Contribute
Register

General Video Editing hackintosh advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Hello. I recently got into video recording/editing and I need some advice.
My current hack has an i7 4790k + GTX970 + 960evo NVME, my main question is:
  1. Is it worth upgrading to a more recent CPU+GPU generation? Will that have a significant impact on performance/render times? If it only makes rendering a few seconds faster I won't bother and rather wait.
  2. Since I'm new to video both Premiere and Final Cut are an option, whats the easier to learn for a noob and what GPU would give me the best performance? I'm assuming the 1080ti for Premiere and the RX Vega for FCP.

Hey D-One,
IMO it´s a jungle out there, and I´m also searching for answers to this question, because it really depends a LOT on exactly what kind of video editing you´re doing.
The only conclusion I have come to this far, is that the i7 8700K seems to be an affordable and very fast CPU for Video Editing in AE and PP (I didnt research FCP since I dont use that program much).
As for the GPU it´s NOT a clear-cut answer, and just getting the fastest GPU for general/gaming use MIGHT not give you the performance boost you want depending on GPU activation in CC 2017.

You might wanna check out these two interesting articles.
Bare in mind that Puget systems SELL PCs, so their recommendations might be biased.

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/a...ormance-Core-i7-8700K-i5-8600K-i3-8350K-1047/
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/a...017-GeForce-GTX-1080-Ti-11GB-Performance-912/

For CPU it's a bit easier to make conclusions but for GPU it's really a jungle.
For example, in FCP I find it odd that a 2011 iMac is faster in rendering than my system when my CPU and GPU are much faster, desktop-grade and overclocked...

Last edited:
Hello. I recently got into video recording/editing and I need some advice.