Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming build with working NVRAM

Joined
Jun 28, 2019
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K @ 5GHz (all cores) with Noctua NH-D15
Graphics
UHD 630 | Sapphire Radeon RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef thanks. Will stick to it too, then :)

One more thing: I'm creating fresh install now, and I want to test OpenCore (I was using Clover up to this point).

Where in the config.plist should I enter serial, board serial, SmUUID and MAC numbers? (I'm using raw text editor, Sublime Text). Should I do that before installation, or post-install of Catalina?

MAC number - is that just MAC address of ethernet card?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,553
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
One more thing: I'm creating fresh install now, and I want to test OpenCore (I was using Clover up to this point).
Where in the config.plist should I enter serial, board serial, SmUUID and MAC numbers? (I'm using raw text editor, Sublime Text).
MAC number - is that just MAC address of Ethernet card?

Go down to the "PlatformInfo" section.

Yes, MAC address of your built-in Ethernet.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2019
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K @ 5GHz (all cores) with Noctua NH-D15
Graphics
UHD 630 | Sapphire Radeon RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Go down to the "PlatformInfo" section.

Yes, MAC address of your built-in Ethernet.
LOL - stupid me... opened config.plist of Clover install, and that's why I couldn't figure out where to pot those numbers... :D Thanks again :)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2019
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K @ 5GHz (all cores) with Noctua NH-D15
Graphics
UHD 630 | Sapphire Radeon RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef Installation went smooth :)

Only one problem: on the BIOS screen, I'm getting this message:
"OCS: Failed to parse data field as value with type mdata and <b42e994ea059> contents, context <ROM>!"

b42e994ea059 is my MAC address
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,553
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef Installation went smooth :)

Only one problem: on the BIOS screen, I'm getting this message:
"OCS: Failed to parse data field as value with type mdata and <b42e994ea059> contents, context <ROM>!"

b42e994ea059 is my MAC address

If you are editing your config.plist with a text editor, use Base64 instead of hex.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,553
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Mar 4, 2014
Messages
442
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i5 9400F
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Greetings all, keep getting this error from app store when updating. Not on all apps, just on some. I can get round it by deleting the app and reinstalling. No other issues with iMessage or app store. Anyone else getting this?

Screenshot 2021-03-25 at 10.41.24.png
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,553
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Greetings all, keep getting this error from app store when updating. Not on all apps, just on some. I can get round it by deleting the app and reinstalling. No other issues with iMessage or app store. Anyone else getting this?

View attachment 513203

It has happened once or twice on my hackbook but never on my desktops. I thought it was my Wi-Fi and just tried downloading again, and it worked.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2014
Messages
442
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i5 9400F
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It has happened once or twice on my hackbook but never on my desktops. I thought it was my Wi-Fi and just tried downloading again and it worked.
I've had it two or three times over last 3 months. Tried connecting my phone wireless hotspot and same error. I deleted app and then downloaded newest version. Now all good. Weird. Not a big issue for me. My OCD can cope with this. :lol:
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,553
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've had it two or three times over last 3 months. Tried connecting my phone wireless hotspot and same error. I deleted app and then downloaded newest version. Now all good. Weird. Not a big issue for me. My OCD can cope with this. :lol:

Please update me and let me know if the same apps have problems the next time there are updates.
 
Top