Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,447
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My h..mac sleep then motherboard wake immediately(but no iGPU output, monitor does not wake).
maybe it's related the 943602CS card.
Yes it's very possible. We're seeing too many sleep, wake, boot issues with these cards. I would recommend switching to the YOUBO.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,447
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have tried also on latest Catalina without luck and also on Windows 10 is same - the TB3 no work:) I have heard that TB3 from Gigabyte site in not enough and needs to be installed Microsoft "Thunderbolt Control center"
So, previously it was necessary that thunderbolt first properly under run under Windows and on the same PC, but what now? Did you install first TB3 driver on Windows?

and as I mentioned in the previous post TB3 connection between mainboard and monitor work just fine via cable TB3 type c to DP:)
Some questions/comments:
  • Have you tried connecting other Thunderbolt 3 devices? Do they work?
  • In BIOS, please confirm that Thunderbolt Security is set to No Security.
  • In BIOS, please confirm that Thunderbolt Boot Support is set to Boot Once (this is recommended for UAD owners).
    Screen Shot 2020-08-24 at 5.51.20 AM.png
  • Also ensure that latest UAD drivers are installed for macOS.
  • Also ensure that latest firmware is installed on the UAD device itself.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,447
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ got a weird issue when restarting Macos. I have 3 NVMEs; 2 Samsung Evo + on the first 2 slots on the MB (1TB with Macos, 250GB with Windows 10) + 1 WD 1TB (only data) installed on a PCIe x4 adaptor card in the PCIE x4 slot on the MB.
If I select "restart" from Macos, the system shuts down then restarts but it is stuck on the Gigabyte logo. It won't do anything. I have to press the power button to shut the system down, then the power button gain the restart and then the system boots as usual.
However if I boot windows 10, then restart from windows 10, system shuts down and restarts with no issue. It does not hang on the gigabyte logo.
Any idea?
Couple of quick suggestions:
  • Do you have a Fenvi FV-T919 or FV-HB1200 WiFi/BT card? If so, please try removing the card and testing this Restart issue again.
  • Also try a CMOS Reset. This will require BIOS to be reconfigured afterwards.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,447
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
What I noticed was that after 10 minutes the display and computer would in fact go to sleep but immediately wake again (not the same situation as you). This continued to happen at night but in the morning when I woke up the computer and display were asleep. Others had reported problems with the bluetooth cards causing sleep/wake problems so I tried some tests.
...
I wasn't sure how long it would take the mouse to sleep on its on, so I tried increasing the sleep time to 30 minutes. Now when the display and computer go to sleep, they stay asleep.
...
Quick question: If you explicitly put the system to sleep from the Apple menu, does it go to sleep and stay sleep? When it first enters sleep, it may wake up within 30 seconds, remain on for about 60 seconds, but then go to sleep and stay asleep. Do you experience this behavior?
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
136
Motherboard
GA-Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Some questions/comments:
  • Have you tried connecting other Thunderbolt 3 devices? Do they work?
  • In BIOS, please confirm that Thunderbolt Security is set to No Security.
  • In BIOS, please confirm that Thunderbolt Boot Support is set to Boot Once (this is recommended for UAD owners).
    View attachment 485545
  • Also ensure that latest UAD drivers are installed for macOS.
  • Also ensure that latest firmware is installed on the UAD device itself.

Thanks CaseySJ!

I have used same settings without any luck and unfortunately I don't have any other TB3 devices:(
at first I thought that my TB3 adapter or TB2 cable has issue, but fortunately I had spare, anyway it's not problem of the cable or adapter they just fine.
What about windows...? it seems that windows at the moment does not solve any problems with hackintosh, right?
 
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
12
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
I'm joining the team, and I can't thank @CaseySJ enough for his work in providing us with a precise and exemplary installation. Thanks to the contributors of this project!


The differences of my installation:
- i7 10700K
- RAM: G.Skill 64GB: F4-3200C16Q-64GVK
- Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580 8GB

My feedback so far:

Getting started:
  • Contrary to my previous hardware, you have to plug a switch on the PW pins of the motherboard to start the machine, it's stupid but I searched for a long time...

Installation:
  • BIOS in version 2, upgrade to F5 easily thanks to a USB key (Fat 16/32) and the new BIOS file from Gigabyte's site.
  • An error message prevents the installation of MacOS, solved by resetting the date via the terminal (date MMDDHHmmYY)

USB:
  • I've had several boot-up losses on the USB keyboard on the rear panel connections, the internal USB 2.0 seems to be stable so far.

SATA:

Multi Monitors:
  • My 2 monitors work perfectly via the DisplayPort of the RX 580, but its HDMI outputs don't work on my HDTV, the cable and the display are 1.4 compatible.
  • Same for the internal HDMI port (UHD 630), not functional, but it causes a complete freeze of the machine!

Fenvi T919:

Temperature:
  • I use the Shadow Rock 3 as well, and I am very pleasantly surprised by the operating temperature of the 10700K, below 35°C at rest! Never had such a quiet machine :)
  • What do you use to control the temperature and the fans? Is it necessary to install HWsensors or special kexts? My usual softwares recognize very few parameters.

I tried to "Suspend activity" from the apple menu, but it was a failure, impossible to reactivate the machine and the fans remain at full speed!

Your comments are welcome, especially on my HDMI problems (UHD 630 and RX 580). Thanks for your feedback!
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2020
Messages
48
Motherboard
GigaByte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Plus
  5. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Quick question: If you explicitly put the system to sleep from the Apple menu, does it go to sleep and stay sleep? When it first enters sleep, it may wake up within 30 seconds, remain on for about 60 seconds, but then go to sleep and stay asleep. Do you experience this behavior?
No. Here is what I observe:
1. Select sleep from Apple menu. Display goes to sleep. Computer eventually goes to sleep. Then computer and display almost immediately wake up. After that I waited over 3 minutes for computer and display to go to sleep again but they never did.
2. Select sleep from Apple menu. Turn off mouse. Display goes to sleep. Computer eventually goes to sleep. Both stay asleep until I hit space on the keyboard (mouse is turned off).

Rand
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2012
Messages
75
Motherboard
Z77X-UD5H
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
Aorus 5700 XT
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I placed order on parts to build a 10900K with a Vision - D. I have been reading through the Thunderbolt 3 flashing guide to enable extended mode. I have a Raspberry Pi 2 sitting around. Would this be sufficient? Also wondering if I would just be better off ordering a CH341A Programmer instead? I have a macbook pro sitting around here that would be more ideal to flash with instead of fussing with a new raspberry pi.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT Red Dragon
Would this be sufficient? Also wondering if I would just be better off ordering a CH341A Programmer instead? I have a macbook pro sitting around here that would be more ideal to flash with instead of fussing with a new raspberry pi.

I also used one of my Pis, it's perfect! Don't buy these cheap CH341A programmers, they often output 5V instead of the needed 3,3V. A Pi outputs only 3,3V guaranteed, so its a lot safer.
Also, a setup with a Pi is really useful because it can be connected over wifi/ethernet and you can log in with your computer over network. so you can setup the clip and the pi and all cables on a breadboard somewhere and don't touch it while you flash it over SSH on your computer without the risk of touching wires or moving the programmer in your usb-port.

also, don't get scared too much about the various guides and tipps for flashing: I would recommend to just try to flash it at first: Connect all wires from your PI to your clip and use flashrom to backup the current image and flash the new one. I made that process two times, always sucessful on first try. no need for capacitors/resistors somewhere, no need to power the board with your PSU...just put on the clip and flash.
Good luck!
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2016
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900k
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I think you'll be the first to use the Vision G with the ASUS xg-c100c. Let us know how it goes...

I installed it yesterday vision g mb f6 bios with 10900k and asus xg-c100c working. Have 1200 fanvi in the last slot and asus in the one above that working on 4x both working.

Tried to upgrade to big sur but after it downloads and starts installation and r3ser it self it freeze right on the beginning screen shot
 

Attachments

  • 349D129C-8070-4FDA-AF47-6A89A854A83F.jpeg
    349D129C-8070-4FDA-AF47-6A89A854A83F.jpeg
    4.3 MB · Views: 10
Top