Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming build with working NVRAM

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I’ve tried this on a Samsung 970 plus and an owc electra. I tried disabling sip in the bootloader and it wouldn’t load. I have to recreate another fresh drive to disable in the config before I try installing the driver again.
By accident, I booted up from my main drive back up and to my surprise it began to boot, no error message. The first time it went to blank screen when it loads the graphics so I went back edited the config to switch off inject intel and got the prohibited sign. I went to boot from the fresh/safe drive just to make sure I could and that now boots to the allocate error screen. I realized my old system has been fakesmc and that’s what I was using...

will your efi folder work if I swap in fakesmc for virtualsmc? Will it effect any of the patches etc?

The Samsung 970 EVO Plus requires a firmware update before it will work with macOS. Even if there's nothing on the SSD, just having it installed in the system can cause system instability.

Please post your EFI. I don't have Inject Intel anywhere...

Make sure you DO NOT have any hackintosh kexts in /Library/Extensions/ or /System/Library/Extensions/. This is especially important if you disable SIP.

FakeSMC can work but FileVault will probably break if you use it instead of VirtualSMC.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
21
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The Samsung 970 EVO Plus requires a firmware update before it will work with macOS. Even if there's nothing on the SSD, just having it installed in the system can cause system instability.

Please post your EFI. I don't have Inject Intel anywhere... Will that opencore efi work with igpu?

Make sure you DO NOT have any hackintosh kexts in /Library/Extensions/ or /System/Library/Extensions/. This is especially important if you disable SIP.

FakeSMC can work but FileVault will probably break if you use it instead of VirtualSMC.
I tried swapping your config into my efi folder and I get a prohibited sign. Inject intel is on my old config, that’s what I meant by that.

The 970 plus was tested in the working Catalina system, booted etc without issues. Also I was running into this issue before the 970 was connected on the new system, it is ultimately what I’d like to end up booting from.

I posted the efi that gets me closest (gets through the whole boot but screen goes blank at the end) when I went back to edit my last post let me know if I can post it again.

Edit: I guess I did not post it. Not sure why I have two drivers folders...
 

Attachments

  • EFI_fromworking catalina.zip
    21.8 MB · Views: 33
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried swapping your config into my efi folder and I get a prohibited sign. Inject intel is on my old config, that’s what I meant by that.

The 970 plus was tested in the working Catalina system, booted etc without issues. Also I was running into this issue before the 970 was connected on the new system, it is ultimately what I’d like to end up booting from.

I posted the efi that gets me closest (gets through the whole boot but screen goes blank at the end) when I went back to edit my last post let me know if I can post it again.

Edit: I guess I did not post it. Not sure why I have two drivers folders...

For your EFI folder to have any chance of booting on the Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming, you will need to do the following:
Copy SSDT-PMC.aml from /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/.
Add "slide=0" boot argument to your config.plist.
Copy the config.plist > Devices > Properties section to your config.plist.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I'm wondering if this will also work with the ASUS TUF Z390M-PRO GAMING (WI-FI) or is it smarter to follow MacMan's Build instructions?

To be honest, I haven't really looked at that build guide... That being said, getting NVRAM working on Z390 is pretty much the same process on any Z390 system.

1. Make sure MSR is unlocked. (Asus motherboards should have it unlocked by default from the factory.)
2. Install SSDT-PMC.aml to /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/.
3. Add "slide=0" boot argument to config.plist. (slide=0 should work for most BIOSes.)

As for configuring the rest of the EFI, there isn't much that differs between most Z170 to Z390.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
21
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
For your EFI folder to have any chance of booting on the Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming, you will need to do the following:
Copy SSDT-PMC.aml from /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/.
Add "slide=0" boot argument to your config.plist.
Copy the config.plist > Devices > Properties section to your config.plist.
Progress! in my folder I changed the config file to have the device properties and got rid of my -disablegfxfirmware flag and unchecked inject intel. Then, by accident, when I had the boot list up I selected the drive thats got your EFI folder that you sent me to try on the fresh install, I realized I selected the wrong one because the clover boot screen looks different but I selected my backup drive anyway, and it booted! So to test, I boot up again and this time selected my backup drive at the bios boot screen and again at the clover boot screen, this time though the screen goes blank. Reboot, try the accidental way and success again.
What is being loaded by selecting, your efi at the bios screen and my backup drive at the clover screen? There must be some difference because I can’t simply copy your efi to this drive and swap in fakesm. I took these two pics from the clover boot screen before a successful boot.
 

Attachments

  • 940BDA56-8DC3-4F60-B367-58B36EE5759B.jpeg
    940BDA56-8DC3-4F60-B367-58B36EE5759B.jpeg
    216.4 KB · Views: 62
  • 042DFB7F-60F6-4588-ABD3-DBDE70B4769E.jpeg
    042DFB7F-60F6-4588-ABD3-DBDE70B4769E.jpeg
    328.1 KB · Views: 57

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Progress! in my folder I changed the config file to have the device properties and got rid of my -disablegfxfirmware flag and unchecked inject intel. Then, by accident, when I had the boot list up I selected the drive thats got your EFI folder that you sent me to try on the fresh install, I realized I selected the wrong one because the clover boot screen looks different but I selected my backup drive anyway, and it booted! So to test, I boot up again and this time selected my backup drive at the bios boot screen and again at the clover boot screen, this time though the screen goes blank. Reboot, try the accidental way and success again.
What is being loaded by selecting, your efi at the bios screen and my backup drive at the clover screen? There must be some difference because I can’t simply copy your efi to this drive and swap in fakesm. I took these two pics from the clover boot screen before a successful boot.

If using the EFI that I provided works, why not use it??

The EFI I provided has the FileVault fixes that require VirtualSMC. If you really want to use FakeSMC, you may need to make some changes to the Clover drivers used. The files in /EFI/CLOVER/drivers/UEFI/ are the files in question. Try deleting AppleGenericInput.efi, AppleUISupport.efi, and VirtualSMC.efi. This will break FileVault but should allow you to use FakeSMC.

Of course, you will also need to delete all the VirtualSMC kexts in /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
21
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If using the EFI that I provided works, why not use it??

The EFI I provided has the FileVault fixes that require VirtualSMC. If you really want to use FakeSMC, you may need to make some changes to the Clover drivers used. The files in /EFI/CLOVER/drivers/UEFI/ are the files in question. Try deleting AppleGenericInput.efi, AppleUISupport.efi, and VirtualSMC.efi. This will break FileVault but should allow you to use FakeSMC.

Of course, you will also need to delete all the VirtualSMC kexts in /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/.
I am still testing but it looks like it’s panicking at the same spot. This long narrow list of items is also something that does not show up in my Catalina boot, are these from the ssdt patches? If so, can you tell from the picture what’s freaking it out?

edit: I want to mention this narrow bit happens at the what seems like the end of the boot
 

Attachments

  • C0AA09D3-86C8-49A5-8BA5-0F6994A93C32.jpeg
    C0AA09D3-86C8-49A5-8BA5-0F6994A93C32.jpeg
    276.1 KB · Views: 47
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am still testing but it looks like it’s panicking at the same spot. This long narrow list of items is also something that does not show up in my Catalina boot, are these from the ssdt patches? If so, can you tell from the picture what’s freaking it out?

edit: I want to mention this narrow bit happens at the what seems like the end of the boot

The actual panic scrolled off screen. Please try videoing the verbose boot and post.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
21
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The actual panic scrolled off screen. Please try videoing the verbose boot and post.

I had some issues with my "backup" system for a moment and have not been able to test out the variations yet. Is there an OpenCore option I can try that works with igpu?

I will post video of the panics either later tonight or tomorrow.

I know I keep saying it but thank you so much for your help with this! I know we can get it there but still not real sure what that is going to look like. I read in another post you said the integrated memory controller for the 9900k is more finicky could any of the issues be coming from the ram I'm using? I mentioned it earlier its the g skill sport 2400 16 x 2 sticks.

Is there an option where we emulate NVRAM and not tweak the bios or is that not an issue here?
 
Top