Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming build with working NVRAM

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,361
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef Here's where the damage occurred (I left some images below)

Oh. That should be easy. Just unscrew the base and replace with a "5GHz RP-SMA antenna".

Make sure the include "5GHz" in your search. There are some that are only 2.4GHz...
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,361
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OpenCore EFI updated to version 0.8.2.

All kexts updated to latest release versions.

If you intend to upgrade to macOS Ventura, you must be on OpenCore 0.8.2 or higher.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2021
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Hello,
I'm trying to upgrade to Monterey straight from Catalina on this motherboard.
I've updated Clover (I've quickly tried to go OpenCore but I don't have much time to learn and understand the changes I have to make, so big fail here, went back to Clover...) to the last version. But I hit an error message at install: "a required firmware update could not be installed".
I read on this forum some users would change their SMBIOS as a workaround, mine is iMacPro1,1 atm.
I have literally no brain and the easiest solution is always where I go. Do you think this SMBIOS workaround would work, and if so, what should I set it to?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,361
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,
I'm trying to upgrade to Monterey straight from Catalina on this motherboard.
I've updated Clover (I've quickly tried to go OpenCore but I don't have much time to learn and understand the changes I have to make, so big fail here, went back to Clover...) to the last version. But I hit an error message at install: "a required firmware update could not be installed".
I read on this forum some users would change their SMBIOS as a workaround, mine is iMacPro1,1 atm.
I have literally no brain and the easiest solution is always where I go. Do you think this SMBIOS workaround would work, and if so, what should I set it to?

Try the following:

  1. Open your config.plist with the latest Clover Configurator.
  2. Click on "SMBIOS" on the left portion of the window.
  3. Copy your (1) Serial Number, (2) Board Serial Number, (3) SmUUID.
  4. Click on the the "up/down arrows" button and select iMacPro1,1.
  5. Paste back your (1) Serial Number, (2) Board Serial Number, (3) SmUUID.
  6. Save.
  7. Reboot.
  8. Try updating again.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2021
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
LOL, so quick to answer! Thanks for that, and by the way thanks for your original post which helped me a lot getting my hackintosh to work neatly on catalina !

So, when I checked SMBIOS in my Clover Configurator, all those fields were blank. IDK if I should "generate new" ?

EDIT : OK maybe I shouldn't have but I generated new values for those... it didn't affect anything, good or bad, same error message after restart.
 
Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
22,477
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
all those fields were blank
Monterey won't boot unless you've got at least an SmUUID in your config.plist. You should populate all the serials too.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,361
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
LOL, so quick to answer! Thanks for that, and by the way thanks for your original post which helped me a lot getting my hackintosh to work neatly on catalina !

So, when I checked SMBIOS in my Clover Configurator, all those fields were blank. IDK if I should "generate new" ?

EDIT : OK maybe I shouldn't have but I generated new values for those... it didn't affect anything, good or bad, same error message after restart.

Don't just generate new... Click the following and select iMacPro1,1.

Screen Shot 2022-07-07 at 8.48.17 AM.png
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2021
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
That's what I already did. However, I did it again to be sure, saved, rebooted, checked that everything was still there. Only thing that is blank now is "SMBIOS Version" field; IDK if that's relevant.
I re-launched the update from System preferences, computer reboots, then same error.
 

Attachments

  • Sans titre.png
    Sans titre.png
    199.8 KB · Views: 12

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,361
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That's what I already did. However, I did it again to be sure, saved, rebooted, checked that everything was still there. Only thing that is blank now is "SMBIOS Version" field; IDK if that's relevant.
I re-launched the update from System preferences, computer reboots, then same error.

Please try again with newest version of Clover Configurator.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2021
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Thanks for your time.
Clover Configurator 5.22.0.0 (btw i'm on Clover v5147), re-done all the same path, nothing new, same error message :(

I read about this error happening when trying to install on third party drives, couldn't that also be my problem ?
My SSD is a Western Digital... WDS100T2B0C M.2 1TB

 
Top