Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming build with working NVRAM

Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
No, it is not the fault of the BIOS. Don't downgrade.

Please replace the config.plist with the one I attached here. Remember to enter your Serial, Board Serial, UUID, and MAC address again.
Looks like that did the trick! Now I get to a MacOS Utilities window, which I didn't expect. Do I opt for a new install from this window?
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
248
Motherboard
Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What's the bug with monitor look like? I'm using F9k and can only use HDMI with my RX 580...
Also when I use HDMI, after sleep I get black screen.

@pastrychef I have apply bios f9j and I see CFG unlock and Serial port in bios and not have bug with monitor.
With f9k, I have bug with monitor
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,244
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Looks like that did the trick! Now I get to a MacOS Utilities window, which I didn't expect. Do I opt for a new install from this window?

Yes, new install. Just like on a real Mac.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,244
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What's the bug with monitor look like? I'm using F9k and can only use HDMI with my RX 580...
Also when I use HDMI, after sleep I get black screen.

The bug only happens after the initial BIOS update. If you were able to see the BIOS screen, you were not hit with the bug.

Black screen on HDMI is a common problem with using HDMI in macOS. Try lowering the screen resolution and/or refresh rate or, better yet, don't use HDMI.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
248
Motherboard
Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My issue is even bigger that I can't use DP...
It will go well until the progress bar is almost full, then the screen goes completely black...
I have to use HDMI to at least get something... so weird.

The bug only happens after the initial BIOS update. If you were able to see the BIOS screen, you were not hit with the bug.

Black screen on HDMI is a common problem with using HDMI in macOS. Try lowering the screen resolution and/or refresh rate or, better yet, don't use HDMI.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,244
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My issue is even bigger that I can't use DP...
It will go well until the progress bar is almost full, then the screen goes completely black...
I have to use HDMI to at least get something... so weird.

Do you have WhateverGreen enabled? Please post your EFI folder.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Looks like that did the trick! Now I get to a MacOS Utilities window, which I didn't expect. Do I opt for a new install from this window?
I am up and running! I have selected my drive as my startup disk.
The bug only happens after the initial BIOS update. If you were able to see the BIOS screen, you were not hit with the bug.

Black screen on HDMI is a common problem with using HDMI in macOS. Try lowering the screen resolution and/or refresh rate or, better yet, don't use HDMI.
I'm up! Now I'm just working on getting the WiFi card (Archer 3000TXE) kext. Or maybe I just use the AirportBRCMFixup? Also, do I need to move the EFI to the hard drive (per OpenCore guide)?

Also, what is the proper way to give you credit/thanks for the help? I can see how much you've helped everyone and want to show support...
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,244
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am up and running! I have selected my drive as my startup disk.

I'm up! Now I'm just working on getting the WiFi card (Archer 3000TXE) kext. Or maybe I just use the AirportBRCMFixup? Also, do I need to move the EFI to the hard drive (per OpenCore guide)?

Also, what is the proper way to give you credit/thanks for the help? I can see how much you've helped everyone and want to show support...

I don't know anything about the Archer 3000TXE... You can try using AirportBRCMFixup...

Yes, copy your EFI folder to your main system drive as instructed on post #1.

No need. Just enjoy your hack.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
248
Motherboard
Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @pastrychef ,

The usbc port on the back can't charge my iphone while sleep; in sleep, the from usb3 19 pin header to my usb3 port on the case can charge my kindle. Seems like I need to modify USBports-with-Power.kext? Thanks!
 
Top