Contribute
Register

GA-Z68X-UDH3-B3 (F8) No Sound

Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
Z68X-UD3H-B3 f12
CPU
i5-2500k
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey guys, I followed the guide and can get everything working in 10.6.8
except sound. If anyone has any ideas or tips it would appreciated.

Also a noob question, I want to reinstall from scratch, what is the
best way to proceed?

Thanks!
Emi
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
257
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H55M-UD2H
CPU
2.93 Ghz i7
Graphics
ATI Radeon 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Re: GA-Z68X-UDH3-B3 (F8)

Congratulations. You are on your way.

I never conquered the on-board sound problem. I recommend the USB sound dongle in my signature.

Here are some tips for your re-install viewtopic.php?f=3&t=34618&hilit=+tips
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
Z68X-UD3H-B3 f12
CPU
i5-2500k
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks OldFred,
It is pretty exciting getting this far.
I am not sure if I am overlooking anything but I
cannot seem to find a method for a fresh
reinstall from scratch for snow leopard. Does
the hard drive need to be reformatted to remove
the original install? (sorry for the noob question)
 

samisnake

Moderator
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
4,090
Motherboard
MSI Z97i Gaming ACK
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
GTX 670
if you are gonna do a fresh install, follow the guide you used to install in the first place.
when it mentions going to disk utility in the installer, click on your hard drive and erase.
itll format the drive.

then continue the install.


with the sound, were you using a dsdt and select alc8xx and applehda rollback from multibeast?
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
99
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. iMac
  3. LC
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
  6. Quadra
  7. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My Z68X-UD3H-B3 rev 1.0 (f9) is up and running 10.6.8 with motherboard sound, so it is ( or should be ) possible. As samisnake stated, you will need to install alc8xx and applehda rollback from multibeast after the update to 10.6.8 and then rebuild caches and repair permissions ( assuming you are using a DSDT ).

I had problems even installing BIOS f8 ( from f3 ), the process seemed to take forever and then would not validate. I even downloaded f8 from other GigaByte sites around the globe with the same result. I did not have any issue updating to f9 though. If you do change BIOS versions, remember to update to the matching DSDT.

Good luck with the rebuild from scratch!

Rx4Mac
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
99
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. iMac
  3. LC
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
  6. Quadra
  7. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Another idea...

If you have a spare drive, do your clean install to it of the basic 10.6.0.or 10.6.3 and then go back and boot from your current drive and do the update on the new drive to 10.6.8, followed by the HDA rollback etc and the cache repair ( and MultiBeast install that includes the Chimera bootloader ). I find it much easier to not do surgery on yourself i.e. I try to do my modifications/builds on a drive other than the one I am booted from. Just MHO.

Rx4Mac
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
Z68X-UD3H-B3 f12
CPU
i5-2500k
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks guys!
I will try the tips you gave me and have another go at it. Hopefully I
can get the sound to work this time. I will let you guys know how it goes.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
Z68X-UD3H-B3 f12
CPU
i5-2500k
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks for the tips guys, I ended up flashing bios to F9, (I noticed at least
one other successful board in these forums was also F9).

I reinstalled with your tips and sound is working but lost ethernet, lol.

I know after updated to 10.6.8 you are not supposed to reboot, but a
black screen pops up and makes me restart with no other options.

I ran update helper but it didn't seem to help at all, is there a certain
sandy bridge helper file you guys can link me to?

Rx4Mac, what were your multibeast settings, if I can replicate yours
I think that would really help.

Thanks guys, getting closer I think!
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2011
Messages
1
Motherboard
Custom PC
CPU
i7-2700K
Graphics
6850 Sapphire
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
For Ethernet, run Multibeast and check Realtek Gigabit Ethernet 2.0.6.
 
Top