Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,435
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Firstly, I'm struggling a little bit with how to get the really cool "quoted" items in line :), but this should answer the questions.
ACPI page:
View attachment 482205

Yes, "standard open Core", per the settings:
View attachment 482206
I used the file "V2-OC-0.5.9-STD-Z490-VISION-D.zip" as the basis for the EFI.

My video card is an MSI Radeon RX 580 Armor 8G OC: (I wanted to be just like you - lulz)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06XZQMMHJ/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Monitor is an older (2013) Asus VS278Q-P connected via HDMI via the bottom-most port on the Radeon card.

I'm thinking to myself "NO WAY - THE SCREEN WAS WAY DIFFERENT... ?" And it IS DIFFERENT
View attachment 482207

BECAUSE I WAS EDITING THE WRONG SCREEN :banghead:

I'll, um... humbly go back to the drawing board ;)


Thank you for your assistance. I'll be sure to post up again once I have my duck in the preverbial row.

Regarding the Pi stuff... that was super simple. I've played around with Arduino and custom circuits before, so that was nearly plug-n-play! I haven't made any other thunderbolt changes yet... I was indeed curious to see if the BIOS update undid the flash. I'll be sure to let everyone know, just much easier to work like this... right out of the box!
View attachment 482214View attachment 482219
It's always the little things!

Once your installation is complete, we'll get you a new Thunderbolt SSDT. The one you're using now is okay for installation purposes, but should be replaced eventually.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Alas, I followed the instructions this time, and I still get the same result - gets about 60% then hangs, black screen , motherboard indicates A0:
  • I started the EFI process from scratch, unzipping, renaming to config.plist, and filling in the 3 fields on the CORRECT screen :), and saving. I closed the file, reopened and ensured the values were saved.
  • I mounted the EFI on the flash drive using Clover, deleted the old EFI folder, emptied the trash, and replaced it with the new one.
  • Unmounted the drive, installed it in the new rig, and unfortunately, the same behavior. I was hoping that my glaring oversight was the magic bullet.
  • I've triple checked the BIOS settings. Exactly as your screenshots (I did select "Boot Once" for Thunderbolt, since I do have a thunderbolt monitor I'd like to try eventually)
  • My ACPI screen looks Identical to my first screenshot.
I tried this as well:
  • Switched the motherboard to Internal Graphics, and moved the cable over (but left the install package alone). This time it got to 45% and hung there, BUT the screen didn't go black.
  • Could it be a "bad write" to the Samsung Drive?
Hmm.... I'm open to any suggestions. I'm not going to give up!!

It's always the little things!

Once your installation is complete, we'll get you a new Thunderbolt SSDT. The one you're using now is okay for installation purposes, but should be replaced eventually.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,435
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Alas, I followed the instructions this time, and I still get the same result - gets about 60% then hangs, black screen , motherboard indicates A0:
  • I started the EFI process from scratch, unzipping, renaming to config.plist, and filling in the 3 fields on the CORRECT screen :), and saving. I closed the file, reopened and ensured the values were saved.
  • I mounted the EFI on the flash drive using Clover, deleted the old EFI folder, emptied the trash, and replaced it with the new one.
  • Unmounted the drive, installed it in the new rig, and unfortunately, the same behavior. I was hoping that my glaring oversight was the magic bullet.
  • I've triple checked the BIOS settings. Exactly as your screenshots (I did select "Boot Once" for Thunderbolt, since I do have a thunderbolt monitor I'd like to try eventually)
  • My ACPI screen looks Identical to my first screenshot.
I tried this as well:
  • Switched the motherboard to Internal Graphics, and moved the cable over (but left the install package alone). This time it got to 45% and hung there, BUT the screen didn't go black.
  • Could it be a "bad write" to the Samsung Drive?
Hmm.... I'm open to any suggestions. I'm not going to give up!!
Several comments:
  • Please use the attached Thunderbolt SSDT that was generated with @Inqnuam's very handy website located here.
    • Just disable the existing SSDT-TB3HP in config.plist and add the new one (also copy it to OC/ACPI folder)
  • Which version of BIOS are you using? Is it F5?
  • Also try using the 15-port USB SSDT (SSDT-UIAC-VISION-D-V1.aml) instead of V2. This is just a matter of unchecking V2 and checking-on V1 in the ACPI section of OpenCore Configurator.
  • Enable verbose mode by adding the -v flag to Boot Arguments as shown. At the OpenCore Picker menu, press spacebar to reveal additional options. Then select NVRAM Reset on the far right. When the system reboots, begin the installation process and now you'll see a detailed log. When the startup process freezes, grab a photo with your smartphone, then remove EXIF location information from the photo, and post.
Screen Shot 2020-07-29 at 2.57.47 PM.png
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TB3-RP05-HackinDROM.aml
    2.1 KB · Views: 35
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
WILL DO! I'm on BIOS F5...

Several comments:
  • Please use the attached Thunderbolt SSDT that was generated with @Inqnuam's very handy website located here.
    • Just disable the existing SSDT-TB3HP in config.plist and add the new one (also copy it to OC/ACPI folder)
  • Which version of BIOS are you using? Is it F5?
  • Also try using the 15-port USB SSDT (SSDT-UIAC-VISION-D-V1.aml) instead of V2. This is just a matter of unchecking V2 and checking-on V1 in the ACPI section of OpenCore Configurator.
  • Enable verbose mode by adding the -v flag to Boot Arguments as shown. At the OpenCore Picker menu, press spacebar to reveal additional options. Then select NVRAM Reset on the far right. When the system reboots, begin the installation process and now you'll see a detailed log. When the startup process freezes, grab a photo with your smartphone, then remove EXIF location information from the photo, and post.
View attachment 482234
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Update:
Thunderbolt SSDT-TB3HP Disabled:
1596063022195.png

Inqnuam's Thunderbolt RP05 Enabled:
1596063069768.png

File copied to ACPI:
1596063152574.png

V2 Disabled, V1 Selected:
1596062523460.png

Verbose Mode Selected:
1596063446609.png


Saved, Verified, and another round :) ... lots of text now flying by on the screen ...

I was ready to bite my lip and post another "Help Wanted" screenshot, but I figured this one was better:
Thank you Casey and to everyone else who spend the time to make the magic!

1596076470776.png
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,308
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
When I click install, it goes back to the macOS Utilities window. How to proceed?
What is you stockage drive type? HDD, SSD, NVMe?
What is your stockage drive format?
Have you tried with another format? macOS extended, AFPS ...
Have you tried to format the drive with another utility than the installers one? (Terminal, Linux based live os etc.)
Have you tried to format at very slow speed?
Finally have you tried to install to another drive?

What is your BIOS configurations concerning the stockages?

Screenshots may help us.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,435
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Update:
Thunderbolt SSDT-TB3HP Disabled:
View attachment 482240
Inqnuam's Thunderbolt RP05 Enabled:
View attachment 482241
File copied to ACPI:
View attachment 482242
V2 Disabled, V1 Selected:
View attachment 482239
Verbose Mode Selected:
View attachment 482243

Saved, Verified, and another round :) ... lots of text now flying by on the screen ...

I was ready to bite my lip and post another "Help Wanted" screenshot, but I figured this one was better:
Thank you Casey and to everyone else who spend the time to make the magic!

View attachment 482258
Congratulations!!

Verbose Mode can be disabled by removing “-v” and rebooting. It may be necessary to reset NVRAM again from the OpenCore Picker (spacebar then select Reset NVRAM).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Indeed. Now that I'm beginning to understand the architecture of the platform a bit I can start messing around a bit. It's nice moving from "following steps" to actually understanding what's happening!
Congratulations!!

Verbose Mode can be disabled by removing “-v” and rebooting. It may be necessary to reset NVRAM again from the OpenCore Picker (spacebar then select Reset NVRAM).
 
Top