Contribute
Register

Geekbench score seems too low

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Mountain Lion
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
Gigabyte HD 6870 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Where am I going wrong?

My Geekbench score is 9015.

I have an i5-3570 @4.3ghz

16gb Vengeance 1600mhz

Gigabyte HD6870 OC

128 Samsung 830 SSD

And this is my upgraded configuration.

I just added the addition 8GB ram

and swapped out my GT640 for the 6870

it seems like my score has not moved.

Am I doing something wrong, or is this about right?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 9.51.31 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 9.51.31 PM.png
    41.8 KB · Views: 229
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Mountain Lion
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
Gigabyte HD 6870 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Actually, I just looked at my profile and my geek bench score was higher with the previous configuration and that was also prior to the last ML update, so maybe that had something to do with it?
 

DBP

Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
1,012
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD4000 / GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Your Stream section seems waaaay too low. Your other numbers are higher (a bit) than my stock i3-3225, but your memory bandwidth is dragging the final result down.
I have 8183 for that, where you have 4690. My i7-3770K (stock) also has figures around 8200-8400. This is with 1600 MHz 9-9-9-28 memory.

Your GPU will not really have an effect on the Geekbench score, so that shouldn't matter.

  • Have you tried winding the machine back to stock configuration? You've gone all the way up to 4.3 GHz but your results don't look like it was worth it. You should be able to get that sort of performance (and faster Stream) with a stock machine.
  • The biggest problem is something to do with your memory. You haven't said what motherboard you're using, but the BIOS settings may be key. Again, wind it back to stock and start from there.
  • Do you have dual-channel RAM access enabled? If you've put the modules in the wrong slots that would slow memory down a lot.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Mountain Lion
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
Gigabyte HD 6870 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Your Stream section seems waaaay too low. Your other numbers are higher (a bit) than my stock i3-3225, but your memory bandwidth is dragging the final result down.
I have 8183 for that, where you have 4690. My i7-3770K (stock) also has figures around 8200-8400. This is with 1600 MHz 9-9-9-28 memory.

Your GPU will not really have an effect on the Geekbench score, so that shouldn't matter.

  • Have you tried winding the machine back to stock configuration? You've gone all the way up to 4.3 GHz but your results don't look like it was worth it. You should be able to get that sort of performance (and faster Stream) with a stock machine.
  • The biggest problem is something to do with your memory. You haven't said what motherboard you're using, but the BIOS settings may be key. Again, wind it back to stock and start from there.
  • Do you have dual-channel RAM access enabled? If you've put the modules in the wrong slots that would slow memory down a lot.

I'm using the Gigabyte Z68A-ud3h-B3 and haven't messed with BIOS other than ACHI and changing the multiplier from 34-43. Will look into the dual-channel ram setting and if not enabled, will enable and run again. Thanks
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Mountain Lion
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
Gigabyte HD 6870 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ohhhkay, I had ram side by side 1/3 instead of spaced apart i.e. 1/2. (I act like this is my first time) that helped, but I couldn't find the setting you mentioned in the bios. Current score 9528
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2012-12-12 at 1.22.16 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2012-12-12 at 1.22.16 AM.png
    42.1 KB · Views: 173

DBP

Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
1,012
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD4000 / GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I'm not familiar with your BIOS so I didn't mention specifics. But obviously letting it do dual-channel has picked up a lot of performance for you.

You say YOU act like it's your first time. :) I only just noticed you're using the 32-bit GB numbers which are always lower than the 64-bit numbers. On my i3-3225 rig the 32-bit tests give me 5339 (7699), 10182 (you have 13495), 6770 (you have 6992), 6979 (7120), and an aggregate of 7554 (you have 9528).
So maybe your system is actually performing well now. Just don't make the same mistake I did and compare your 32-bit numbers to other people's 64-bit numbers!
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Mountain Lion
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
Gigabyte HD 6870 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm not familiar with your BIOS so I didn't mention specifics. But obviously letting it do dual-channel has picked up a lot of performance for you.

You say YOU act like it's your first time. :) I only just noticed you're using the 32-bit GB numbers which are always lower than the 64-bit numbers. On my i3-3225 rig the 32-bit tests give me 5339 (7699), 10182 (you have 13495), 6770 (you have 6992), 6979 (7120), and an aggregate of 7554 (you have 9528).
So maybe your system is actually performing well now. Just don't make the same mistake I did and compare your 32-bit numbers to other people's 64-bit numbers!

Good point! I need to get the 64bit version. What I meant by acting like my first time is that I should know better than to put the ram side by side if there are only 2 but 4 slots. Been building computers for over a decade and still making silly mistakes like that.

Thanks for your help
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
14
Motherboard
Aorus X570-I Pro Wifi
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700X
Graphics
Gigabyte Gaming OC 6700XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Try adding the 'nullcpumanagement' kext from MultiBeast. This drastically increased my GB score.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Mountain Lion
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
Gigabyte HD 6870 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK, ran benchmark x64 and score is now 10267 will try the nullcpumanagement in multibeast to see if that impacts the score as well...
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2012-12-12 at 5.07.10 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2012-12-12 at 5.07.10 PM.png
    82.5 KB · Views: 153
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top