Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,113
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I put my old set up back and it booted just fine with zero issues I think its the mother board that is the problem but what are the chances the board could be bad??

Thanks for response not brand new just was swapping out the mother board and CPU to a faster version coming from a z390 to z490 and from 9900k to 10900k.

Yes i connected the 8 Pin power cable

yes all power cables are secure

GPU and other pcie cards are inserted correct i even tried without the GPU nothing.

Also i cant see anything on the screen it just boots to a black screen.

I have 4 16gb Ram sticks Corsair Vengence RGB white pro i tried this before already as well.

I had another wifi/BT card installed but a Fenfi but i didnt think that would cause any issues.

No other devices installed

NVME ssds are Sabrent 4th generations 2tb for windows and 1tb for Mac i was going to wipe them once the machine posted.

The only parts that are different were the MOBO and CPu that is it.

Thanks again for your help
The EFI for Z390 Designare is not compatible with Z490 Vision D. To run macOS on Z490 Vision D, please use the OpenCore 0.6.0 ZIP at the bottom of Post #1 and copy/paste the Serial Number, System UUID, and Board Serial Number into PlatformInfo.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
944
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, if I'll install 3 NVMe SSDs and configure it into RAID 0 in Disk Utility, can I have any problems with installing macOS and using it?
macOS can't be installed on software RAID (not easily). It probably would be slower than non-RAID anyway for normal macOS usage. Consider raiding two of NVMe's. Or you can RAID a part of all 3 of them.

Are the NVMe's connected to CPU or PCH? If PCH then you won't get much increase from RAIDing them, but you can test that yourself. Z490 is still limited to DMI 3.0 (32 Gbps).

Both .disk_label and .disk_label.contentDetails are present in /System/Library/CoreServices. The bless command references that file. Doing some testing now...

UPDATE:
  • Unfortunately no success, but I may be missing a step.
  • What I tried:
    • Used sudo bless --folder /Volumes/Catalina/System/Library/CoreServices --label "Catalina 10.15.6" but the name in OpenCore Picker remained "Catalina".
    • Tried Reset NVRAM, but no change.
    • Then booted into Recovery to modify /Volumes/Catalina/System/Library/CoreServices/.disk_label.contentInfo. This file can only be modified in Recovery.
    • The previous content was "Catalina", but changing it to "Catalina 10.15.6" did not change the OpenCore Picker even after Reset NVRAM.
OpenCore uses .disk_label if it exists, otherwise it tries .contentDetails, and if that doesn't exist then it tries .disk_label.contentDetails (not .disk_label.contentInfo).

There's a flag (OC_ATTR_USE_DISK_LABEL_FILE) in PickerAttributes to disable .disk_label.

The file needs to be next to the EFI file that will be loaded by OpenCore. This might be on the Preboot partition:
/Volumes/Preboot/*/System/Library/CoreServices/boot.efi
or the Recovery partition (for FileVault2? or actual Recovery).

OpenCore has a disklabel command line utility to convert or create .disk_label files so you can view the files.
The command doesn't have a method to convert an image to .disk_label though. The command can create RGB .disk_label files. I've only ever seen grayscale .disk_label files.

Code:
git clone https://github.com/acidanthera/OpenCorePkg.git
cd OpenCorePkg/Utilities/disklabel
make
./disklabel # must include ./ since it conflicts with macOS disklabel command

I made a script to create multi-line disk labels (for Startup Manager of my MacPro3,1):
#8,168
#8,029
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 designare
CPU
Intel i9 9900k
Graphics
AMD Sapphire Nitro+ 5700XT
The EFI for Z390 Designare is not compatible with Z490 Vision D. To run macOS on Z490 Vision D, please use the OpenCore 0.6.0 ZIP at the bottom of Post #1 and copy/paste the Serial Number, System UUID, and Board Serial Number into PlatformInfo.


So i would have to wipe both ssd and it should work?? Right now i cant get anything but a black screen
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,113
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** Mini-Guide: Change Disk Label Shown in OpenCore Picker **
Please do not quote this guide in its entirety. Post a link instead.

Purpose:
Changing the names of the disks that appear in OpenCore boot picker is a little bit tricky, but still quite doable. It requires booting into macOS Recovery partition. The complete procedure is presented below.
  • Boot into Recovery and then carry out the remaining steps.
  • To boot into Recovery, do the following:
    • At OpenCore Picker press spacebar to reveal extra boot options.
    • Select Recovery.
    • If there are multiple versions of macOS installed, be sure to select the correct Recovery volume.
  • Start by listing all drives in the system. Type the following in Terminal:
Bash:
diskutil list
  • Find the disk IDENTIFIER corresponding to the Preboot volume for your macOS SSD.
  • In the screenshot below we see the following:
    • Big Sur and Monterey are installed on the same physical disk, but in separate APFS Volumes. In this case, both of them share a single Preboot volume. disk2s3
    • Catalina is installed on a separate physical disk and has its own Preboot volume. disk3s2
  • Note: Each time the system restarts, disk identifiers (rightmost column in screenshot) can change.
    Screen Shot 2021-12-01 at 2.07.05 PM.png

  • Let's mount the Preboot volume for Catalina (replace disk3s2 with your disk IDENTIFIER):
Bash:
diskutil mount disk3s2
  • Now type the following:
Bash:
cd /Volumes/Preboot/
ls -l
  • You should see one or more directories whose names are UUIDs.
    • Example of UUID: a9b6e929-6158-4042-9fd4-cefd5e3cb57d
  • If there are multiple UUID directories, they belong to different versions of macOS. One of them will contain the disk label we want to change. So "cd" to each UUID subdirectory. It is possible to use wildcards. For the sample UUID above, we can type:
Bash:
cd a9b6*
cd System/Library/CoreServices
ls -al
  • Now we should see a file called .disk_label.contentDetails
  • Check whether that file contains the disk label that needs to be changed. If it does not then go back to previous step and "cd" to another UUID sub-directory.
Bash:
cat .disk_label.contentDetails
  • If this is the file we wish to change, edit the file in vi as follows:
Bash:
vi .disk_label.contentDetails
  • This file will contain only a single volume name. Simply change the name to whatever you like. As you can see here, I've used vi to change the name to Catalina 10.15.6:
    Screen Shot 2020-09-06 at 1.20.24 PM.png
  • Save the file. In vi, press ESC to exit text-entry mode, then press : (colon key) followed by the letter x to save-and-exit. If warnings are received, try :w! followed by :q
  • Reboot.


How to Use "vi" to Replace Text

If you're not familiar with the vi editor, here are simple step-by-step instructions. The editor operates in two modes:
  • Cursor / Movement mode (default)
  • Insert (edit) mode -- after pressing lower-case "i" for insert. When the editor is in insert mode, we will see INSERT at the bottom of the screen.
  • Have a look at these screenshots...

After typing vi .disk_label.contentDetails we will get this (assuming the current disk name is "Big Sur"). Let's assume we want to change the name to "Monterey".

The editor is in cursor/movement mode because the word INSERT does not appear at the bottom. We can use arrow keys to move around.
Screenshot 2022-08-10 at 2.52.23 PM.png

Here I've pressed the RIGHT arrow key three times...
Screenshot 2022-08-10 at 2.53.20 PM.png

Now I pressed the LEFT arrow key three times to go back to the 1st position and then I pressed lower case "x" 3 times to delete the letters "Big". Lower case "x" deletes the character under the cursor.

Screenshot 2022-08-10 at 2.53.36 PM.png

Now I pressed lower case "x" four more times to delete everything on the line:
Screenshot 2022-08-10 at 2.53.43 PM.png

Now that "Big Sur" has been removed, we can enter INSERT mode to begin typing the new name, Monterey. So we need to press lower-case "i" for INSERT mode. Notice the word "-- INSERT --" has appeared at the bottom of the window.
Screenshot 2022-08-10 at 2.53.47 PM.png

Because we're in insert mode, we can now begin typing. So we type "Monterey". We can press Del key at any time to delete the character on the left if we make a typo.
Screenshot 2022-08-10 at 2.53.52 PM.png

Now we must exit INSERT mode by pressing ESC. Notice that "-- INSERT --" has gone away:
Screenshot 2022-08-10 at 2.53.55 PM.png

Now we're ready to save the changes. We press : and then w! as shown below. The moment we press : the cursor moves to the bottom of the window to await commands. The command w! means over-write the existing file.
Screenshot 2022-08-10 at 2.54.05 PM.png

Now the file has been saved so we are ready to quit. We type : followed by q for quit.


Screenshot 2022-08-10 at 2.54.09 PM.png

And we're done!
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,113
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So i would have to wipe both ssd and it should work?? Right now i cant get anything but a black screen
Please clarify what you're trying to do:
  • Are you trying to move from Z390 and i9-9900K to Z490 i9-10900K and sell or otherwise decommission the Z390 Designare motherboard?
  • Are you trying to install macOS on both the Z390 Designare and Z490 Vision D so you can have two Hackintoshes?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
168
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Now it works!

I was indeed missing a step -- it is necessary to make the change to Preboot volume instead of the main system volume.

@joevt : Thanks for the detailed reply. (.disk_label.contentInfo was a typo -- fixed.)

@jimbojingle : Please try the following:

** Mini-Guide: Change Disk Label Shown in OpenCore Picker **
Please do not quote this guide in its entirety. Post a link instead.
  1. Start by listing all drives in the system. Type the following in Terminal: diskutil list
  2. Find the disk IDENTIFIER corresponding to the Preboot volume for Catalina. Note: Each time the system restarts, disk identifiers (rightmost column in screenshot) can change. Here's an example from my system:View attachment 487168
  3. Mount the Preboot volume (replace disk2s2 with your disk IDENTIFIER): sudo diskutil mount disk2s2
  4. Now "cd" to the following directory: cd /Volumes/Preboot/*/System/Library/CoreServices
  5. If you list all files here using ls -al you will find a file called .disk_label.contentDetails
  6. Edit that file in vi or TextEdit (if using TextEdit, first switch to Plain Text mode):View attachment 487169
  7. This file will contain only a single volume name. Simply change the name. As you can see here, I've used vi to change the name to Catalina 10.15.6:
    View attachment 487170
  8. Save the file and reboot.

Thanks, this is a great help. Looks like a solution at last.

I am unable to save the .disk_label.contentDetails file as it is read only and I don't seem to be able to change its file permission. I am trying to use vi as I cannot find where the file with TextEdit.

Please can you advise? Also can you this with Big Sur?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,113
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks, this is a great help. Looks like a solution at last.

I am unable to save the .disk_label.contentDetails file as it is read only and I don't seem to be able to change its file permission. I am trying to use vi as I cannot find where the file with TextEdit.

Please can you advise? Also can you this with Big Sur?
I've modified the instructions above. We'll need to use sudo vi .disk_label.contentDetails. This procedure does not work with Big Sur due to a number of changes that have taken place.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
168
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've modified the instructions above. We'll need to use sudo vi .disk_label.contentDetails. This procedure does not work with Big Sur due to a number of changes that have taken place.

Thanks again, that fixed this problem that's been really bugging me.

I'm still not sure how renaming the disk caused this in the first place but it did and now its fixed.

I guess it is normal for a Big Sur disk to be named 'preboot' in the picker.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,113
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks again, that fixed this problem that's been really bugging me.

I'm still not sure how renaming the disk caused this in the first place but it did and now its fixed.
Glad to hear it.
I guess it is normal for a Big Sur disk to be named 'preboot' in the picker.
This makes sense now because:
  • In the Big Sur Preboot volume none of the following exists:
    • .disk_label
    • .disk_label.contentDetails
    • .contentDetails
  • Therefore OpenCore uses the default name of the volume, which is "Preboot".
  • Apple may change this in the future. The next Public Beta should be released early next week.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
168
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Moving to another problem, I am getting regular hangs at the Gigabyte Splash Screen which I recover from by doing a Reset and Reboot or a Power Down and Reboot. I have even had to do a Clear CMOS on a couple of occasions.

Any idea what may be causing this as it is somewhat frustrating not knowing if my Hackintosh is actually going to boot successfully?
 
Top