Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming build with working NVRAM

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,391
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks pastrychef for the EFIs and detailed instructions!!

Since I've found FCPX to export about 15% faster on iMac19,1 than on iMacPro1,1 (with no overclocking - Activity Monitor shows active cpu on iMac19,1 and idle cpu on iMacPro1,1) I prefer to use iMac19,1 but I am having the following problem:

With IGPU enabled in Bios and using iMac19,1 system definition, after booting windows 10 and then going back to Catalina, I get the same forbidden symbol at beginning of macos boot just like when I switch system definitions from iMacPro1,1 to iMac19,1 (and vice versa) and then need to clear CMOS to proceed. The thing is, this doesn’t happen on iMacPro1,1. Using F12 and booting a Windows Boot Manager booting option in Bios will trigger the forbidden symbol every time after returning to Catalina... I tried using clover to boot windows instead of F12 boot selection in Bios and it worked initially (to get back to Catalina with no forbidden symbol) but forbidden symbol returns after a few windows <-> macos switches. Once I get back into Catalina (clear CMOS again) I can then reboot, shutdown, even edit Bios, and still boot Catalina fine, just once I boot into Windows I need to clear CMOS again to boot Catalina.

I know you say in post#1 that enabling IGPU in Bios “may cause problems booting at times” but I thought it was worth mentioning this in case you have a suggestion, any ideas?

I’m on Bios F9k, and my EFIs are your clover r5120 except for I've added agdpmod=pikera (for 5700 XT), and on my copy for iMac19,1 EFI I've removed AppleALC (to restore wake from sleep functionality) which is ok for my build since I use a USB audio interface. When I swap iMacPro1,1 <-> iMac19,1 I only change the Bios setting IGPU Auto <-> Enabled (After clearing CMOS and restoring Bios settings profile).

Can you try enabling verbose mode to see what error you are getting?

Also, you don't need to remove AppleALC to prevent the crash on wake. You can just disable the HDMI/DisplayPort audio function of AppleALC.
  1. Open config.plist.
  2. Go to config.plist > DeviceProperties > Add > PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1f,0x3)
  3. Add a new Child.
  4. .....Key: No-hda-gfx
  5. .....Class: DATA
  6. .....Value: 00000000 00000000
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2020
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @4.9GHz
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Can you try enabling verbose mode to see what error you are getting?

Strangely today after switching from iMacPro1,1 to iMac19,1 and forgetting initially to change IGPU from Auto to Enabled, I booted Catalina fine (with no CMOS reset needed) and then went to Bios and Enabled IGPU and still booted Catalina fine. After some hours of testing booting Windows 10 and Catalina, here's a video of the failed boot that I can trigger every time (with iMac19,1 only) by letting the Bios boot Windows (via F12) and then either shutting down and booting Catalina or restarting to Catalina.


I couldn't reproduce the failed boot while restricting Windows 10 boots to clover only today (thankfully!) with the weird exception of one time after clearing CMOS (after a Windows Manager Boot) I accidentally let clover run before entering Bios but then restarted from clover to Bios and setup proper Bios settings only to get the same failed boot.

For the AppleALC fix, isn't that for OpenCore? Are there similar instructions for clover? I couldn't see where to enter that data in clover configurator. Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Hi, I'm a new builder, with similar specs. I'm following your guide and I am using your OpenCore EFI. One question:

you say "Fill in with MAC address" and I'm not sure how I get that.

Gigabyte Z390 M, i7 9700k, Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB, G.Skill Ripjaws 32GB 3200 DDR RAM

XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB 3D NAND NVMe, TP-Link Archer 3000x WiF
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,391
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Strangely today after switching from iMacPro1,1 to iMac19,1 and forgetting initially to change IGPU from Auto to Enabled, I booted Catalina fine (with no CMOS reset needed) and then went to Bios and Enabled IGPU and still booted Catalina fine. After some hours of testing booting Windows 10 and Catalina, here's a video of the failed boot that I can trigger every time (with iMac19,1 only) by letting the Bios boot Windows (via F12) and then either shutting down and booting Catalina or restarting to Catalina.


I couldn't reproduce the failed boot while restricting Windows 10 boots to clover only today (thankfully!) with the weird exception of one time after clearing CMOS (after a Windows Manager Boot) I accidentally let clover run before entering Bios but then restarted from clover to Bios and setup proper Bios settings only to get the same failed boot.

For the AppleALC fix, isn't that for OpenCore? Are there similar instructions for clover? I couldn't see where to enter that data in clover configurator. Thanks!

I really have no idea what can cause that boot error. I've never seen that...

You can use the same AppleALC fix with Clover. Just add it to config.plist > Device > Properties > PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1f,0x3)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,391
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I'm a new builder, with similar specs. I'm following your guide and I am using your OpenCore EFI. One question:

you say "Fill in with MAC address" and I'm not sure how I get that.

Gigabyte Z390 M, i7 9700k, Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB, G.Skill Ripjaws 32GB 3200 DDR RAM

XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB 3D NAND NVMe, TP-Link Archer 3000x WiF

Boot in to macOS.
Goto System Preferences > Network > Advanced > Hardware.
Your MAC address is listed on the first line.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Boot in to macOS.
Goto System Preferences > Network > Advanced > Hardware.
Your MAC address is listed on the first line.
Thanks. I thought I needed it before install, but see now that it's after install. I am just about to launch the bootloader from USB.
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2020
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @4.9GHz
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
You can use the same AppleALC fix with Clover. Just add it to config.plist > Device > Properties > PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1f,0x3)

Thanks I got it working!

Thanks for checking the boot error, for now I'm happy enough that Windows seems to play nice if I launch it through clover.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
I am getting stuck during USB bootload installer. It gets about 40% of the way in Apple progress bar and the screen flickers with purple lines and then goes dark. No signal from display port. Eventually the computer shuts down. I reset the CMOS and redid the BIOS settings, using f9k. Do you think I need to try the f9j BIOS? Thanks so much!

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming - i7-9700k - Radeon RX580
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,391
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am getting stuck during USB bootload installer. It gets about 40% of the way in Apple progress bar and the screen flickers with purple lines and then goes dark. No signal from display port. Eventually the computer shuts down. I reset the CMOS and redid the BIOS settings, using f9k. Do you think I need to try the f9j BIOS? Thanks so much!

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming - i7-9700k - Radeon RX580

No, it is not the fault of the BIOS. Don't downgrade.

Please replace the config.plist with the one I attached here. Remember to enter your Serial, Board Serial, UUID, and MAC address again.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    31.3 KB · Views: 18
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
No, it is not the fault of the BIOS. Don't downgrade.

Please replace the config.plist with the one I attached here. Remember to enter your Serial, Board Serial, UUID, and MAC address again.
Looks like that did the trick! Now I get to a MacOS Utilities window, which I didn't expect. Do I opt for a new install from this window?
 
Top