Contribute
Register

Gigabyte X299X - Catalina Support

Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
80
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Sorry to hear you're having issues overclocking.

Is anyone else overclocking their system? I'm just bought the Designare 10G + 10980XE and definitely hope to overclock if I can.
I will be doing so soon. I also have the Designare and the 10980XE, planning to put it under water to see how far I can get, OC wise. I'll probably post updates here if I get the build up and running and when the OC is finished.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
146
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I will be doing so soon. I also have the Designare and the 10980XE, planning to put it under water to see how far I can get, OC wise. I'll probably post updates here if I get the build up and running and when the OC is finished.
OK cool. I'll do the same. I got the Cooler Master ML360R MasterLiquid 360mm AIO radiator so hopefully I have some thermal headroom to get a decent all-core clock, assuming this works OK for macOS.

My system comes tomorrow and I'll update once I've got macOS booted and somewhat stable and am ready to start an OC.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
80
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Mine is the X299X Designare and I guess from your signature you have the Z390 Designare? I don't know how those differ exactly but hopefully we can get similar results.
That's my current system. I'm moving from that one to a Designare X299X, same as you. I have most of the components ready but am currently waiting for a better power supply, given that an OC'd 10980XE can pull up 500 Watts by itself.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
146
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yeah sorry I realised a few minutes later the Z390 doesn't even support the 10980XE :)

Yeah I heard about it reaching up to 500W. I'm going to start with a 1KW PSU, re-using the eVGA G1 80+ Gold I'm currently using in my old X58 legacy system (which I'll downgrade to 750W). I'm hoping 1KW will be enough for an OC, as I'll only have one GPU.

Fingers crossed we can get some decent OC action on this setup! I was pretty pleased with the 4.3Ghz I managed on my Xeon X5670 on X58, but that's 10 years old now and I don't have any experience OCing anything newer.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,228
Motherboard
Gigabyte Vision D
CPU
10850
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Hi, Yes sorry my sig changes too often so a bit lazy to adjust it every time. But yes the BIOS profile can be used on X299X Aurus Master with BIOS F3d. And the EFI folder too. Also this: "rtcfx_exclude=00-FF" can be removed as I have RTCfix enabled in OpenCore same config file. The rtcfx_exclude=00-FF was just for testing to see where the part was to reset BIOS. And as without it and the BIOS profile used I did not have one time a BIOS error nor failure.

I have used this with 3 machines same board same CPU and they all work fine. It is important that when you have OSX running and all work is done to reset NVRAM from OpenCore once and then select in OSX system-prefs the OSX boot disk for booting. It will be stored in NVRAM and stay's there next time and so on. Only once and then just use your machine.

Good luck.

<deleted>
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
146
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi all

I've got my new Designare 10G + 10980XE system and thanks to @dolgarrenan 's post and provided EFI I've got it booted in macOS 10.15.7 using OpenCore 0.6.2 and mostly usable. Unfortunately there's a couple of major issues I've not yet been able to figure out. The most urgent of these is lack of onboard USB:

EDIT: FIXED! I don't yet know what fixed it, but I installed @beltzak 's BIOS config and now it works! I'll leave the following in case anyone else has the same problem.

No onboard USB port, or on my case (connected to MB USB headers) works for any device. No light on the mouse or keyboard, USB drives not detected.

In order to even be able to login, I had to add a spare USB3 PCIe card (with FL1100 USB chipset). The four USB3 ports on the extra card do work fine.

In System Information, USB shows this (the USB 3.0 hub with two devices is the one on the PCIe card):


Under PCI I can see the USB controller, but it shows that no Driver is loaded:


The screenshot shows that the ASMedia USB 3.2 Type-C bus does have a driver loaded, and I think this corresponds to the F_U32C port on the motherboard, which I've connected to my case's USB 3.2 C port. But I won't have an adapter to test that port until tomorrow.

I'm running OpenCore 0.6.2 using @dolgarrenan 's EFI from the first post, with minor config updates for 0.6.2. I am booting my existing 10.15.7 install from SATA3 SSD. I also updated some Kexts (Lilu, WhateverGreen, VirtualSMC, SMCSuperIO and SMCProcessor) but the problem was the same before and after that. I am running all the SSDTs provided in the EFI OC.zip in the OP, except the one for 5700XT GPU.

I have tested BIOS versions F3B and F3C, with F3C currently installed. For both I used dolgarrenan's config file from the first post.

I searched this thread and found a post from @Walterfilms where he said he had no USB on one occasion and had to reset CMOS and NVRAM, so I've tried both multiple times without any luck.

I'm quite confused because I'm using the exact SSDTs provided in the OP and they seem to work for other people? This is the first time I've ever had USB problems in a Hack so I'm not exactly sure what to try next.

If anyone knows what might be wrong and has any suggestions, I'd be really grateful. Thanks in advance!

Attached: my current OC 0.6.2 EFI folder, and the output of IoReg 2.1 when booted in macOS 10.15.7

My current setup:

> macOS 10.15.7
> OpenCore 0.6.2 using dolgarrenan's EFI from the first post, with minor config updates for 0.6.2
> Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G with BIOS F3C (also tested BIOS F3B)
> Intel 10980XE
> 128GB DDR4 RAM
> AMD Vega 64 8GB in PCIe slot 1
> 500GB SATA3 SSD in SATA port 4
> 2TB Adata NVMe (currently blank) in port M2P
> No overclock, all Tweaking settings on AUTO, and XMP currently disabled.
 

Attachments

  • ioreg.Designare10G.10980XE.10.15.7.NoOnboardUSB.ioreg
    8.8 MB · Views: 6
  • EFI.TheBloke.NoUSBNoNetwork.zip
    4.7 MB · Views: 17
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
146
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Just to expand on my edit to my previous post: I still need to investigate exactly what changed, but as soon as I installed @beltzak 's BIOS F3C config file, my onboard USB started working fine.

And so did my Ethernet, which had also been broken: I had only one of the two NICs detected, and it showed a MAC address of 00:00:00:00:00 and always showed cable unplugged. This was fixed as soon as I booted with beltzak's BIOS.

This is a huge relief, so thanks so much beltzak for posting that config. I'm going to trawl through the differences to work out what might have caused such a big difference for me. The only thing I can immediately see that's different is that you had Above 4G and VT-D enabled, which I'd left disabled as per dolgerran's config.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
146
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I've been working on overclocking my Designare 10G + 10980XE, using OpenCore 0.6.2 to boot macOS 10.15.7.

Short summary is that I do seem to have a working all-core overclock at 4.6Ghz, booted into macOS and running OK, including some mild load testing with Cinebench.

It's only preliminary, as I've not yet tried to push the overclock any further, and haven't done much stress testing. Also I'm currently only able to run with dual-channel RAM because two of my 32GB DDR4 DIMMs turned out to have a shedload of errors. I've got some new DIMMs arriving tomorrow so hopefully I'll then be able to test quad-channel, at which point I'll post my first overclock findings and settings.

I'm posting now because I've found a weird issue that I'm wondering if anyone else has seen, and which I think I should warn any new users about:

When overclocking, booting OpenCore after going into the BIOS menus is causing boot failure 100% of the time, and causes my overclock / CPU voltage settings to be reset.

This caused me a lot of confusion for a while, and really slowed my testing until I figured out what was happening:
  1. If I boot without first hitting Delete to go into the BIOS, OpenCore is able to launch macOS fine. I've tested this 10 times in a row to be certain, testing both reboots and shutdown.
  2. But if I first go into the BIOS and then later boot OpenCore without rebooting in between, my system will power down early in the OpenCore process. OpenCore will display its initial boot messages up to and including "EXITBS:START", then the system will immediately power down and then boot up again.
    1. This happens if I go into the BIOS and then select OpenCore's EFI from the Boot Override menu,
    2. and it happens if I go into the BIOS then "Exit without saving", letting the EFI entry boot after the BIOS exits.
  3. When the system comes back up, I will find that my current CPU/RAM status has reset to default:
    1. RAM will be running at 1.2V and 2666Mhz (ignoring XMP)
    2. CPU will be running at 1.0V and 3.8ghz (ignoring any CPU overclock settings)
  4. My actual BIOS settings will still be correct, creating a weird situation where my BIOS settings say one thing, but the current CPU/RAM status (as shown on the right of the BIOS screens) has totally different values.
  5. When the system comes back up I need to go into the BIOS again and hit F10 to re-save my existing settings (which I haven't changed, I'm just re-applying them). After it reboots I'll be back to the correct CPU and RAM voltage and speeds.
  6. Note that I only have one EFI partition accessible (OpenCore on a USB drive), so this is not related to the BIOS issue where having multiple EFI boot partitions causes boot failure.

I've had this happen in both BIOS F3B and F3C. I'm currently on F3B because in F3C I was getting those weird issues where the BIOS would sometimes reset and go into French (it happened to me twice when I was trying to Load Profile.)

But even in F3B, this issue described above still exists.

I have no idea if this is a BIOS issue or an OpenCore issue, or some mis-configuration. If I had to guess I'd say it's a BIOS issue, because this BIOS has so many issues! I don't understand what the difference is between booting directly into OpenCore versus doing so after the BIOS has loaded. But clearly there is some difference, at least when overclock settings are applied.

Anyway, once you know about the issue it isn't a huge deal. You just need to remember that any time you go into the BIOS, never start the boot process into OpenCore. If you changed nothing in the BIOS, either hit F10 to force a save and reboot, or else just power down and up again so the boot can happen without the BIOS being loaded.

Besides that weird issue that cost me a lot of time, otherwise the overclocking seems to be going OK. I'll report in that on more detail tomorrow or Sunday, once I'm back on a quad-channel setup.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299x Designare 10G
CPU
i9 10940x
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just to expand on my edit to my previous post: I still need to investigate exactly what changed, but as soon as I installed @beltzak 's BIOS F3C config file, my onboard USB started working fine.
I am so sorry for not answering and not following neither investigating and trying to fix issues with you mates. I am still far from home home and my hackintosh build, the only I thing I can be sure that it has not had any kernel panic nor unexpected shutdowns since 16th august which is a big relieve ;) Sometimes I need to enter that computer to check some things.

TheBloke I have those settings enabled in case I decide to install windows in the future and as they can be disabled by OpenCore I followed my rule of maximize Bios compatibility and specify down the road, in this case, through OpenCore.

About Bios Failure I have had those since day 1. Never tried to overclock so If you did not have those issues before using my bios settings or config.plist you could make happy some people if you be able to fix that bloody issue.

If I recall correctly Gogeta commented some option in OpenCore 0.6.2 to fix those issue that I have not been able to fix or check because I am far from home and still will be.

Cheers, take care!
 
Top