Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey all, just a quick update and 2 issues.

Firstly, I've been slowly adding Software in my attempt to port over from my MBP while working from home. So far, so good.
I do a lot of data work, so notably:
  • mySQL Server, Workbench
  • DBeaver Enterprise
Hardware additions:
  • I was gifted a 5k monitor (what's not to like about that!) so this was added to the mix (all running through the RX 580)
    • BenQ PD3200U (DP)
    • LG Ultrafine (DP => USB C)
    • Asus VS278 (HDMI)
      1597078381409.png
  • miniDSP mic (really nice calibrated USB mic, BTW). This was to address Issue 1 below.
    1597079644705.png
Issue 1: Headphone level mic input. I have some Sennheiser HD6XX with an integrated mic cable. I used a splitter to connect to the front panel https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073ZDDTH2/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
  • Using the Audio Midi setup utility, I was able to get minimal mic audio only after jacking the gain up to max. quality was not good and then seemed to fail during an online webEx session.
  • My solution was to simply use the USB mic without issue
  • Is there a Mac utility similar to the Realtek HD Audio configurator for Windows? Ideally I'd like to set the gain and configure the front panel plug to work as an integrated mic/headphone jack, rather than having to use a splitter. I used this utility on my daughter's rig I recently built (Windows, for gaming), and it worked perfectly.
Issue 2: My computer will not boot with all 3 monitors plugged in. It will only boot with *just* the HDMI monitor plugged in. Once the computer boots, I can hot plug in the two other DP monitors and everything is just fine. I haven't made any BIOS changes as of yet. I'm on version 5. I saw this in the OP, but have not tried it yet:
Certain AMD GPUs will be detected and listed in BIOS Setup, but when connecting a monitor to those GPUs, neither BIOS splash screen nor OpenCore boot menu will be displayed. This problem may be due to issues in the VBIOS of the GPU. A workaround is to enable CSM Support in BIOS Setup.
The behavior is really strange - The fans spin up, color LEDs all light but nothing else. The 2-digit LED status on the motherboard remains blanked out, so it's not moving off og "Go". So clearly this has nothing at all to do with the OS. It had this behavior when I was first building the rig before even getting to the OS load. The only thing a search returned was this: https://community.amd.com/thread/221133

Both these issues are certainly not showstoppers, but mere annoyances since I have workarounds.

Cheers,
-J

P.S. She's looking pretty :)
1597084851687.png

1597084889540.png
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok.. So i´m starting with this! Got stuck at the first step. I downloaded the installer with gibmacOs, but when I try to build the installer I get an error that sais not well-formed...
I tried with a different version and still the same error...
Sorry but I´m a total noob here.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,108
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok.. So i´m starting with this! Got stuck at the first step. I downloaded the installer with gibmacOs, but when I try to build the installer I get an error that sais not well-formed...
I tried with a different version and still the same error...
Sorry but I´m a total noob here.
Please post a screenshot (CMD-SHIFT-5) of the error.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,108
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
Issue 1: Headphone level mic input. I have some Sennheiser HD6XX with an integrated mic cable. I used a splitter to connect to the front panel https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073ZDDTH2/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
  • Using the Audio Midi setup utility, I was able to get minimal mic audio only after jacking the gain up to max. quality was not good and then seemed to fail during an online webEx session.
  • My solution was to simply use the USB mic without issue
  • Is there a Mac utility similar to the Realtek HD Audio configurator for Windows? Ideally I'd like to set the gain and configure the front panel plug to work as an integrated mic/headphone jack, rather than having to use a splitter. used this utility on my daughter's rig I recently built (Windows, for gaming), and it worked perfectly.
...
Are you certain the HD6XX has a microphone? It has a TRRS connector (tip, ring, ring, sleeve) which is for balanced/unbalanced audio, but not for microphone.

P.S. Nice setup! Love that case.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you certain the HD6XX has a microphone? It has a TRRS connector (tip, ring, ring, sleeve) which is for balanced/unbalanced audio, but not for microphone.

P.S. Nice setup! Love that case.
I use the headset on my MBP all the time ;) It *definitely* has a mic built into the cable, and the buttons function perfectly as well (vol up, vol down, play/pause) (Again, on the MBP).

I don't use the cable that it shipped with. It appears the product is no longer available, but this is a screen grab of the cable:
1597100405046.png


The case is *AMAZEBALLS QUIET* - even during the build, with the case panels off, I would strain to hear the fans. Now that it's sealed up and tucked away, it's like it doesn't exist.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I did another test on the back panel as well. Same deal, same quality - with the gain cranked to 30db, I can do an audio recording in Quicktime, but it's REALLY shoddy. The USB mic: perfectly clear.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,108
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I did another test on the back panel as well. Same deal, same quality - with the gain cranked to 30db, I can do an audio recording in Quicktime, but it's REALLY shoddy. The USB mic: perfectly clear.
Changing audio layout ID can have some effect on this. We’re using Layout 11, but try both 16 and 7. It’s set in Boot Arguments using the “alcid” parameter. Be sure to Reset NVRAM from the OpenCore Picker Menu after making the change.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
Gigabyte 5700XT
Changing audio layout ID can have some effect on this. We’re using Layout 11, but try both 16 and 7. It’s set in Boot Arguments using the “alcid” parameter. Be sure to Reset NVRAM from the OpenCore Picker Menu after making the change.
CaseySJ, should I try changing audio layout to get 5.1 working ?
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
77
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R-v2.0 FF
CPU
W3680
Graphics
GTX 960
Anyone else tested NVMe speeds in the 3rd slot that shares with PCIe x4? I can't afford to loose any SATA ports right now, and PCIx4 should do 4000MB/s so I figured that should be plenty.

I do have a PCI card in that slot, and according to the manual it should reduce to PCIe x2 speed in that case which would be 1969.2 MB/s according to this https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express.

But Blackmagic Disk Speed test on reporting 1500MB/s which is a whole gigabyte per second less than the Sabrent Rocket's rated speeds. Does that sound right?
 
Top