Contribute
Register

Gigabyte X79 UP4 + I7-4930k , trouble to get into mojave installer

Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
7
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi there

I read many posts regarding X79 including the one just below mine with a guy who nicely shared his DSDT/ EFI .
Unfortunately it doesnt work.
Currently my 4930K works on Yosemite, but I've too many softwares who dont work anymore on yosemite and time
has come to update it to Mojave!

At first i had some cpu problems (kernel panic) , then still waiting for root device.
THe best I could do is the clover.zip attached.

All "seems" to work ( although in the verboses, attached, there are many weird messages like USB errors , TSC not synchronized, XPC.launchd aborts)
until the installer starts to launch.
I first see a grey picture with mouse cursor ( that I can move )
then apple logo with loading bar which stucks at around 1/5 of the loading. I see the mouse cursor appearing
and I can move it, but it doesnt go further.

I'm a relatively newbie in Hackintosh and i'm really struggling at this point.
My graphic card is a GTX 650 Nvidia and I hear those cards were not compatible anymore with Mojave, so that might be the culprit ?
If yes, is there a possibility to still be able to install mojave , then I'll buy an AMD card to have all gpu accelerations.

Thank you for your help,

RP
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,998
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi there

I read many posts regarding X79 including the one just below mine with a guy who nicely shared his DSDT/ EFI .
Unfortunately it doesnt work.
Currently my 4930K works on Yosemite, but I've too many softwares who dont work anymore on yosemite and time
has come to update it to Mojave!

At first i had some cpu problems (kernel panic) , then still waiting for root device.
THe best I could do is the clover.zip attached.

All "seems" to work ( although in the verboses, attached, there are many weird messages like USB errors , TSC not synchronized, XPC.launchd aborts)
until the installer starts to launch.
I first see a grey picture with mouse cursor ( that I can move )
then apple logo with loading bar which stucks at around 1/5 of the loading. I see the mouse cursor appearing
and I can move it, but it doesnt go further.

I'm a relatively newbie in Hackintosh and i'm really struggling at this point.
My graphic card is a GTX 650 Nvidia and I hear those cards were not compatible anymore with Mojave, so that might be the culprit ?
If yes, is there a possibility to still be able to install mojave , then I'll buy an AMD card to have all gpu accelerations.

Thank you for your help,

RP
  • Your Nvidia GTX 650 with Kepler microarchitecture should work OK in Mojave.
  • From your EFI/CLOVER/config.plist -Graphics, remove the [√]Inject Intel
  • Check your BIOS options again to make sure your Peripherals_Intial Display Output is PCIE .
  • Uploading BIOS screen shots will be a better idea.
    • You can Autocapture all the BIOS Screens on to the EFI Partition of your macOSMojave USB Installer Disk.
    • EFI is FAT32 Formatted and has plenty of extra Space to Save the Aurto Captured BIOS screens
    • When you press F-12 while viewing each screen and press ENTER when screen prompts you with "OK" to save the image and move on to the next screen.
    • Images are saved as BMP. This Forum will not accept BMP images.
  • You need to mount the EFI Partition on a Mac and locate the numbered images in BMP and open then with Preview and click File>Export and change File name from number to a meaningful label and the Format from BMP to JPEG or PNG .
  • Now you can upload.
  1. For details check this post-> #33
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
7
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi Cmn699

Thank you so much for your answer.

Here are my bios screenshots attached.

I've tried unchecking inject intel, still no luck and stuck at apple logo (while having mouse cursor working )after 2-3 minutes of a lot of things being loaded (i see that with verbose mode )

RP
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,998
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Cmn699

Thank you so much for your answer.

Here are my bios screenshots attached.

I've tried unchecking inject intel, still no luck and stuck at apple logo (while having mouse cursor working )after 2-3 minutes of a lot of things being loaded (i see that with verbose mode )

RP
Hello RP,
Thank you for uploading your BIOS AutoCapture Screen shots .
  • In my working GA-X79-UP4 (currently running HS 13.6, Mojave 14.5 and Catalina Beta 2 along with Windows 10 and Ubuntu from Separate Hard Disks) The BIOS Version is 7.
  • I did not change anything in the CPU or Memory related options for OC; I have left the defaults
  • I only changed settings in BIOS Features, Peripherals, and Power Management.
  • Normally I edit and annotate uploaded Images. Because of lack of time I am uploading BIOS Screen Captures from my working GA-X79-UP4 BIOS for you to consider making changes after comparing the two.
  • Please NOTE: Peripherals OnBoard USB 3.0 Controllers are DISABLED
  • In my CLOVER _ACPI_Patched I have DSDT and SSDT Patches carried over from Sierra days.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
7
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi

Thanks for your bios suggestions.

I actually got one step further but I’m not sure if the bios changes made it ( the difference was mainly UeFI only in boot and usb3 onboard disabled, and erp support disabled )

Unfortunately I could not reproduce that step further so it’s kind of weird ...
What I did is I unplugged my FireWire pci card and immediately after the verbose part I succeeded getting in the installer but unfortunately I could only see a grey screen ( different from the first grey screen ) with 2 lines of « license agreement « and nothing got further.

I rebooted computer and didn’t change a thing and unfortunately had the same thing as first time : black screen with apple logo, loading bar stopping at 1/5th , mouse cursor available and moving.

In my clover I used a dsdt from someone who had the same motherboard. But maybe they are not the best ?
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
7
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi there

Good news, I found a EFI on a forum which allowed me to go to the installer and boot on mojave!
A lot of things seem to work. ethernet work (although I do have the feeling that when I download a big file it somehow prevents me to go on any website, I mean I have to pause the download so the website load. It might be my ISP but it might also be the ethernet kext? note : it doesn't do that all the time. Only very rare time.)

-Mojave boots very quickly.
-USB works.
-Nvidia GT960 works out of the box with acceleration although. there are some graphical glitches.
I will solve that problem by buying a Sapphire RX580.
-Sound works although in mono only. I don't really care as I do have a professional sound card ( I'm a composer)
-restart/shutdown works.


A few questions :

1)CPU works as expected although I overclocked it in bios ( using turbo ratio) it doesn't seem to be taken into account when being in Mac OS. I guess I have to modify some thing?

I can live without OC but would appreciate to know why it doesn't work:)

2) Any ideas why Ethernet could have these "hiccup" problems when downloading a file and trying to go on some websites at the same time? (The thing is it doesn't always happen, I would say 95% of the time everything works. Its just sometime
when I'm changing website, it seems "stuck", not loading anything and I have to pause the current download)
Might be ISP-related, but I don't think so.

3) I did have a weird thing regarding time clock. Usually time clock gets set up automatically by Mac OSX.
Here it didn't work as expected, I had to set the right timezone. Why so?

4) I attached my EFI, I would appreciate SO MUCH if anybody could analyse my EFI a bit and see if there is room for improvement.

EDIT: 5)Also when using HWMonitor, I don't see my CPU/motherboard temperature. Only the SATA ones.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte X79-UP4
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Color Classic
Mobile Phone
iOS
HI I have had the same problem for a while, every time I change a system drive or reinstall clover my turbo clock does not read.

However on my latest clover install with Mojave & Catalina, all I had to do was disable CPU EIST feature in the bios (F7)
Now over clocking works from 1200mhz - 4200mhz boost, CPU Package at idle is around 20w, Power management is working??
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Top