Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming build with working NVRAM

Joined
Aug 31, 2020
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @4.9GHz
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Fresh installed Big Sur last night on clover 5126. After install, can only boot Big Sur with clover via preboot, not sure if that is new expect clover behavior? When trying to boot Big Sur like usual with clover, boot hangs (see pic).

Also, is Efi Agent up to the job of mounting Big Sur EFI for putting clover on system drive? I was hesitant to use it with the new OS, and I noticed Catalina doesn’t mount my Big Sur drive.

508F8A20-0AAB-4653-80CB-09ABE60F6021.jpeg
BD5354B7-2167-4FD2-8684-911BB0FAA09C.jpeg

EAFE594F-2CF3-46E7-A96D-46286EE07799.jpeg
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,519
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Fresh installed Big Sur last night on clover 5126. After install, can only boot Big Sur with clover via preboot, not sure if that is new expect clover behavior? When trying to boot Big Sur like usual with clover, boot hangs (see pic).

Also, is Efi Agent up to the job of mounting Big Sur EFI for putting clover on system drive? I was hesitant to use it with the new OS, and I noticed Catalina doesn’t mount my Big Sur drive.

View attachment 495580View attachment 495581
View attachment 495582

I think the must boot from preboot is a known Clover issue. I haven't seen any "fix" for this.

Yes, EFI Agent is working fine for me.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
26
Motherboard
Z390M Gaming
CPU
i3 9100
Graphics
Radeon RX 460
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Success ! Very easy clean install on another SSD :

Capture d’écran 2020-11-13 à 14.59.04.png


Take 25 minutes and 4 reboots on Samsung 860Evo 500GB with OC 0.6.3

Thanks you so much @pastrychef for your EFI and very helpful recommandations !
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
24
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 M Gaminig
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I just tested booting with the latest Clover and it worked fine.

If you want to switch to OpenCore, just download the latest OpenCore EFI from post #1 and replace your existing EFI.
So if I'm on Clover 5122, I should update to Clover 5126 just to be safe?

edit:
You must update to have any hope of booting Big Sur.

No, do not use your old config.plist. Copy/paste your Serial, Board Serial, UUID from your old config.plist to the new config.plist.

Thanks! @pastrychef
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 10, 2013
Messages
43
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
I5 9400
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yeah. Your 80211 kext looks like a problem.
I removed that kext, now installer starts but on both OC and clover reboot here again and again:
 

Attachments

  • WhatsApp Image 2020-11-13 at 17.29.06.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2020-11-13 at 17.29.06.jpeg
    133.9 KB · Views: 13

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,519
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So if I'm on Clover 5122, I should update to Clover 5126 just to be safe?

Coping Clover 5126 EFI from post #1 and replacing "config.plist" with my own should be enough?

You must update to have any hope of booting Big Sur.

No, do not use your old config.plist. Copy/paste your Serial, Board Serial, UUID from your old config.plist to the new config.plist.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,519
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I removed that kext, now installer starts but on both OC and clover reboot here again and again:

I don't know what the problem is. Did you initialize your drive as APFS?
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2013
Messages
43
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
I5 9400
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
If you mean if I try to install on a afps frive, the answer is yes.
 
Top