Gigabyte X79 UD5 LGA 2011 Installation Guide:

Discussion in 'Mavericks Desktop Guides' started by GuitarGuy77, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. GuitarGuy77

    GuitarGuy77

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 1, 2014 at 2:41 AM #11
    GuitarGuy77

    GuitarGuy77

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Try to install the audio drivers from multibeast - let me know. I use RME fireface for audio so i do not use the X79 audio
     
  2. Norex

    Norex

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Motherboard:
    GA-X79S-UP5-WiFi / OSX 10.9.0 Mavericks
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX780 OC 3GB GDDR5 384bit PCI-E x16
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Windows Phone
    Mar 3, 2014 at 1:18 AM #12
    Norex

    Norex

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Motherboard:
    GA-X79S-UP5-WiFi / OSX 10.9.0 Mavericks
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX780 OC 3GB GDDR5 384bit PCI-E x16
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Windows Phone
    Hello! Thanks a lot your information, sorry for my English grammar.
    I did everything like you said, but it doesn't work for me. I can't see my cores only 1 core, I can see only L3:1Mb and not 12 MB. It cant boot just show the apple logo. Not working Wifi. About this Mac, cant see what kind of processor I have... Please somebody help me...
     

    Attached Files:

    • photo-2.jpg  (1,019.5 KB, 98 views)
    • photo-3.jpg  (752 KB, 111 views)
    • photo-4.jpg  (1,009.3 KB, 86 views)
    • photo-5.jpg  (975 KB, 84 views)
    • photo.jpg  (1,007.3 KB, 80 views)
  3. GuitarGuy77

    GuitarGuy77

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 3, 2014 at 5:57 PM #13
    GuitarGuy77

    GuitarGuy77

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    What mainboard do you have??
     
  4. akadigital

    akadigital

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte
    CPU:
    i7-3930k
    Graphics:
    GTX 680
    Mar 23, 2014 at 7:30 PM #14
    akadigital

    akadigital

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte
    CPU:
    i7-3930k
    Graphics:
    GTX 680
    Success with X79 UD5 LGA 2011 and 10.9.2

    The only glitch which I keep forgetting is to make sure to add the plist update... otherwise a black screen... I ran software update.. rand multi beast without DSDT and got black screen until I added
    <string>darkwake=0 npci=0x2000</string>



    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
    <string>No</string>
    <key>IGPEnabler</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Kernel</key>
    <string>mach_kernel</string>
    <key>Kernel Flags</key>
    <string>darkwake=0 npci=0x2000</string>
    <key>Legacy Logo</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Timeout</key>
    <string>2</string>
    <key>GenerateCStates</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>GeneratePStates</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>UseKernelCache</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>


    I'm glad I can come back here to refresh my memory overtime this happens...
     
    GuitarGuy77 likes this.
  5. alkaser

    alkaser

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    May 10, 2016 at 1:11 AM #15
    alkaser

    alkaser

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1

    Where do I put this and how?
     
  6. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,182
    Motherboard:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    May 10, 2016 at 11:43 AM #16
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,182
    Motherboard:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    config.plist Kernel Flags string
     
  7. Phathak

    Phathak

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3930K (3200) Six Core
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX660Ti
    Aug 5, 2016 at 3:06 AM #17
    Phathak

    Phathak

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3930K (3200) Six Core
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX660Ti
    Hi,

    Anybody knows the BIOS settings for F12 and the Clover settings?

    Thank you
     
  8. YYR123

    YYR123

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    251
    Motherboard:
    GA-X79-UD5
    CPU:
    E5-2687W
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX-760
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 23, 2016 at 6:48 AM #18
    YYR123

    YYR123

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    251
    Motherboard:
    GA-X79-UD5
    CPU:
    E5-2687W
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX-760
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yeah I would like bios settings also. Guess I will keep searching
     
  9. GuitarGuy77

    GuitarGuy77

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Dec 2, 2016 at 11:38 PM #19
    GuitarGuy77

    GuitarGuy77

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Used the latest known BIOS, not the beta version tho. Also I recently updated to Clover for this mainboard (so I can booth with Samsung SM951),and made a post with a step by step.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice