Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Messages
25
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 580
To All:

Is anyone else using Corsair Vengeance 16GB DIMM modules? If so, please let us know if your system can boot with X.M.P. Profile 1 enabled on a Z490 Vision D or Vision G.

Yes, i'm using them (RGB) with X.M.P. Profile 1 without any problem (4x16GB).
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D rev 1.1
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So, I was a dumb ass, and I forgot Catalina no longer fits on an 8GB stick.

Having said that, I took my SSD from the old I7 Z77 and just replaced the Clover EFI directory with the OpenCore one from this build download. Booom!! With a couple of minor tweaks it all works. Now I want to build on an NVMe drive eventually, but my SSD is getting 500 read/write, so it's not exactly urgent. May just wait for Big Sur. I installed Win10 Pro on the new NVMe drive, and OpenCore is dual booting. There is a lot of functionality I don't care about on the Mac side. I have an external USB audio DAC. I pulled the bluetooth module out completely because I don't need WiFi, and I have a USB bluetooth dongle. My mobo shipped with F2, and I updated to F5. On balance this was too easy. Something will obviously go horribly wrong soon ;-) Even VMware seems to work fine so far. I plan to use HyperV in Windows. My ultimate goal is to be ready when a hackintosh is no longer viable because of the move to ARM. I will eventually have to rely more heavily on Windows.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
223
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K OC@5.1GHz
Graphics
RX 6800 XT + RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone tried Big Sur Public Beta 2?
It seems to be working just fine on my box, safari seems to be working; was broken on the last beta if iGPU was enabled. Sleep works.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
12,990
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone tried Big Sur Public Bbeta 2?
It seems to be working just fine on my box, safari seems to be working; was broken on the last beta of iGPU was enabled. Sleep works.
Will update shortly.

Big Sur Public Beta #2 Released Today:


Update:
Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 5.07.05 PM.png

Happy to report that Safari is working properly now! No more "page was reloaded too many times."
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
16
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700 (non-K) - Power Limits removed!
Graphics
RX 580
Hullo - I had an issue with being unable to download anything from the app store. I hit Get and it just spun for a bit, and didn't do anything. All the rest of my iMessage/iCloud etc worked fine, so I knew it wasn't the serial number.

A bit of research gave me this solution THAT WORKED. I deleted NetworkInterfaces.plist inside Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration, rebooted, and it then worked totally fine. I did notice that in System Preference -> Network, there were 4 ethernet devices, which was showing 3 & 4 connected before reboot; now 1 & 2. Must have been leftovers from the Z390 Designare, and issues with 'en0'.

Hope this helps someone!
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Z490 D
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
5700 XT
"InstallAssistant" generated a memory access violation (segmentation fault in which the process tried to access memory outside of its allocated memory segment).

Couple of suggestions:
  • Use a good name brand USB flash disk (USB 3.0 preferred) and capacity of 16GB or larger.
  • Erase the USB flash disk.
  • Re-create the USB flash disk (no need to re-download Catalina...yet) by following the appropriate sections of Step 2.
  • Try the installation again using the new or reformatted USB flash disk.
Do you have another SSD available just in case there's a problem with WD M.2? Even a SATA SSD can be used temporarily.
I figured it out. I wanted to post my solution in case anyone else ran into this issue. For my configuration I had to disconnect the extra SSD drive from the motherboard that I had. Once I did that, I was able to install macOS. For some reason having an extra drive connected to the MoBo caused this issue.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
855
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Note:
I care more about a cool and quiet system than I do about all the bling, so on arrival of the Radeon, I performed the following:
  • Repasted with Thermal Grizzly Hydronaut
  • Deshrouded and added 2x Noctua A12x25 fans
  • Added an upHere GPU brace to prevent sagging
The GPU sits at 35° at idle and under load the highest I can get it to is 71°. Nice thing is that it is very quiet.
This is so awesome...
how did you attach the fans to the gpu/heatsink?
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900KF
Graphics
5700 XT Nitro+
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
This is so awesome...
how did you attach the fans to the gpu/heatsink?
The fans are attached using zip ties. That way it is totally reversible if I decide to sell the card when Big Navi gets released.
IMG_20200819_065842.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
144
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@CaseySJ question on the bootpicker and dual boot. Currently I have win10 and macos on 2 NVMes. I am using the bootstrap method in OC and my default boot drive is macos. I had to use CTRL+ENTER in the opencore picker to set the default boot drive to mcos because setting the start up disk from macos does not work.
Last night I booted win 10 to install a few things then when done I rebooted the system.
What am I supposed to see in the OC boot picker in terms of selected boot drive? should it still be pointing to the macos os boot drive?
Because it did not. It was pointing the the win 10 drive.
is it supposed to be like that? The reason I am asking is that I am using the apple bluetooth keyboard and mouse and the genuine apple combo BT+Wifi. One of the advantages of this combo card is that it keeps the pairing data available when the system is off and when you boot, BT devices - here the keyboard and mouse - are reconnected during post. However it takes a little while for the card to wake up and reconnect the devices. And by the time the BT devices re reconnected, I have past the boot picker. Hence in the above case, I need to have a wired keyboard in order to select the macos drive after booting/exiting win 10 because the BT card does not reconnect the KB fast enough
 
Top