Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming build with working NVRAM

Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
315
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590M GAMING X
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
Vega 56+UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
DisplayPort should be fine. I've only ever had blinking at the login screen with HDMI.
For your Vega 56, do you use agdpmod = pikera?
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
315
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590M GAMING X
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
Vega 56+UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I doubt the EFI is the problem, nor the motherboard. Maybe a vertical sync issue or refresh-rate mismatch? If the resume order gets mixed-up that might cause the display to blank.
:)
It could be too, because the 4K monitor is working with 4K resolution I didn't reduce it to 1080p.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
Intel Core i9-9900K
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@pastrychef Thank you very much for this guide. I have the same hardware and was able to get everything up and running fairly easily thanks to you. My system has a hard drive with Win10 loaded, and a separate drive with Catalina. I am able to boot to the flash drive and use Clover to select Windows or Catalina. However, I'd like to bypass the flash drive and be able to choose which OS to boot without it. Do I just need to load Clover in Catalina? Catalina will be the primary OS that I use.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,356
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef Thank you very much for this guide. I have the same hardware and was able to get everything up and running fairly easily thanks to you. My system has a hard drive with Win10 loaded, and a separate drive with Catalina. I am able to boot to the flash drive and use Clover to select Windows or Catalina. However, I'd like to bypass the flash drive and be able to choose which OS to boot without it. Do I just need to load Clover in Catalina? Catalina will be the primary OS that I use.

Just copy your EFI folder from the EFI partition of your USB flash drive to the EFI partition of your Catalina drive. Then, in BIOS, set your primary boot drive to the Catalina drive. All of this is covered in post #1.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 5, 2020
Messages
231
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming M
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
No, only Displayport cable (DP 1.4), here I use 2 Dell Ultrasharp 24" U2419H and LG 32" 4K UK550, same issue in all monitors.

Try an experiment with darkwake=0 removed from your boot arguments. I was having similar issues that seem to have resolved after removing darkwake=0. Might be worth a try.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
315
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590M GAMING X
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
Vega 56+UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Try an experiment with darkwake=0 removed from your boot arguments. I was having similar issues that seem to have resolved after removing darkwake=0. Might be worth a try.
It worked, I removed agdmod = pikera and darkwake = 0, and apparently it worked.
Tks a Lot.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
Intel Core i9-9900K
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Just copy your EFI folder from the EFI partition of your USB flash drive to the EFI partition of your Catalina drive. Then, in BIOS, set your primary boot drive to the Catalina drive. All of this is covered in post #1.
Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2020
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @4.9GHz
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Thanks pastrychef for the EFIs and detailed instructions!!

Since I've found FCPX to export about 15% faster on iMac19,1 than on iMacPro1,1 (with no overclocking - Activity Monitor shows active cpu on iMac19,1 and idle cpu on iMacPro1,1) I prefer to use iMac19,1 but I am having the following problem:

With IGPU enabled in Bios and using iMac19,1 system definition, after booting windows 10 and then going back to Catalina, I get the same forbidden symbol at beginning of macos boot just like when I switch system definitions from iMacPro1,1 to iMac19,1 (and vice versa) and then need to clear CMOS to proceed. The thing is, this doesn’t happen on iMacPro1,1. Using F12 and booting a Windows Boot Manager booting option in Bios will trigger the forbidden symbol every time after returning to Catalina... I tried using clover to boot windows instead of F12 boot selection in Bios and it worked initially (to get back to Catalina with no forbidden symbol) but forbidden symbol returns after a few windows <-> macos switches. Once I get back into Catalina (clear CMOS again) I can then reboot, shutdown, even edit Bios, and still boot Catalina fine, just once I boot into Windows I need to clear CMOS again to boot Catalina.

I know you say in post#1 that enabling IGPU in Bios “may cause problems booting at times” but I thought it was worth mentioning this in case you have a suggestion, any ideas?

I’m on Bios F9k, and my EFIs are your clover r5120 except for I've added agdpmod=pikera (for 5700 XT), and on my copy for iMac19,1 EFI I've removed AppleALC (to restore wake from sleep functionality) which is ok for my build since I use a USB audio interface. When I swap iMacPro1,1 <-> iMac19,1 I only change the Bios setting IGPU Auto <-> Enabled (After clearing CMOS and restoring Bios settings profile).
 
Top