Contribute
Register

GA-Z270X-UD5 - i7-7700K - HD 630 - 16Gb ram - M.2 NVME - ALC1220 - BCM943602CS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Classic
  4. Color Classic
  5. eMac
  6. iMac
  7. LC
  8. Performa
  9. Plus
  10. Power Mac
  11. PowerBook
  12. Quadra
  13. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Has anybody upgraded to 10.13 High Sierra yet with this build? If so, did you encounter any issues / avoid APFS?
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2013
Messages
33
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7 7700K @ 5GHz 1.43V
Graphics
Saphire RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Has anybody upgraded to 10.13 High Sierra yet with this build? If so, did you encounter any issues / avoid APFS?
I'm running High Sierra. I *had* USB 3 issues, which was fixed after reading beckmans post. Everything works perfectly otherwise, barring the drivers for Vega. They're a bit buggy and not so mature yet.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2017
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270 K3
CPU
Intel i7 7700k
Graphics
GB Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a GTX 1060 which drives two monitors easily. But, the GTX 1060 has wake-up from sleep problems

Hi @Stork, I'm experiencing the same problem with my GB GTX 1060. After waking up from sleep the system runs ok for 2 min and then the screen is full or artifacts. Is there any new developments on this? Thanks for your reply
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,817
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @Stork, I'm experiencing the same problem with my GB GTX 1060. After waking up from sleep the system runs ok for 2 min and then the screen is full or artifacts. Is there any new developments on this? Thanks for your reply
No. Nvidia knows about it, but I don't know if they're doing anything about it. There's a thread in the Graphics forum section on this problem, but the fixes in that thread don't work with High Sierra because the screen "garbling" is so severe.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...060-glitching-after-waking-from-sleep.220670/

UPDATE: I forgot to test sleep after installing the HS Supplemental Update and the 117 Nvidia web drivers. I just tested and, LOW and BEHOLD!, wake-up after sleep works! No glitching! (I am not using any of the "graphics" kexts.). I did a one minute and 20 minute sleep/wake-up test. Works as one would expect! :thumbup:

I'm using a Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB GV-N1060WF2OC-6GB connecting with two monitors thru a KVM using the card's two DVI (dual-link) connectors.


UPDATE 2: I'm now getting minor glitching when I scroll in a browser. Looks like the the Nvidia drivers are not quite working. Logging out and logging back in seems to cure the problem. However, it is certainly better than Sierra or the pre HS Supplemental Update drivers.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
3
Motherboard
intel
CPU
i5 2500k
Graphics
AMD 6870
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
How did you get audio to work? I feel like I have messed up and I don't know what I need to do. Installed ALC1220 and 100/200 from Multibeast. In clover I did the HEX swap, and Audio 11. Saved to config.plist...but no audio showing up? I have identical system. Any help would be appreciated greatly!!
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
34
Motherboard
Ga-z270x-UD5
CPU
7700k
Graphics
iGPU
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How did you get audio to work? I feel like I have messed up and I don't know what I need to do. Installed ALC1220 and 100/200 from Multibeast. In clover I did the HEX swap, and Audio 11. Saved to config.plist...but no audio showing up? I have identical system. Any help would be appreciated greatly!!

Any Progress on this yet? I have the same issues with audio.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,817
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
actionx1, in the System Preference pane > Sound, what Output are you using? Try Internal Speakers if you haven't already.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2011
Messages
33
Motherboard
GA-X79S-UP5
CPU
i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz LGA 2011
Graphics
MSI GTX970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I pre-beg for forgiveness at asking such a simple question. I've had the custom mac pro build for a week and still can't get into the install. First, my UniBeast-ed thumb drive would not boot (I had to stop using master boot record).
Now it boots but wont get as far as the install.
Stuck on "HID Legacy shim 2" ugh. This is my 5th Hackentosh so I'm not a total noob ;)

Any guidance with Boot Args etc to get as far as the macOS installer?
Thanks!

Edit- Murphy's law that I would figure it out right after asking for help. Maybe the writing it down helped. I just needed to use USB 2.0 - After editing the config.plist as instructed. Cool. If I encounter anymore hurdles I will write my solutions here.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
GTX 1080 ti FTW3
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
F1963071-61C8-4F68-9A7D-541D44193136.jpeg Hi there, I just started my build last night, I am using the same mother and cpu, for some reason I can’t boot to bios when I have 2x16gb ram ballistic sport installed it goes to boot loops after 5 beeps, I have tried many different combinations. I tried both of them on the same slot (one at the time) and it works, so I am pretty sure both rams are in working order. Does anyone experienced the same problem. This is my first build ever so any advice it will be greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
Intel i7-7700
Graphics
MSI GTX970 4GB
You should be able to boot into the bios without any OS installed. Must a problem with the ram, can you make an USB stick and let the system boot from it, if yes, try to test your memory with memtest: https://www.memtest86.com/download.htm

And oh... remove your graphic card and use the integrated to see if you can boot into the bios.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top