Contribute
Register

Gigabyte X299X - Catalina Support

Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
396
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@dolgarrenan I don't suppose you still have a copy of the original thunderbolt firmware from the X299X motherboard rather than the TB3 AIC....

I'd like to flash my board back to original, but I downgraded my laptop back to 10.15 and lost the original firmware I had saved.
There you go :thumbup:
 

Attachments

  • Thunderbolt-DSG10G.bin.zip
    269.8 KB · Views: 84
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
Asus Z370-a Prime
CPU
I7-8700
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Many many thanks! I'll definitely keep an eye on this as in the future I'd like to revert back to those thunderbolt mods.. though at this point in time I've a TB3 monitor. see what unfolds in the near future.

in the mean time, I've bought the base model Mac Pro 7,1...
geez that 580x sucks... such a compromise.. I'll keep hackintoshing too though.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
50
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299x Designare 10G
CPU
i9 10940x
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi. This weekend I plugged the DW1820A I bought to replace the motherboard wifi+bluetooth and also changed to Open Core using Dolgarreran EFI. Checked almost everything, changed the System to iMac Pro 1.1 and boot successfully. I have the AMD Radeon VII in the PCI Slot M.2@163,3,0. And I want to change it.

What is the best tutorial you guys have for learning IOExplorer and how to change those settings. I remember following a guide step by step but it was the same changes as the guide. I wan't to know how to do it myself. Maybe there is a new guide in the Open Core website. I saw the USB mapping guide and looks pretty good.

The only issue I have is that if I left TransmissionBT running more than an hour my Finder and most of the services as networking get stuck and frozen. I can't even restart the system. Weird.

Thanks.
 

Ellybz

Retired
Joined
Apr 16, 2017
Messages
418
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 WU-8
CPU
I9-7980Xe
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi. This weekend I plugged the DW1820A I bought to replace the motherboard wifi+bluetooth and also changed to Open Core using Dolgarreran EFI. Checked almost everything, changed the System to iMac Pro 1.1 and boot successfully. I have the AMD Radeon VII in the PCI Slot M.2@163,3,0. And I want to change it.

What is the best tutorial you guys have for learning IOExplorer and how to change those settings. I remember following a guide step by step but it was the same changes as the guide. I wan't to know how to do it myself. Maybe there is a new guide in the Open Core website. I saw the USB mapping guide and looks pretty good.
If it is only a matter of cosmetic issue, I suggest you to use device properties in OpenCore vs SSDTs ( old school ).
Very simple and effective. You'll need Hackintool: PCIe section. Look for your device, right click to copy the device path and report the elements inside OC /DeviceProperties. If you want to add some vendor ID or other fields, you'll find them with IOReg. Check the exemples below and you should be all :thumbup:.

Screen Shot 2020-07-25 at 12.28.18.png


Screen Shot 2020-07-25 at 12.45.57.png


Screen Shot 2020-007-25 AT 12.48.01.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
50
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299x Designare 10G
CPU
i9 10940x
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hi i don't want to read 40 pages if i don't have to
but if i have to then i will

Bios Failure Everywhere, has been posted several times, there are some quirks ... use just one drive or just when you get bios failure enter bios and boot from the clover boot disk "do no change anything in the bios" or it won't work.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
50
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299x Designare 10G
CPU
i9 10940x
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
All those with BIOS Failure can check and confirm if they have VT-D Disabled and if they Enabled and use in OpenCore:
  • DisableIoMapper quirk enabled, or VT-d disabled in firmware settings if present, or ACPI DMAR table dropped.

My Bios Failure has gone. Now I can boot macOS with wake on lan unattended ;) I have been like 2 days testings things.

Also I tried to setup a OC 0.5.9 with no joy. Still using dolgarrenan EFI

Also thanks Ellybz for this post. Did what you show me, so easy lol ;)

If it is only a matter of cosmetic issue, I suggest you to use device properties in OpenCore vs SSDTs ( old school ).
Very simple and effective. You'll need Hackintool: PCIe section. Look for your device, right click to copy the device path and report the elements inside OC /DeviceProperties. If you want to add some vendor ID or other fields, you'll find them with IOReg. Check the exemples below and you should be all :thumbup:.

Next big thing is getting USB mapping before the next Big Sur comes home ;)

Cheers all!
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
396
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
All those with BIOS Failure can check and confirm if they have VT-D Disabled and if they Enabled and use in OpenCore:
  • DisableIoMapper quirk enabled, or VT-d disabled in firmware settings if present, or ACPI DMAR table dropped.

My Bios Failure has gone. Now I can boot macOS with wake on lan unattended ;) I have been like 2 days testings things.

Also I tried to setup a OC 0.5.9 with no joy. Still using dolgarrenan EFI

Also thanks Ellybz for this post. Did what you show me, so easy lol ;)



Next big thing is getting USB mapping before the next Big Sur comes home ;)

Cheers all!
How are you migrating to 0.5.9? Many users make the mistake of migrating copy/paste all of their EFI files and that's an error (don't know if that's your case), OC .plist should be the one provided with OC build, OpenRuntime should also match OC version, otherwise you'll get errors at boot.

Make sure you have the right set of kext and do a CleanNVRAM on boot.

Since you mentioned you haven't had an issue with BIOS failure, can you tell me how are testing 0.5.9? Are you swapping EFIs on main OS drive or you are trying to boot from USB with OC from BIOS boot menu?

The more info we have on how to avoid the s***id BIOS failure the better!
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
50
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299x Designare 10G
CPU
i9 10940x
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Lol Thank you dolgarrenan, I can not thank you enough for everything, but yes. I started from scratch, no copy/paste, new Kexts, following the guide but I think I made a mistake I have to follow the High Desktop Skylake-X guide and followed the Comet lake, then I also compared with your config.plist, I read the Configuration.pdf and so on ;) I took my time because it's the only way that I could learn.

What I copy and pasted is the SSDT and the bloody 70 Patch you got there ... what an incredible work. Did you use ssdtimer or something like that or is that manually?

OC 0.5.9 in a USB pendrive.

Ok I am going to explain a bit better. I have been messing a lot with the Bios. I need to put this machine to be able to switch it on with wake on lan. So once I had OpenCore working after I broke it I had to remove agdpmod=pikera (only navi gpu) so my monitor does not go to sleep ( I changed to MacPro7,1 from iMacPro1,1). One of the things I found that in C state in AUTO does not boot either at least with my config (has to be 6).

So the recommended guides suggest to disable VT-D from bios, but if do that the Bios always gives a Bios Failure. Even if I cleared nvram ( every time I restarted and changed from OpenCore to Clover and viceversa). So with Bios Failure I cannot wake on lan, because you need to f**** enter in the bios and boot from that drive. So when I enabled it the warning was gone. Now I need to test thoroughly but after 2 days lost with this "issue" I thought I could ask in the forum if someone else got the same experience.

The Bios Failure is gone with your 0.5.8 OC EFI and VT-D enabled in the bios (need to disable in the config.plist).
My 0.5.9 get's stuck just in the first screen were just a few lines appear and after should blink and start the whole mac boot so it must be a stupid mistake I did.

Will try to fix it myself and share here if I am successful ;)
 
Top