Contribute
Register

Gigabyte H270N-WIFI /Intel HD630 / i5-7600 Kaby Lake running Sierra

Status
Not open for further replies.

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,778
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Attached config if anyone would care to comment on what is wrong.
Perhaps you are not booting with the config.plist that you think you are.
To test toggle the verbose mode on or off and see if it changes when you boot.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
52
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 TUF MARK 2
CPU
I5-7600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK
I'm a bit lost now, if my boot disc has the EFI with the Clover/config.plist in it why does it not boot, but it does from F10/Clover.

funny thing is that it worked fine with the Skylake chip, but not with the Kaby. The only change I have made is the spoof 0x0506E3

Sorry for the noob question, I have been trying to get this to work for about a week now :(
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,778
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK
I'm a bit lost now, if my boot disc has the EFI with the Clover/config.plist in it why does it not boot, but it does from F10/Clover.

funny thing is that it worked fine with the Skylake chip, but not with the Kaby. The only change I have made is the spoof 0x0506E3

Sorry for the noob question, I have been trying to get this to work for about a week now :(
Perhaps you have somehow installed in both UEFI and Legacy modes.
When you install in UEFI mode the /EFI folder is on the EFI partition.
When you install in Legacy mode the /EFI folder is located in the root of your system drive.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
52
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 TUF MARK 2
CPU
I5-7600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well if I put the Skylake chip back in everything boots fine, as soon as I put the Kabylake chip in I have to hit F10/Clover and input the spoof :banghead::banghead:

it seems as if the spoof in my config is not being read, does it have to be at the top of the config.plist ????
 
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
57
Motherboard
GA-H270N-WIFI
CPU
i5-7600
Graphics
Intel HD 630 / GEFORCE 1050ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
How are you getting to your configure file? Are you pulling it directly from the EFI partition?
If not, that is not the correct config file.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
52
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 TUF MARK 2
CPU
I5-7600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi phlydude

if you mean the config.plist I posted further up, then yes, it is from my Boot disc/Efi/Efi folder which I mount with clover configurator.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
97
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
RX 580 + GTX 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@phlydude firstly, thanks bro.
I made this build with a little differences. Like no broadcam wifi/bt card yet. And nvidia 1050.
Bro. I am so new but I am gettin' pretty good at this. And I think my hardware not work perfectly.
Not give a full performance.
How can I sure my hw performance ?
 
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
57
Motherboard
GA-H270N-WIFI
CPU
i5-7600
Graphics
Intel HD 630 / GEFORCE 1050ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
the best way is to run some geekbench4 and cinemark tests to see how they compare against other builds with similar hardware
If you have a dual partition and have installed Windows as well, you can compare the Windows stats on Geekbench to the the stats on OSX
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
59
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iMac
  3. LC
  4. Performa
  5. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
can you update this guide at all for 10.12.6 . ? i am stuck at install still, and can not figure out why.... Thinking of starting fresh
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top