Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming build with working NVRAM

Joined
Aug 6, 2020
Messages
130
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Looks like one of them doesn't have DVI-D.

Edit:
Since you are buying from Amazon, I'd try the cheaper one first and return it if it doesn't work. There's too big of a price difference...

Yup, that's what I noticed too. That is quite a price hike.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
315
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590M GAMING X
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
Vega 56+UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I don't know if this is happening to you, but right here with Opencore 0.6.0 and Clover 5120, both from @pastrychef , when macOS goes to standby for not using it, I move the mouse or something on the keyboard, the system takes a long time to return, and the screen is flashing several times and then the image comes back and I can enter my password.
Other times he doesn't come back and I have to manually restart.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,359
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't know if this is happening to you, but right here with Opencore 0.6.0 and Clover 5120, both from @pastrychef , when macOS goes to standby for not using it, I move the mouse or something on the keyboard, the system takes a long time to return, and the screen is flashing several times and then the image comes back and I can enter my password.
Other times he doesn't come back and I have to manually restart.

Mine wakes up fine.

Are you using HDMI?
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
315
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590M GAMING X
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
Vega 56+UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Mine wakes up fine.

Are you using HDMI?
No, only Displayport cable (DP 1.4), here I use 2 Dell Ultrasharp 24" U2419H and LG 32" 4K UK550, same issue in all monitors.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,359
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No, only Displayport cable (DP 1.4), here I use 2 Dell Ultrasharp 24" U2419H and LG 32" 4K UK550, same issue in all monitors.

Not sure why your screens blink... Mine just comes out of sleep and goes to full power on state...
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
315
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590M GAMING X
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
Vega 56+UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Not sure why your screens blink... Mine just comes out of sleep and goes to full power on state...
would you like to give a review to EFI, because I only changed some things specific to my configuration?
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,359
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
would you like to give a review to EFI, because I only changed some things specific to my configuration?

Sure but I can't think of anything in EFI that can cause the screen to blink...
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
315
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590M GAMING X
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
Vega 56+UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,359
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,582
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
would you like to give a review to EFI to give a review, because I only changed some things specific to my configuration?

Interesting...

Two HD monitors and a 4k ... Are they all on the Vega?

I wonder how a real MacPro would handle this mix? Probably no UHD630 involved if Xeons (?).

I doubt the EFI is the problem, nor the motherboard. Maybe a vertical sync issue or refresh-rate mismatch? If the resume order gets mixed-up that might cause the display to blank.
:)
 
Top