Contribute
Register

GC-ALPINE RIDGE in hands

Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
515
Motherboard
GA-Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9900K
Graphics
UHD630 & Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
However, I'm now struggling to boot into Sierra when the AR card is installed. I'm getting a hang at PCI configuration begin- tried loads of clover boot flags but no success.
No you must boot single user mode
g\
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
629
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I bought a couple GC-ALPINE RIDGE cards. As has already been alluded to in this thread and others, they can convert DisplayPort inputs to USB-C DisplayPort 1.2 alt mode or single/dual stream DisplayPort over Thunderbolt 3, even without appearing as a PCIe device. #211

So it probably could allow an LG UltraFine 5K display to be used with any computer with a PCIe slot (even an old 2008 Mac Pro), or no PCIe slot if you power the card externally with a PCIe slot power adapter (haven't tried that, but I have tried the PCIEX4 slot of my Gaming 7 which is disconnected from the system since both NVMe slots are occupied).

But without a PCIe connection, or a Thunderbolt add-in card header connection, USB or PCIe devices cannot be used (which includes the USB ports, speakers, webcam, and USB brightness controls of the LG UltraFine 5K display).
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
629
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
But without a PCIe connection, or a Thunderbolt add-in card header connection, USB or PCIe devices cannot be used (which includes the USB ports, speakers, webcam, and USB brightness controls of the LG UltraFine 5K display).

Actually, I was able to see PCIe devices over Thunderbolt when I removed my second NVMe drive so that PCIEX4 functions properly, so maybe the LG UltraFine 5K would have full functionality.

Strangely, the USB controller of the Thunderbolt chip was not seen in IORegistry. Does the GC-ALPINE RIDGE have a USB 3.1 Gen 2 USB controller like the motherboard Thunderbolt chips?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
23
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z270X-Gaming 5
CPU
i7-7700K Kaby Lake
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 Ti HYBRID
Mobile Phone
Android
Does anyone have a problem with GC-ALPINE RIDGE flashing? Every time when I try to flash it I got an error No controller found. Do I have to connect the thunderbolt device to able to flash the card? I just connected TH3>>TH2 adapter

I Flashed the GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 motherboard BIOS to laters one. But I had left only with windows 10 partition.
I didn't test the card on Sierra.
Bios settings:
Thunderbolt enable
Security: none.
thunderbolt.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
629
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Strangely, the USB controller of the Thunderbolt chip was not seen in IORegistry. Does the GC-ALPINE RIDGE have a USB 3.1 Gen 2 USB controller like the motherboard Thunderbolt chips?
I was able to see and use the USB 3.1 gen 2 controller after booting into Ubuntu and/or connecting the DisplayPort inputs. Maybe the issue has something to do with leaving the header connector pins floating? I am researching the pins and experimenting with connecting them to +3.3V or ground with pull-up or pull-down resisters. There are schematics and board diagrams that show what they're connected to on the motherboard side.

Does anyone have a problem with GC-ALPINE RIDGE flashing? Every time when I try to flash it I got an error No controller found. Do I have to connect the thunderbolt device to able to flash the card? I just connected TH3>>TH2 adapter

I Flashed the GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 motherboard BIOS to laters one. But I had left only with windows 10 partition.
I didn't test the card on Sierra.
Bios settings:
Thunderbolt enable
Security: none.
The Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter does not count as a Thunderbolt device. If you need to connect a Thunderbolt device to flash the GC-ALPINE RIDGE, then the Thunderbolt 2 adapter is not sufficient. There might be a command line to force power on, so you can flash it, but I'm not sure. It could be motherboard specific. It could be a BIOS option?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
23
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z270X-Gaming 5
CPU
i7-7700K Kaby Lake
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 Ti HYBRID
Mobile Phone
Android
The Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter does not count as a Thunderbolt device. If you need to connect a Thunderbolt device to flash the GC-ALPINE RIDGE, then the Thunderbolt 2 adapter is not sufficient. There might be a command line to force power on, so you can flash it, but I'm not sure. It could be motherboard specific. It could be a BIOS option?
Do I need to plug the thunderbolt device to be able to FLASH the GC-ALPINE RIDGE?
I have an only android usc-c (3.1) device not sure if it will work.
I just updated BIOS to the latest F8 firmware.

One more question - If i don't have connected THB devices to GC-ALPINE RIDGE does it show the controller driver version or not? (thunderbolt>>>details)
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
12
Motherboard
gigabyte ga-z170mx-gaming 5
CPU
I7
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1050tx
Hi guys,

Scoured all 13 pages of this discussion and am just wondering what the appropriate way is to proceed with installing this GC-Alpine ridge card. I've installed it into my Z170MX-Gaming 5 (bios F20) and although it is powering on devices, I'm not getting Sierra 10.12.6 to recognize anything.

Do I need to have an install of windows and install drivers from there? Do I need to do anything in clover?

Any help is appreciated to get started on the right path with installing.

Thanks :thumbup:
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
629
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Scoured all 13 pages of this discussion and am just wondering what the appropriate way is to proceed with installing this GC-Alpine ridge card. I've installed it into my Z170MX-Gaming 5 (bios F20) and although it is powering on devices, I'm not getting Sierra 10.12.6 to recognize anything.
Do I need to have an install of windows and install drivers from there? Do I need to do anything in clover?

Windows should be installed so you can verify that Thunderbolt works. Also, Windows is the only way to update the firmware of the Thunderbolt chip (but I think the GC-ALPINE RIDGE comes with the latest firmware anyway). I think Linux has Thunderbolt support now too, but I haven't tried that yet (it's not enabled by default).

What Thunderbolt 3 devices are you trying to use? To work in macOS, they need to be connected before you boot the computer, since we haven't figured out how to get Thunderbolt 3 hot swap to work yet.

The Z170MX-Gaming 5 also has a built in Thunderbolt 3 controller but it is only used for USB 3.1 gen 2.

The GC-ALPINE RIDGE card needs to be in the last slot (PCIEX4). The header cable should be connected. Thunderbolt should be enabled in the BIOS.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
12
Motherboard
gigabyte ga-z170mx-gaming 5
CPU
I7
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1050tx

Windows should be installed so you can verify that Thunderbolt works. Also, Windows is the only way to update the firmware of the Thunderbolt chip (but I think the GC-ALPINE RIDGE comes with the latest firmware anyway). I think Linux has Thunderbolt support now too, but I haven't tried that yet (it's not enabled by default).

What Thunderbolt 3 devices are you trying to use? To work in macOS, they need to be connected before you boot the computer, since we haven't figured out how to get Thunderbolt 3 hot swap to work yet.

The Z170MX-Gaming 5 also has a built in Thunderbolt 3 controller but it is only used for USB 3.1 gen 2.

The GC-ALPINE RIDGE card needs to be in the last slot (PCIEX4). The header cable should be connected. Thunderbolt should be enabled in the BIOS.
I have several thunderbolt hard drives, a raid drive and an Apollo Twin audio interface that I'm really hoping I can get working. I actually don't have anything that requires Thunderbolt 3.

Looks like I'm in the right slot (PCIEX4) and the header cable is connected and I'm enabled in the Bios.

Soooo... everything looks right on the Mac end which means I should probably install Windows and check it out from there. I have a little mini NES I want to mod and I need windows for that so two birds with one stone :)
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
92
Can you use a usb-c to displayport cable to get integrated graphics at 4k@60hz with this add-in card? Read the thread but isn't clear if it only works by providing graphics via displayport In port, e.g. with a short cable from a discrete card.
 
Top