Gigabyte X79 UD5 LGA 2011 Installation Guide:

Discussion in 'Mavericks Desktop Guides' started by gabrieljsmith1, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. gabrieljsmith1

    gabrieljsmith1

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 1, 2014 at 2:41 AM #11
    gabrieljsmith1

    gabrieljsmith1

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Try to install the audio drivers from multibeast - let me know. I use RME fireface for audio so i do not use the X79 audio
     
  2. Norex

    Norex

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    GA-X79S-UP5-WiFi / OSX 10.9.0 Mavericks
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX780 OC 3GB GDDR5 384bit PCI-E x16
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Windows Phone
    Mar 3, 2014 at 1:18 AM #12
    Norex

    Norex

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    GA-X79S-UP5-WiFi / OSX 10.9.0 Mavericks
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX780 OC 3GB GDDR5 384bit PCI-E x16
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Windows Phone
    Hello! Thanks a lot your information, sorry for my English grammar.
    I did everything like you said, but it doesn't work for me. I can't see my cores only 1 core, I can see only L3:1Mb and not 12 MB. It cant boot just show the apple logo. Not working Wifi. About this Mac, cant see what kind of processor I have... Please somebody help me...
     

    Attached Files:

    • photo-2.jpg  (1,019.5 KB, 53 views)
    • photo-3.jpg  (752 KB, 66 views)
    • photo-4.jpg  (1,009.3 KB, 47 views)
    • photo-5.jpg  (975 KB, 45 views)
    • photo.jpg  (1,007.3 KB, 41 views)
  3. gabrieljsmith1

    gabrieljsmith1

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 3, 2014 at 5:57 PM #13
    gabrieljsmith1

    gabrieljsmith1

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    What mainboard do you have??
     
  4. akadigital

    akadigital

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte
    CPU:
    i7-3930k
    Graphics:
    GTX 680
    Mar 23, 2014 at 7:30 PM #14
    akadigital

    akadigital

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte
    CPU:
    i7-3930k
    Graphics:
    GTX 680
    Success with X79 UD5 LGA 2011 and 10.9.2

    The only glitch which I keep forgetting is to make sure to add the plist update... otherwise a black screen... I ran software update.. rand multi beast without DSDT and got black screen until I added
    <string>darkwake=0 npci=0x2000</string>



    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
    <string>No</string>
    <key>IGPEnabler</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Kernel</key>
    <string>mach_kernel</string>
    <key>Kernel Flags</key>
    <string>darkwake=0 npci=0x2000</string>
    <key>Legacy Logo</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Timeout</key>
    <string>2</string>
    <key>GenerateCStates</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>GeneratePStates</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>UseKernelCache</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>


    I'm glad I can come back here to refresh my memory overtime this happens...
     
    gabrieljsmith1 likes this.
  5. alkaser

    alkaser

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    May 10, 2016 at 1:11 AM #15
    alkaser

    alkaser

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1

    Where do I put this and how?
     
  6. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,089
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    May 10, 2016 at 11:43 AM #16
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,089
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    config.plist Kernel Flags string
     
  7. Phathak

    Phathak

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3930K (3200) Six Core
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX660Ti
    Aug 5, 2016 at 3:06 AM #17
    Phathak

    Phathak

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3930K (3200) Six Core
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX660Ti
    Hi,

    Anybody knows the BIOS settings for F12 and the Clover settings?

    Thank you
     
  8. YYR123

    YYR123

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    251
    Mobo:
    GA-X79-UD5
    CPU:
    E5-2687W
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX-760
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 23, 2016 at 6:48 AM #18
    YYR123

    YYR123

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    251
    Mobo:
    GA-X79-UD5
    CPU:
    E5-2687W
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX-760
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yeah I would like bios settings also. Guess I will keep searching
     
  9. gabrieljsmith1

    gabrieljsmith1

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Dec 2, 2016 at 11:38 PM #19
    gabrieljsmith1

    gabrieljsmith1

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Used the latest known BIOS, not the beta version tho. Also I recently updated to Clover for this mainboard (so I can booth with Samsung SM951),and made a post with a step by step.
     

Share This Page