GA-P67A-UD4-B3 Can't get it to work

Discussion in 'Snow Leopard Desktop Support' started by geobyte, Jun 20, 2011.

  1. geobyte

    geobyte

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Jun 20, 2011 at 3:16 AM #1
    geobyte

    geobyte

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Hi,

    I was following Gordo74's guide to setup SL on my machine
    The only difference is that I used DSDT from the database for my UD4 as oppose to his (UD3)
    after I finish installing Snow Leopard and boot into it, I run Combo update, Bridge helper and then MultiBeast and I put the DSDT from database on the desktop.
    I choose the same options he chooses except for Realtek Gigabit Ethernet 2.0.6 instead of Lnx2MAC's Realtex81xx
    When I restart, I get the white screen with the big apple in the middle for a while then the screen shuts off and the fans start spinning very fast

    I tried different thing where in MB I don't choose user DSDT and only choose system utilities, drivers and bootloader, boot options and system definition but then I get an error while MB is installing and it won't boot anymore to Snow Leopard

    I've heard that many of the guys here used Gordo74's guide and it worked for them
    I don't really know what I've missed

    I'm thinking of redoing this with just adding EasyDSDT to the mix in MB

    Any ideas?

    Please help
     
  2. axedye

    axedye

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4
    CPU:
    Core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon HD 5770
    Jun 20, 2011 at 4:50 AM #2
    axedye

    axedye

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4
    CPU:
    Core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon HD 5770
    I recommend installing windows before to ensure the board is working. Just a thought with all the bad reviews in most p67 b3 motherboards.
     
  3. geobyte

    geobyte

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Jun 20, 2011 at 7:06 AM #3
    geobyte

    geobyte

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    I chose the ATI.1.6.34.13 option in MB and I put the DSDT on desktop before running MB. Using iBoot to boot to the HD does seem to help

    Tried that! the board seems to be working fine and windows ran smoothly!
     
  4. Gordo74

    Gordo74

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,733
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-I
    CPU:
    i7 3770 @ 4.1Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 20, 2011 at 4:29 PM #4
    Gordo74

    Gordo74

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,733
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-I
    CPU:
    i7 3770 @ 4.1Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Boot with GraphicsEnabler=No
     
  5. geobyte

    geobyte

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Jun 20, 2011 at 9:23 PM #5
    geobyte

    geobyte

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Gordo!! You're the man!

    I've tried it once and I got the same old thing where the screen shuts off and the fans go crazy
    Tried it again, and it booted into Snow Leopard!
    and from first look, everything seems to be working fine

    I have couple of questions to follow:

    1) Does that mean my Graphics card is not compatible (Gigabyte HD 6850)?

    2) Does that mean that with the graphics enabler flag it's not guaranteed that the device will always boot successfully?

    3) My fans are being really loud and I havent figured out yet if it's the CPU fan or the cards, is there a way around this?

    Thank you very much,
    really appreciate your help
     
  6. Gordo74

    Gordo74

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,733
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-I
    CPU:
    i7 3770 @ 4.1Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 20, 2011 at 9:38 PM #6
    Gordo74

    Gordo74

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,733
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-I
    CPU:
    i7 3770 @ 4.1Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    1) It simply means your graphics card is not in the ati.c file for graphicsenabler yet. Head over to Chimera forum to report it.

    2) It should always boot successfully once you say graphicsenabler=no

    3) You have to figure out which one it is first
     
  7. geobyte

    geobyte

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Jun 20, 2011 at 10:06 PM #7
    geobyte

    geobyte

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thank you very much Gordo!

    The noisy fans turned out to be the graphics card fans, any idea how to deal with this?

    I'll go ahead and report my card. In the mean time, is there a temporary solution as using flags like: AtiConfig:Gibba?

    Thanks again
     
  8. geobyte

    geobyte

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Jun 21, 2011 at 3:36 AM #8
    geobyte

    geobyte

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    I've been reading around the forum alot and I found out that I can boot
    without the graphics enabler flag when using the DVI port of my card!!

    all that is left now is to control those fans and everything would be awesome!

    It's really amazing that a noob like me can do as much just by being in this forum and with all the help provided!

    I'm very grateful for all the help you guys provided especially you Gordo

    Thank you
     
  9. Gordo74

    Gordo74

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,733
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-I
    CPU:
    i7 3770 @ 4.1Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 21, 2011 at 1:41 PM #9
    Gordo74

    Gordo74

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,733
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-I
    CPU:
    i7 3770 @ 4.1Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Until the graphics card is in graphics enabler, your fans will be high unfortunately :(

    The good news is that MacMan is pretty good about getting those new IDs in there fast.
     

Share This Page