.
  • So for now I have moved the Linux EFI files back to the Windows EFI partition.

You might be able to do this as follows (no guarantees): Set ScanPolicy to 3841. Perhaps uncheck OC_SCAN_ALLOW_FS_ESP as well.
View attachment 488059

Logitech wireless mice work very well.

I got rid of the EFI folder on my picker by doing the following:
Set ScanPolicy 2817. By keeping OC_SCAN_ALLOW_FS_ESP the EFI folder was still there. Once turning it off, auto scan for windows no longer worked, requiring a manual entry.

Then doing manual entry for both linux and windows:
PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1B,0x4)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/NVMe(0x1,28-7F-71-71-35-A7-79-64)/HD(1,GPT,08D3FCA9-FC14-453F-9B6E-F13395232EE1,0x800,0x100000) /\EFI\kali\grubx64.efi

PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1D,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/NVMe(0x1,73-7E-71-71-35-A7-79-64)/HD(1,GPT,0BE94B86-A602-431D-A3F2-3968BAE00586,0x800,0x32000) /\EFI\Microsoft\Boot\bootmgfw.efi

Hope this helps someone in the future :)
Screen Shot 2020-09-19 at 11.05.25 AM.png

19192643.png
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
991
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I purchased this cable for Z170x UD5-TH because there was not DP-out on board, that's why I decided USB3.1 to DP on Monitor, but as I found out later, on board z490 Vision-D is also no DP-out either, therefore it's probably on z490-D impossible direct connection via DP to DP, but I'm not sure about this.:confused: I always felt that there was something wrong with this cable.:( Obviously, I need to replace it with a better and more correct one, the question is which one ...? advise me the correct cable please.

this is my cable USB 3.1 to DisplayPort
View attachment 488641

Why can’t you use Thunderbolt instead if you have Vision D?

Really, your easiest solution is to find an AMD RX 580 used on whatever service is close to you and be done. You’ll have a much much better system because of it.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2020
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700k
Graphics
6800xt
  • Is your system a dual or multi boot system with Windows and/or Linux?
  • Do any of your SSDs contain multiple partitions (EFI partition is okay)?
  • Mount EFI partition of macOS SSD, open the EFI folder, and post a screenshot.

  • Yes, I have it dual boot Windows on a separate SSD.
  • Just one partition on each of my SSDs for macOS.
  • Screen Shot 2020-09-19 at 2.02.53 PM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,119
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • Yes, I have it dual boot Windows on a separate SSD.
  • Just one partition on each of my SSDs for macOS.
  • View attachment 488713
The OCB Boot Image failure message can occur when switching between macOS and Windows. When this happens, I'm able to clear the error by (a) Resetting NVRAM and (b) Select the macOS SSD as the first Boot Priority in BIOS.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2020
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700k
Graphics
6800xt
The OCB Boot Image failure message can occur when switching between macOS and Windows. When this happens, I'm able to clear the error by (a) Resetting NVRAM and (b) Select the macOS SSD as the first Boot Priority in BIOS.

Ok, thanks Casey.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
i710700
Graphics
Gigabyte 5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hello everyone, I'm reporting that the Presonus Quantum Thunderbolt Interface with a TB3-TB2 adapter works with this build. I had to make the change in the BIOS for: Thunderbolt Boot Support → Boot Once. After I did that, it worked fine.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
157
Motherboard
GA-Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Why can’t you use Thunderbolt instead if you have Vision D?

Really, your easiest solution is to find an AMD RX 580 used...

that's exactly what I want… I wanna use thunderbolt directly and that's why I don't want to buy a graphic card. Why do I need a graphic card if there is already a great graphic UHD630 on board. I’m not a gamer and don’t do huge video processing etc… Actually the problem of the question is quite simple, it's to connect the board z490-D with the monitor using PC-Thunderbolt-out to DP-Monitor-In using just one cable -that's it! I don't understand why there is still no solution, but I can assume that from the fact that there is no iMac out yet with a 10th Gen Intel with UHD630 is there are no frame buffers implemented yet.
Now I get 2560x1440 60Hz without resorting to third-party tool such as SwitchResX, I wanna hope that some kind of professional will help and make it possible to get full 4k resolution using internal graphic UHD630 and Intel i9-10900K.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
991
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
that's exactly what I want… I wanna use thunderbolt directly and that's why I don't want to buy a graphic card. Why do I need a graphic card if there is already a great graphic UHD630 on board. I’m not a gamer and don’t do huge video processing etc… Actually the problem of the question is quite simple, it's to connect the board z490-D with the monitor using PC-Thunderbolt-out to DP-Monitor-In using just one cable -that's it! I don't understand why there is still no solution, but I can assume that from the fact that there is no iMac out yet with a 10th Gen Intel with UHD630 is there are no frame buffers implemented yet.
Now I get 2560x1440 60Hz without resorting to third-party tool such as SwitchResX, I wanna hope that some kind of professional will help and make it possible to get full 4k resolution using internal graphic UHD630 and Intel i9-10900K.

I don’t think you understand quite how iMacs (which we are emulating with our Z490 builds) work. They don’t use the igpu to output video, but to do background hardware accelerated h264/h265 encode and decode, then use the added amd card for video output. The thing you want to do works in theory, but the truth is it’s less ‘iMac like’ which causes more problems as the OS expects both the igpu and AMD gpu to be present. I’m sorry it doesn’t work seamlessly the way you want it to.
 
Top