Contribute
Register

Gigabyte B550 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + AMD Ryzen 7 3700X + AMD RX 5600 XT

Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
334
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ after many months of ignoring the step in your instructions for making a backup, I finally did so. I'm using an external USB 3.1 Gen 2 enclosure for an M2 SSD. This mydigitalssd M2X, to be precise. I have not yet attempted to boot directly from the M2 itself (i.e., removing from the enclosure and installing in one of the two M2 slots on my B550). But I have attempted to select the "EFI" showing up on my OpenCore boot selection when the M2 enclosure is connected to the USB-C port (XHC3.SSP1) - but it just went to black screen and never booted. Offhand do you think it should work directly from the M2? I'll try later tonight and see if it works, but I thought I'd ask, and maybe if there is anything that needs to be updated with the newest CCC version - I noticed the UI in the newer CCC has slightly different wording but the steps were still easy to follow.
@hoeveler

I'll butt in with suggestions. Yes, you should be able to boot from the USB3 enclosure if the clone has been properly created. Don't select the EFI in the OC picker, but the clone drive icon itself. The startup EFI has already been loaded when the OC picker is displayed.

I have found that the name of the cloned drive displayed in OC picker may be the same as the original source drive which is confusing.

Since you are using the latest CCC version you are using Big Sur, and CCC will not automatically clone the System folder on the first clone to the external drive. When setting up the new backup "Task" you must right-click on the destination drive icon and select "Legacy Bootable Backup Assistant..." then in the displayed window select to let CCC erase the external backup drive. When the task is run the first time the external drive gets the System folder cloned to it. (All of this is explained in the well-written CCC help files.)

You may have done the first clone properly if the icon for the external drive is displayed in the OC picker.

I hope that helps a little.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2016
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@hoeveler

I'll butt in with suggestions. Yes, you should be able to boot from the USB3 enclosure if the clone has been properly created. Don't select the EFI in the OC picker, but the clone drive icon itself. The startup EFI has already been loaded when the OC picker is displayed.

I have found that the name of the cloned drive displayed in OC picker may be the same as the original source drive which is confusing.

Since you are using the latest CCC version you are using Big Sur, and CCC will not automatically clone the System folder on the first clone to the external drive. When setting up the new backup "Task" you must right-click on the destination drive icon and select "Legacy Bootable Backup Assistant..." then in the displayed window select to let CCC erase the external backup drive. When the task is run the first time the external drive gets the System folder cloned to it. (All of this is explained in the well-written CCC help files.)

You may have done the first clone properly if the icon for the external drive is displayed in the OC picker.

I hope that helps a little.
That helps a LOT. Thanks for the specifics about CCC.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
"I have found that the name of the cloned drive displayed in OC picker may be the same as the original source drive which is confusing."

well me too :D have 3 drives named big sur on oc 71 bootup now lol

I did the legacy back and now all my drives are he same name in OC They all boot on there own which is what i want...Any way to change the names though cause one of the back ups is just a spinning drive boy that takes forever to boot. With monetery coming i wanted a big sur main and back of that and then a extra drive for montery

@CaseySJ I have the new aero 570 gigabyte board in my backpack. Im going to install it tomorrow night. So where you do you want me to post stuff pertianing to it, in this thread? Might be a logical choice consider amd users are still looking for a fix for vision d-p thunderbolt

Im hoping my stock efi folder i have will work for the new aero board. What do you think? If I crash on mac os bootup what do i need to grab from you to send? Im planning on using my installed 11.5 already from the vision d-p

Im hoping the temps will be a bit lower in the 570 mobo.

someone mention they where goign to reach out to gigabyte on thunderbolt issue for vision d-p...any luck?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,797
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
"I have found that the name of the cloned drive displayed in OC picker may be the same as the original source drive which is confusing."

well me too :D have 3 drives named big sur on oc 71 bootup now lol

I did the legacy back and now all my drives are he same name in OC They all boot on there own which is what i want...Any way to change the names though cause one of the back ups is just a spinning drive boy that takes forever to boot. With monetery coming i wanted a big sur main and back of that and then a extra drive for montery
The drive labels that appear in OpenCore Picker can be changed. The procedure is documented here:
@CaseySJ I have the new aero 570 gigabyte board in my backpack. Im going to install it tomorrow night. So where you do you want me to post stuff pertianing to it, in this thread? Might be a logical choice consider amd users are still looking for a fix for vision d-p thunderbolt
It's okay to post initial findings/issues here, but we may need to start a new thread later on.

Im hoping my stock efi folder i have will work for the new aero board. What do you think? If I crash on mac os bootup what do i need to grab from you to send? Im planning on using my installed 11.5 already from the vision d-p
The USB port map will need to be changed. At first, however, we can disable the USB port SSDT, disable the USB port Kext, and enable XhciPortLimit in Kernel Quirks. This will enable all USB ports and allow you to map them later on. Mapping USB ports on an AMD motherboard is more complicated than Intel, however.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2016
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@byteminer thanks so much for the EFIClone - FYI I was trying to track back to your github from the info on the script, and I noticed you have your github username spelled incorrectly in the .sh file - kobaltkore vs kobaltcore.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,797
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** Monterey Public Beta #2 **
Gigabyte B550 Vision D​


And finally we have the patches! New patches will be included early next month with the EFI release for OpenCore 0.7.2.

Screen Shot 2021-07-27 at 12.22.05 PM.png



Update: Just a reminder to disable Wake for Network Access from System Preferences --> Energy Saver. Otherwise system will not enter sleep.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@CaseySJ

Ok my 570 aero -s board is running. Not very impressed with this board so far, its pretty similar to the vision d-p in term of temps and my alpine ridge card doesn't work(it doesnt say its supported which i knew) So ill try to buy a version 2 maple ridge add in card and see if that fixes things on thunderbolt end.

Few things to note, i can boot into 11.5 with the stock vision d-p efi. I lock up with that efi upon hitting restart. I tried to disable the usb ports as per your instructions in a second efi but there must be a different name then the the USB port SSDT name you used.. The network card doesn't work so probably you need to see what I have like on vison dp..I have attached the disabled usb ports and efi folder along with hackintool and ioreg for you to check out..

Im having the same isue with my rme ufx locking up after like 25 sec after boot. I may just have a corrupted file and have to reinstall mac os..not sure but it could be related to the usb ports???..before i do that i want to see what you think.


Please let me know when its easy to install monterey on amd....and speak of the devil :D

thanks
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    6.6 MB · Views: 26
  • iMac Pro.ioreg
    9.6 MB · Views: 22
  • info.txt
    2.5 KB · Views: 21

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,797
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ

Ok my 570 aero -s board is running. Not very impressed with this board so far, its pretty similar to the vision d-p in term of temps and my alpine ridge card doesn't work(it doesnt say its supported which i knew) So ill try to buy a version 2 maple ridge add in card and see if that fixes things on thunderbolt end.

Few things to note, i can boot into 11.5 with the stock vision d-p efi. I lock up with that efi upon hitting restart. I tried to disable the usb ports as per your instructions in a second efi but there must be a different name then the the USB port SSDT name you used.. The network card doesn't work so probably you need to see what I have like on vison dp..I have attached the disabled usb ports and efi folder along with hackintool and ioreg for you to check out..

Im having the same isue with my rme ufx locking up after like 25 sec after boot. I may just have a corrupted file and have to reinstall mac os..not sure but it could be related to the usb ports???..before i do that i want to see what you think.


Please let me know when its easy to install monterey on amd....and speak of the devil :D

thanks
Please try the attached config.plist. USB map and Thunderbolt have been disabled. All DeviceProperties have been deleted as well because they must be customized for each motherboard.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    61.2 KB · Views: 22
Top