Contribute
Register

GA-Z77X-UD5H + HD 7970 + MacOSX 10.8.4

Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Well, anyway - where to begin with?
I am trying to finalize my Hackintosh properly - without success so far. Hence, I am writing this post to ask for your help...


:)


So: I have:
- MacOSX 10.8.4
- Sapphire ATI Radeon VAPOR-X HD 7970
- Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H


What is working:
With Chameleon I can use my Mac via the Gigabyte graphic card - but only on a "basic graphic mode" with ATI7000Controller.kext removed and GE=No.


With installed ATI7000Controller.kext and GE=No it is only working in -x mode.


With GE=Yes it shows quickly after start a Memory allocation error.


So: On my wish list:
A working MacOS with a full support of my HD 7970.


For any help I am thankful!


Cheers!
 

qbe

Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Asus X299 Deluxe
CPU
i7 7820X
Graphics
Sapphire Vega 56 Pulse
1. Get your hack working with onboard gpu first.
2. Make sure it sleeps correctly
3. install 7970 and use sleeptrick
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
OK. I tried your recommendation with the "most basic" system.

So far it worked. Thanks for help.

BUT:

It appears that the system "should" have been working previously, because my system is not working properly if I plug in my TV screen via HDMI.
FIRST:
Once this is plugged in during start up: I get 2 white screens - no "sleep-trick" is working (the fb-rotate does its job already). Then I disconnect the TV: and I get my computer screen working fine with my desktop.
SECOND:
Once the system is working (with desktop on my computer screen) and I plugin my TV screen then I get a white screen at my computer screen and I can see the desktop on the TV screen, however, no input is working on this screen. Once I disconnect the TV again, then all the input made previously (that should have appeared on the TV screen) is then to see on the computer screen.

o_O

Any suggestions?
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Another great forum provided some insight:
If you use the rotate trick for more than one screen it's:

/Users/rene/Downloads/fb-rotate/fb-rotate -d 0 -r 90
/Users/rene/Downloads/fb-rotate/fb-rotate -d 0 -r 0
/Users/rene/Downloads/fb-rotate/fb-rotate -d 1 -r 90
/Users/rene/Downloads/fb-rotate/fb-rotate -d 1 -r 0

0 = first screen
1 = second screen enz....


BUT I am still not there...

Great thanks - I have something on the second screen.


However: not what I would have expected: the screen(s) are there - but still no input!


the 2nd fb-rotate and Chutoro doesn't help...


BTW: the second screen only shows up, once I have unplugged the HDMI for a moment from the GFX-card - then the input is freezing, until I unplug the HDMI again...


Still any other solutions available, please?
:eek:
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
339
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 F10
CPU
i5 2500K
Graphics
Sapphire 7950 3GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Another great forum provided some insight:
If you use the rotate trick for more than one screen it's:

/Users/rene/Downloads/fb-rotate/fb-rotate -d 0 -r 90
/Users/rene/Downloads/fb-rotate/fb-rotate -d 0 -r 0
/Users/rene/Downloads/fb-rotate/fb-rotate -d 1 -r 90
/Users/rene/Downloads/fb-rotate/fb-rotate -d 1 -r 0

0 = first screen
1 = second screen enz....


BUT I am still not there...

Great thanks - I have something on the second screen.


However: not what I would have expected: the screen(s) are there - but still no input!


the 2nd fb-rotate and Chutoro doesn't help...


BTW: the second screen only shows up, once I have unplugged the HDMI for a moment from the GFX-card - then the input is freezing, until I unplug the HDMI again...


Still any other solutions available, please?
:eek:
Were you able to get one screen working? Before you have the script auto run upon logging in, make sure that the script works correctly and is rotating both screens.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Maverick has full support for my HD7970! It rocks! Actually - I even have two in my system - and it works like awesome!
:)


I can recommend OSx86 with HD7970 and Maverick!


Regards,
W
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H (rev.1.0, F14), 16Gb RAM
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 660Ti 2Gb
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Maverick has full support for my HD7970! It rocks! Actually - I even have two in my system - and it works like awesome!
:)


I can recommend OSx86 with HD7970 and Maverick!


Regards,
W
Hi there!
I have the exact config (z77x-UD5H+3770K+7970).
But after fresh install I can't to boot from HD...every time I boot from HD (without UniBeast stick) screen goes black and get "boot: done drbdstrah dfsbtrsh5rb"

Could you tell me how you can load the OS X ? Thanx for any help!
 
Top