Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming build with working NVRAM

Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
473
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I’ve had problems with iStat and sleep before. That’s not what’s happening with me right now, but you might want to try without.

Mines a clean install with only istats installed and signed in to apple account. I’ll reload it again tonight.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,392
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I still can't find the solution to do a factory bios reset (F4).
I made a new clear Cmos, the F9j is well cleaned :)
I put the variable 0x5C1 0x0 back to 0x1.
the cfg lock is changed from enable to disable.
When I extract this bios (after optimal settings), we can see that we find "cfg lock" in 2 different places.


View attachment 492404

View attachment 492405

by digging a little, I find 2 times internal graphics. we can see that it is on "Auto" (0x2). var name : 0x91A.
which means that I should have a display (motherboard) if I remove the graphics card. which is not the case
I'm going to set it to enable 0x1 -> set_var_3 0x91A 0x1
then disconnect my graphics card and connect to the igpu
what do you think?
but it doesn't say why the option disappeared from the bios.

View attachment 492407
View attachment 492408

All the BIOS setting should be configurable with this method. Just be careful and enter the correct settings.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2019
Messages
14
Motherboard
Z390 m gaming
CPU
i3-9100
Graphics
iGPU
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I think I know the answer to your OEM mismatch problem. This can happen if your new bios files is a different size than your prior one. To fix it you will have to use the efiflash tool with the command
Code:
efiflash biosfilename /x \NoOemID
The reference for this advice is https://www.tweaktownforum.com/foru...gigabyte-latest-beta-bios?p=747861#post747861

Here’s some info on using efiflash.
Hi,
it works (no need to use /x \NoOemID cause this efiflash bypass the oem error) thank you. I'm now with F9l bios,
but still no igpu option in IO.
so I made a efiflash in F4, the option reappears. I select it.
then efiflash in F9l, the option is not there anymore !
can you please send me your bios? I'm going crazy.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2014
Messages
56
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
XFX RX580 GTS Black
Hi,
it works (no need to use /x \NoOemID cause this efiflash bypass the oem error) thank you. I'm now with F9l bios,
but still no igpu option in IO.
so I made a efiflash in F4, the option reappears. I select it.
then efiflash in F9l, the option is not there anymore !
can you please send me your bios? I'm going crazy.
I did mine when it was still beta. You can still get from tweaktown. I had assumed they were the same but I did not verify.


I did not mean to link directly to the file so I removed that.

I have the igpu option on the settings menu as shown here
 

Attachments

  • 25D516CF-924C-428E-9408-452B82E719B9.jpeg
    25D516CF-924C-428E-9408-452B82E719B9.jpeg
    3.8 MB · Views: 24
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i5 9600k
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just updated to the latest public beta and sleep worked fine for me. I have no software installed on that drive.
pastrychef

I just changed out the SSDT-PLUG.aml for the one you post to restore power nap. And now I have sleep working good again.. Now just to fine tune config.plist to my setup.

Only other issue from sleep is the usb drives. When waking up from sleep I get a message (disk not ejected properly)
USB drive was plugged into the USB3 Header(Front) on motherboard.

Thank you for all your hard work.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 15, 2014
Messages
103
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i5 9600k
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
pastrychef

Still having a little problem with it now staying asleep. It will go to sleep for awhile but then wakes on its own.
This is the log I pulled

Code:
2020-10-21 04:43:08.254212-0500  localhost powerd[80]: [powerd:sleepWake] Wake reason: "<private>"  identity: "<private>"
2020-10-21 04:43:32.515847-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: RTC (Alarm)
2020-10-21 04:43:32.515848-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: RTC (Alarm)
2020-10-21 06:55:04.056781-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: XDCI CNVW
2020-10-21 06:55:04.056782-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: XDCI CNVW
2020-10-21 07:19:49.976251-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: RTC (Alarm)
2020-10-21 07:19:49.976252-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: RTC (Alarm)
2020-10-21 07:49:16.031571-0500  localhost powerd[80]: [powerd:sleepWake] Wake reason: "<private>"  identity: "<private>"

Thanks for any help
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,392
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
pastrychef

Still having a little problem with it now staying asleep. It will go to sleep for awhile but then wakes on its own.
This is the log I pulled

Code:
2020-10-21 04:43:08.254212-0500  localhost powerd[80]: [powerd:sleepWake] Wake reason: "<private>"  identity: "<private>"
2020-10-21 04:43:32.515847-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: RTC (Alarm)
2020-10-21 04:43:32.515848-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: RTC (Alarm)
2020-10-21 06:55:04.056781-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: XDCI CNVW
2020-10-21 06:55:04.056782-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: XDCI CNVW
2020-10-21 07:19:49.976251-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: RTC (Alarm)
2020-10-21 07:19:49.976252-0500  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: RTC (Alarm)
2020-10-21 07:49:16.031571-0500  localhost powerd[80]: [powerd:sleepWake] Wake reason: "<private>"  identity: "<private>"

Thanks for any help

It's normal for the system to wake itself to do things such as sync Messages, email, etc.

You can disable this by disabling Power Nap in System Preferences > Energy Saver.

In fact, you can also disable Wake for network access.

You can also disable proximity wake:
Code:
pmset -a proximitywake 0
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2020
Messages
232
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming M
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I would also try disabling handoff if you are having sleeping problems, although that may be covered by proximity wake=0.
 
Top