Contribute
Register

Gigabyte X299X - Catalina Support

Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
X299X Designare 10G
CPU
I9-9980XE
Graphics
RX5700XT, Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
I know, I have been real busy with work and this whole covid ordeal, my country has severely implemented rules for social distancing and I eventually have more real life work than usual, so less time to post here.

Tbh I have not experienced this with TB displays, I do not own one. I can tell you that I have tried several other devices included an Apollo x8, Apollo twin, TB1 HDD with TB3 adapter, a Razer Core X eGPU I own and Thunderbolt external drive to a MacBook Pro 16,1 over TB3 with no issues.
I have to say that I first had to connect the eGPU on cold boot to be recognized correctly, then I could just HotPlug no probs.

Have you set the SSDT correctly with DROM parameters and so? What can you see on port7 for TB on device tree (use ioreg)? Can you show a screen capture of your Thunderbolt section in system profiler?

I'm always happy when I get your answer. After looking at the guide, I created a unique number for the DROM and entered it into the SSDT after CRC-8 Check-sum. All the other Thunderbolt features, including hotplug, work surprisingly well. However, it does not seem to be able to receive two Displayport inputs and convert them to 5k with one Thunderbolt output terminal. I am using LG 34WK95U 5K monitor 5140x2160 resolution. Currently, it does not function, so I use SwitchResX to force it to use 5140x2160 45Hz. If you have time, please find a way to use the better Thunderbolt.
 

Attachments

  • 스크린샷 2020-05-28 오후 6.15.46.png
    스크린샷 2020-05-28 오후 6.15.46.png
    32.2 KB · Views: 31
  • 스크린샷 2020-05-28 오후 6.16.16.png
    스크린샷 2020-05-28 오후 6.16.16.png
    141.4 KB · Views: 26
  • 스크린샷 2020-05-28 오후 6.17.01.png
    스크린샷 2020-05-28 오후 6.17.01.png
    50.2 KB · Views: 25
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
397
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Has anyone come up with a solution for sleep? With all this corona going on you would think people would have more time to support the movement.
Unfortunately some of us have even more work with COVID still running, let me tell you that sleep has never been a strong point of hackintosh in general, I have no problems with sleep at the moment, can you check if your NVRAM is properly working? Are you on OC or clover? Also bear in mind the terrible work at Gigabyte with the new X299X boards and their acpi implementation.

NOTE:
Code:
sudo -s
sudo nvram -c
sudo nvram myvar=test
exit
Reboot and then run:
Code:
nvram -p | grep -i myvar
If nothing returns then your NVRAM is not working most likely
Hi

I suggest
Please someone create a new thread just for the X299X Aorus Master

Thanks
You could do that yourself if you are so inclined to, I don't see why not, but let me just advise you out of some time I've been around that it will not solve your issues, whatever they are, it will only make your post less visible if. It is always better not to clutter up the site (slower loading and so), that's just my honest opinion.

This post is not a "guide" is a post for users of Gigabyte X299X boards, for their problems and achievements
 
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Aorus Master
CPU
10980 XE
Graphics
Sapphire 5700 XT Nitro+
I'm very much stuck folks. I have tried OC 0.5.6 as suggested as well as really everything else, including trying Clover. Every single time I boot to my USB stick I get a menu, then in about 5 seconds the computer restarts. Doesn't matter what my BIOS is set up like, I've tried everything from Default to changing every setting recommended, never any difference. I'm pulling my hair out. Here are my EFI files and some images of what's happening with OC. Any advice would be appreciated.

I build all the SSDTs using the guide on Github and I'm sure I followed all the steps, I'm really just lost now.

I've only ever gotten past this point using the NDK 0.5.9 posted in the X299 thread by Ellybz, but that just gets to the Apple logo and hangs.
 

Attachments

  • 0.5.6 EFI.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 16
  • IMG_7138.jpg
    IMG_7138.jpg
    194 KB · Views: 21
  • DSDT.aml
    264.8 KB · Views: 12
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
462
Motherboard
gigabyte x299x designare 10g
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 XT 8 GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Unfortunately some of us have even more work with COVID still running, let me tell you that sleep has never been a strong point of hackintosh in general, I have no problems with sleep at the moment, can you check if your NVRAM is properly working? Are you on OC or clover? Also bear in mind the terrible work at Gigabyte with the new X299X boards and their acpi implementation.

NOTE:
Code:
sudo -s
sudo nvram -c
sudo nvram myvar=test
exit
Reboot and then run:
Code:
nvram -p | grep -i myvar
If nothing returns then your NVRAM is not working most likely

You could do that yourself if you are so inclined to, I don't see why not, but let me just advise you out of some time I've been around that it will not solve your issues, whatever they are, it will only make your post less visible if. It is always better not to clutter up the site (slower loading and so), that's just my honest opinion.

This post is not a "guide" is a post for users of Gigabyte X299X boards, for their problems and achievements
Oh I get it! I run 6 businesses solo, so I get that. But with the sleep issue it’s not a huge issue but with my master it is fully native. It can sleep, wake, update like a regular Mac. But I believe the ACPI needs A LOT more work (delete unused etc would need to be use with a full DSDT). That’s pretty much the last part to making this damn near fully functional.
 

Ellybz

Retired
Joined
Apr 16, 2017
Messages
413
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 WU-8
CPU
I9-7980Xe
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Are you saying not to use that port? ACPI, DSDT, USBMapping need a makeover. But so far x299x work great
Are you saying not to use that port? ACPI, DSDT, USBMapping need a makeover. But so far x299x work great
Have you tried the quirk "AppleXcpmCfgLock; set to YES. That is the only way Sleep with work 100% on my GA Mobo.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
397
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Have you tried the quirk "AppleXcpmCfgLock; set to YES. That is the only way Sleep with work 100% on my GA Mobo.
Hello mister, long time!

I'd say there is no need, at least on my X299X DSG CFG Lock needs not to be disabled nor CfgLock quirks. Perhaps the issue lies somewhere within the actual firmware of the board, Giga has made a mess with these boards :lol: .
Are you saying not to use that port? ACPI, DSDT, USBMapping need a makeover. But so far x299x work great
Which port do you mean exactly? Sleep issues are very related to XCHI, if that is what you mean then it might be a thing to properly check.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
50
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299x Designare 10G
CPU
i9 10940x
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

OMG I can confirm this. I unplugged the cable from this port and no more Bios Failure. I tried 4 times and none of them gave Bios Failure neither Clover reboots.
 

Attachments

  • 2020-05-28-6-09-07-png.472075.png
    2020-05-28-6-09-07-png.472075.png
    933.3 KB · Views: 66
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
397
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
OMG I can confirm this. I unplugged the cable from this port and no more Bios Failure. I tried 4 times and none of them gave Bios Failure neither Clover reboots.
I have nothing attached to the internal 3.2 Type-C and issues still persist, I only had BIOS failure with this port and a Phanteks Evolve X, for some reason the port was messing around with the board, now the build runs in another case without USB-C front port.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
50
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299x Designare 10G
CPU
i9 10940x
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have nothing attached to the internal 3.2 Type-C and issues still persist, I only had BIOS failure with this port and a Phanteks Evolve X, for some reason the port was messing around with the board, now the build runs in another case without USB-C front port.

Do you mean this issues? I have not tested throughly but I was seeing this same failure a 99% of the time and after unplugging the cable I got 0 messages. I booted, nothing, restarted two times, and no failure message. Maybe I spook too soon.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2041.jpg
    IMG_2041.jpg
    307 KB · Views: 43
Top