Contribute
Register

Gigabyte B550 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + AMD Ryzen 7 3700X + AMD RX 5600 XT

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,019
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ and everyone
First of all, thanks for this tremendous guide! It really is thoroughly written and easy to understand even for newbies like me.

Around July I bought this motherboard as well as the 5900x, rx6800xt, broadcom card, and bunch of hardware mentioned in the 1st page. I even bought the CH341a cause i want the full thunderbolt bus working. However, the website that I bought from didn't really update the naming of the board, and I only realize I got the D-P board after it arrived my place. I'm going to try the guide first, if it doesn't work I will have to switch to windows for the time being unfortunately.

My hardware list as below:
MB: B550 vision D-P
CPU: 5900x
Ram: ballistix DDR4-3600mhz 16GB x4
SSD: Aorus Gen4 7000s 1TB
GPU: 5700xt reference (I'm using this GPU from my previous z390 build to test it out first, since i know it works flawlessly)

because it is a D-P board, I would love to get a double confirm from you guys just so I didn't miss any of the steps.
I have been reading the post from page 90 sth and i know i need to update the config.plist and include the realtek kext into the EFI folder.
Since I'm going for a fresh install, I grabbed the 0.7.2 opencore folder, put in the lucy realtek kexts, enabled it from the 12-core config, and also copied the device properties from the 0.7.0 config from #946.
And since I'm going to use my old 5700xt to test out the system before i put in the 6800xt, I also enabled the 5700xt aml.
The config.plist is attached.

Also, should I be using the F2 BIOS or the newest F12 BIOS for the D-P board? I'm going to disable resize BAR anyway.

Thanks for the helps!
Hello @issssac,

We've had some chronic problems with Thunderbolt on the B550 Vision D-P. We were never able to get working/reliable Thunderbolt. An alternative would be the Gigabyte X570S Aero with an add-in Thunderbolt card.

However, you're welcome to experiment with the B550 Vision D-P.

Regarding BIOS, it's okay to start with F12 (with Resizable BAR turned off) and iterate backwards to F2 if problems persist.

Because of the relatively high level of interest in the B550 Vision D-P, please keep us updated on your progress. We'll try to help you as much as we can.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
135
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
5600X
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello @Vorshim92,

Before we even consider flashing the Thunderbolt firmware we should connect our Thunderbolt devices and see if they work. If they work well enough, it is much better to keep the original firmware.

We flash the firmware for some specific devices that (a) don't work at all or (b) work poorly with the original firmware. Some of these devices are listed in this post.
Right now it works, also with hot-plug so it's OK. The only problem is that DTPG.aml, that makes ho-tplug working through the SSDT, it breaks my shutdown. That is not a huge problem because I can force the shutdown

Meantime, can I ask if you have ever take a look to the Thunderbolt firmware of an XPS 13 Dell with DSL6340 Alpine Ridge 2C 2015?
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Asus z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
rx5700xt
Hello again, I just installed the Big Sur 11.5.1 into the new machine; the installation went pretty smoothly. BTW, I'm using f11 BIOS, cause it just comes with it, and I cannot download the F12 BIOS from the Gigabyte website for whatever reason.

WiFi, Bluetooth, airdrop, every USB-A port, works.

And most importantly, the Thunderbolt port itself works!
It didn't show up in the system info PCI page as a thunderbolt device though, it shows in USB as a USB 3.1 bus. Both of the ports work like this. I have tried plugging in my G-drive mobile SSD in it, and I can read the files. I can eject it, and I even tried to unplug it without ejecting from finder. All works.
I also tested out the speed of it. I check it by BlackMagic disk speed test, got around 200MB write, 500MB read speed.

Also, the graphics page shows up as RX 5000 series card, but in my previous build it shows up as RX 5700 XT. Is it normal?

Screen Shot 2021-08-11 at 2.58.24 AM.png

Screen Shot 2021-08-11 at 3.03.44 AM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Asus z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
rx5700xt
yup, just tried to plug in my thunderbolt 3 dock (belkin express dock) and old thunderbolt 2 hdd(WD my book thunderbolt 2 duo) in, both didn't work. :(
gonna try something more tomorrow. Do anyone knows IF i flash my thunderbolt firmware, is it gonna make this port cannot work as a usb-c port?

I'm really surprise that it can work as a usb-c port, I thought it was like the whole port doesn't work no matter what you plugged in. I think i can live with that at the time to be honest.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,019
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yup, just tried to plug in my thunderbolt 3 dock (belkin express dock) and old thunderbolt 2 hdd(WD my book thunderbolt 2 duo) in, both didn't work. :(
gonna try something more tomorrow.

But I'm surprise that it can work as a usb-c port, I thought it was like the whole port doesn't work no matter what you plugged in. I think i can live with that at the time to be honest.
Good job in building the system and installing macOS Big Sur!! Alas, as we suspected, Thunderbolt is a problem on this board with macOS. But at least you can connect USB 3.x devices to the two Thunderbolt ports.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,019
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Right now it works, also with hot-plug so it's OK. The only problem is that DTPG.aml, that makes ho-tplug working through the SSDT, it breaks my shutdown. That is not a huge problem because I can force the shutdown
SSDT-DTPG has not been known to prevent shutdown on any motherboard so far. Can you please post a screenshot of OpenCore Configurator showing the ACPI page of your config.plist?

Meantime, can I ask if you have ever take a look to the Thunderbolt firmware of an XPS 13 Dell with DSL6340 Alpine Ridge 2C 2015?
We generally avoid modifying the firmware of Alpine Ridge controllers because Thunderbolt Bus can often be enabled with just a very special SSDT. We have a repository of those SSDTs here:
Just to reiterate: If the Thunderbolt devices we have are working with standard (original) firmware, then it's not advisable to flash the firmware (Titan Ridge) or use a special SSDT (Alpine Ridge).
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
283
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yup, just tried to plug in my thunderbolt 3 dock (belkin express dock) and old thunderbolt 2 hdd(WD my book thunderbolt 2 duo) in, both didn't work. :(
gonna try something more tomorrow. Do anyone knows IF i flash my thunderbolt firmware, is it gonna make this port cannot work as a usb-c port?

I'm really surprise that it can work as a usb-c port, I thought it was like the whole port doesn't work no matter what you plugged in. I think i can live with that at the time to be honest.

@issssac

EDIT: I see you have a B550 Vision D-P board so my flashing and BIOS comments don't apply.

If you have a B550 Vision D board, I'm using BIOS F10 without issues and plan to stick with it. I have also successfully flashed my Thunderbolt chip per CaseySJ's guides. I can confirm that the TB ports do act as USB-C ports as well.

I plugged a Samsung T5 SSD into a TB port, and it showed up on the USB3.1 Bus as yours did.
System USB.png
Flashing the TB chip can be time consuming, and nerve wracking. When successful the PCI report shows TB in all its glory, and the TB3 devices I have used work well. :) Good luck with whatever you decide to do with TB.

System PCI.png
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Asus z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
rx5700xt
Hi @CaseySJ, i was reading the replies again and trying to learn from what you have change with the config.plist of D-P board, would you mind uploading the config.plist or the whole EFI folder you mentioned in this post at #1054?
Many thanks!
OpenCore 0.7.1 for B550 Vision D-P is available now from HackinDROM App.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,019
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ, i was reading the replies again and trying to learn from what you have change with the config.plist of D-P board, would you mind uploading the config.plist or the whole EFI folder you mentioned in this post at #1054?
Many thanks!
OpenCore 0.7.2 for the B550 Vision D-P is now available on HackinDROM App (0.7.2 may appear at the bottom of the list). HackinDROM will automatically detect the number of physical CPU cores on your system. Always check/confirm that the right value is selected because the latest AMD-OSX kernel patches will fail if we specify an incorrect core count.

Screen Shot 2021-08-11 at 1.45.01 PM.png
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Asus z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
rx5700xt
OpenCore 0.7.2 for the B550 Vision D-P is now available on HackinDROM App (0.7.2 may appear at the bottom of the list). HackinDROM will automatically detect the number of physical CPU cores on your system. Always check/confirm that the right value is selected because the latest AMD-OSX kernel patches will fail if we specify an incorrect core count.

Thanks! I just tried it, it boots, but is the i225v ethernet not in device properties? it didn't show up in system info, in system preference-> network there is a PCI ethernet slot Internal@0,1,2/0,2/9,0/0,0. I plugged in a ethernet cable, it shows as self-assigned IP, and after a while, it go black screen and reboot. I did tried to add it in device properties, but it didn't work, it shows up in sys info but not in system preference-> network.

I attached my PCIdevice list and config.plist below, please help and take a look, thanks ahead!

Screen Shot 2021-08-12 at 1.55.00 PM.pngScreen Shot 2021-08-12 at 1.58.19 PM.png
 

Attachments

  • PCIdevices.zip
    10.5 KB · Views: 21
  • config-issssac-20210812.plist
    50.4 KB · Views: 20
Top