Contribute
Register

Gigabyte 1156 BIOSes 2010-06 - Extract DSDTs [OLD]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS Gryphon Armor Edition TUF Z97
CPU
Core i7 4970
Graphics
Radeon 5600XT
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Re: Gigabyte 1156 BIOSes 2010-06 - Extract DSDTs for Database

tonymacx86 said:
setlursh said:
Hi tonymacx86 and MacMan,

Just flashed the BIOS on my GA-P55M-UD2 to F11 and used the DSDT in the database (with Core i5-750), and I'm having an error for CPU 3 - HPET is configured incorrectly. Just wondering if anyone could help me out with solving this issue. Also wanted to congratulate you on your great work. Just moved from a Pentium Dual Core e5300 to a core i5, and I wouldn't have even had the heart without all your helpful and thorough effort.
Did you run Optimized Defaults after flashing? Very important on these Gigabyte boards. Do that, then set BIOS to the pics in my guide.
Thanks for the response. The DSDT in the database works perfectly for me now. My mistake was so stupid, I don't even want to mention it. Suffice it to say, sorry for wasting your time, and thank you for your hard work!
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,261
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Re: Gigabyte 1156 BIOSes 2010-06 - Extract DSDTs for Database

Attached is a vanilla DSDT for the GA-H55N-USB3 on the F4 bios. No audio (ALC492R) or internet (R8111E) yet. Unfortunately, Gigabyte didn't go tried and true (i.e., 889A & 8111D) for a very desirable platform. Suggestions welcome.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
29
Motherboard
10.7.4
CPU
Core i7 260k
Graphics
6850HD
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Re: Gigabyte 1156 BIOSes 2010-06 - Extract DSDTs for Database

Vanilla aml from GA-P55-USB3--BIOS F6
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Re: Gigabyte 1156 BIOSes 2010-06 - Extract DSDTs for Database

p55a-ud6 f10 dsdt

Extracted from ubuntu 8.041


Just checking it doesn't have to be "optimized configuration" in the CMOS setup yeah?
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
4
Motherboard
a
CPU
b
Graphics
c
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Re: Gigabyte 1156 BIOSes 2010-06 - Extract DSDTs for Database

Here's the DSDT from P55-UD3L version FH
MD5: f431dbdf5568101d061df4a1a3a72c27
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 29, 2010
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asus Strix Z270E Gaming
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
P55a-UD3 F9 Error?

You may wish to take another look at the P55a-UD3 F9 DSDT.

I had a perfectly working machine using F8 and it's accompanying DSDT.
I then installed the F9 DSDT and restarted.
I had no sound after the restart.

I reinstalled using MultiBeast 2.0.5 and the options I used were the same as they were all marked Update.

No sound.

What the heck, I had little on the machine that I couldn't replace, so I reinstalled OS-X and updated it to 10.6.4, reinstalled MultiBeast.

No sound.

I have a sound card under System Profiler though it is identified as an 889, it was when it worked.

I'd guess (purely a guess) that a bit was misplaced in the F9 DSDT.

I'm open to suggestions though.

Thanks!
 

MacMan

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
8,546
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390-PRO GAMING - 2606 - UEFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Re: P55a-UD3 F9 Error?

PepsiMan said:
You may wish to take another look at the P55a-UD3 F9 DSDT.

I had a perfectly working machine using F8 and it's accompanying DSDT.
I then installed the F9 DSDT and restarted.
I had no sound after the restart.

I reinstalled using MultiBeast 2.0.5 and the options I used were the same as they were all marked Update.

No sound.

What the heck, I had little on the machine that I couldn't replace, so I reinstalled OS-X and updated it to 10.6.4, reinstalled MultiBeast.

No sound.

I have a sound card under System Profiler though it is identified as an 889, it was when it worked.

I'd guess (purely a guess) that a bit was misplaced in the F9 DSDT.

I'm open to suggestions though.

Thanks!
The P55A-UD3 has the 888 codec as you can see from this clipping from Gigabyte's website:P55A-UD3.png
So, the F9 DSDT is correct and the F8 DSDT is wrong.

I would remove Legacy889HDA and install Legacy888HDA to get sound working.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
354
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Apple, eMac, iMac, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Re: Gigabyte 1156 BIOSes 2010-06 - Extract DSDTs for Database

Here is the raw DSDT for GA-P55-UD3R bios version F8. :p

Edit: F8 DSDT in the database works great, no problems reported. Also, the pre-boot load has gotten a speed boost; no longer hangs for 5 seconds looking for the OS. In fact it's so fast you barely have time to read the prompt. :thumbup:
 

Attachments

Joined
May 6, 2010
Messages
17
Motherboard
Asus P7P55D-PRO FW-1702
CPU
i5-750
Graphics
9400 GT
Re: Gigabyte 1156 BIOSes 2010-06 - Extract DSDTs for Database

i wanna know if this metod works for asus p55 motherboards...

many thanks
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2010
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asus Strix Z270E Gaming
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
Re: P55a-UD3 F9 Error?

MacMan said:
PepsiMan said:
You may wish to take another look at the P55a-UD3 F9 DSDT.

I had a perfectly working machine using F8 and it's accompanying DSDT.
I then installed the F9 DSDT and restarted.
I had no sound after the restart.

I reinstalled using MultiBeast 2.0.5 and the options I used were the same as they were all marked Update.

No sound.

What the heck, I had little on the machine that I couldn't replace, so I reinstalled OS-X and updated it to 10.6.4, reinstalled MultiBeast.

No sound.

I have a sound card under System Profiler though it is identified as an 889, it was when it worked.

I'd guess (purely a guess) that a bit was misplaced in the F9 DSDT.

I'm open to suggestions though.

Thanks!
The P55A-UD3 has the 888 codec as you can see from this clipping from Gigabyte's website:P55A-UD3.png
So, the F9 DSDT is correct and the F8 DSDT is wrong.

I would remove Legacy889HDA and install Legacy888HDA to get sound working.
I think I didn't write clearly, I have a habit of that...
There was never an 889 kext installed as I know what the chip actually is.
When I replaced the F8 DSDT with the F9, I had no sound and reinstalled the 888 kext via MultiBeast. Still no sound. I looked in the usual places for any other sound kexts and removed them.

I did find a kext that said it was for the P55a-UD3 with DSDT. I installed that via Kext Helper, rebooted and now have sound.

Strange. All that is different on my machine is the F9 DSDT and the 2.0.5 version of MultiBeast.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top