Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming build with working NVRAM

Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
447
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I may sound stupid but : how can I reset the NVRAM. As far as I can recall with a Mac you just pressed the keys alt+command+p+r....
It is an option on the bootloader screen. With Clover, when the bootloader options come up, press F11. With OpenCore, it is an actual selection (Reset NVRAM).
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M GAMING
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It is an option on the bootloader screen. With Clover, when the bootloader options come up, press F11. With OpenCore, it is an actual selection (Reset NVRAM).

Hi tedyun, thanks a lot for your advice. Eventually I could find it
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i5 9600k
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did you copy your Serial, Board Serial, UUID, and MAC address to the config.plist?
Yes. Left the computer sitting for over an hour and now sleep is working again.. Im at a total loss..

Also when going to 0.6.4 Do we need to do this change?
*Upgrading to 0.6.4 may require additional steps when BootProtect is set to Bootstrap.

Thanks
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,048
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes. Left the computer sitting for over an hour and now sleep is working again.. Im at a total loss..

Also when going to 0.6.4 Do we need to do this change?
*Upgrading to 0.6.4 may require additional steps when BootProtect is set to Bootstrap.

Thanks

I didn't need extra steps.
 
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
1,046
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390 Plus Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef hey man how r u? I don't know did you installed Big Sur but, if you did, I wanna ask you something. Are you seeing the color profiles under the System Preferences/Display/Color other than your monitor profile?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,048
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef hey man how r u? I don't know did you installed Big Sur but, if you did, I wanna ask you something. Are you seeing the color profiles under the System Preferences/Display/Color other than your monitor profile?

No. I only see my monitor.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2014
Messages
230
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i7-9770K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So, FINALLY back to working on my Hackintosh (Hack_2)! Life, volunteer activities and other things interrupted, but we’re back.

At this point, the motherboard is fully populated and I’ve begun installing the power cables. The ATX_12V connectors on the mother board are what is shown on the diagram:
584FEBD6-F765-4EB5-A631-94D5F719B6EB.jpeg


The cable diagram from the power supply (Silverstone SST-ST75F-GS):

34AD4B02-59EC-4903-9EB5-206EAB8C10F4.jpeg


Connector detail:

2A91C418-9D80-415B-8308-5357D44138C2.jpeg


The left connector of P3, for example, has the same configuration of the ATX_12V_2X2, so I would think that is OK. However, the P4 does not match the ATX12V_2X4. P5, P6 and P7 are configured the same way. I have also verified the hardware against the diagrams. What’s going on here? I assume that an appropriate cable is available somewhere, but where? Haven’t found anything yet on GIGABYTE or Silverstone.
 
Last edited:

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,123
Motherboard
ASRock B560M itx/ac - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i3-10320
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So, FINALLY back to working on my Hackintosh (Hack_2)! Life, volunteer activities and other things interrupted, but we’re back.

At this point, the motherboard is fully populated and I’ve begun installing the power cables. The ATX_12V connectors on the mother board are what is shown on the diagram:View attachment 501008

The cable diagram from the power supply (Silverstone SST-ST75F-GS):

View attachment 501009

Connector detail:

View attachment 501010

The left connector of P3, for example, has the same configuration of the ATX_12V_2X2, so I would think that is OK. However, the P4 does not match the ATXP12V_2X4. P5, P6 and P7 are configured the same way. I have also verified the hardware against the diagrams. What’s going on here? I assume that an appropriate cable is available somewhere, but where? Haven’t found anything yet on GIGABYTE or Silverstone.

It's a conundrum, isn't it? A bit like one of those online intelligence quizzes.

To be honest I don't see an appropriate cable there. I would be using the ATX_12V_2X4, 8-pin header for average use. The cables supplied with my Corsair PSU included the correct "shape" key for the socket, in the same split-plug configuration, that matched. Not sure why Silverstone doesn't. This is the Z390M Gaming, isn't it?
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,123
Motherboard
ASRock B560M itx/ac - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i3-10320
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, GIGABYTE Z390 M Gaming...

Okay. Does your Silverstone come with only the cables you list? The 2x4 cable from my Corsair, which is only semi-modular, in that these two cables are fixed, terminate in the correct "shapes" for the motherboard.

You can, in theory use just a 1x4 plug/socket BUT I don't think that would be recommended with your i7 CPU. As I understood it the separate 1x4 was for extra power beyond the standard 2x4.

Again, sorry I can't make the Silverstone work despite examining each cable ... Mind you, maybe P3 will fit as the square shape is just bevelled at the bottom? Experiment carefully!
 
Top