Contribute
Register

GA P55 UD2 10.6.3 (USB) Sleep Fix via DSDT

Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
76
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
lnx2mac said:
humph said:
Anyone else with v1.1 board out there that already has OK sleep?
Or not OK sleep??

My UD2-v1.1 has NOT OK issues with sleep on 1.6.2.

It seems to sleep (it wakes up upon key/mouse press)...
However, on waking up, it enters a regular boot-up process. :(


have you checked that all the power options in energy saver (under system preferences) are ticked?
 

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
8,740
Motherboard
PRIME Z490-A
CPU
i5 10600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ltoolio said:
I wonder if it might be a difference in the mobo version....I see you are running V1.1, but I think Tony might be using a V1.0?

I'm pretty sure the only difference in 1.0 vs.1.1 is this feature:

Meet European Union EuP(Energy-using Products) requirement

And the bios version- is the exact same link- must be some kind of red-tape in the EU where they need to actually differentiate. :p

So- we're all using the same hardware I'm pretty sure. :thumbup:
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2010
Messages
918
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
winstonace said:
One more question:
EHC ports are indeed working natively
are you sure your mouse/keyboard arent hooked up to the EHC devices?
can you post a ss of system profiler?
thanks

Interesting. Will re-check when back home and post if memory not correct:
I think from memory, the devices are showing under EHC1/2 controller.

Didn't think it made a lot of difference which physical connection is used (am not using FP header anyway) as don't all PHY ports get the ability to use USB 2.0 or USB1.0/1/1?

From Intel spec:
"The PCH contains two Enhanced Host Controller Interface (EHCI) host controllers which support up to fourteen USB 2.0 high-speed root ports. USB 2.0 allows data transfers up to 480 Mb/s. USB 2.0 based Debug Port is also implemented in the PCH."

As FatShenanigans said above, why bother with all the port sections (although I didn't remove them)..
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
133
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
winstonace said:
FatShenanigans said:
ltoolio said:
I wonder if it might be a difference in the mobo version....I see you are running V1.1, but I think Tony might be using a V1.0?

I've been coding my DSDT to only have two main hubs - ECHI/UCHI or EUSB/USBE and removing all of the ports since 10.6.2. In the ASUS P7P55D-E there are only two hubs in both Mac and Windows under Everest. The P7P55D-E is technically a newer revision. The real iMac also has the exact configuration. In the case of the P7P55D-E I don't know why they still have all of that USB/UCHI code in the DSDT of the ACPI since those ports don't exist and are not recognized in Windows or anything else. Probably just lazy engineers using the same DSDT for dozens of boards (and they do with just tiny differences).

I'm pretty sure that a coming bios update will help correct problems of older boards. A recent EVGA bios update rewrote everything to emphasize two main hubs instead of ports so if it happened there, there's hope for Gigabyte.

iMac 11,1 don't have this code in their DSDT
but MacPro 4,1 (core i7 xeon's) do

if you want just two hubs, you can do it easily on Gigabyte boards too

Right - it's not in the DSDT but in another ACPI table that's referenced by the DSDT table.

Easily? Right on. Tony, can you send Winstonace your DSDT collection (from your board alone) that can fix what we've been working on? I'm all ears :D
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
2,314
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4
CPU
i7-860
Graphics
9800 GT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
winstonace said:
lnx2mac said:
humph said:
Anyone else with v1.1 board out there that already has OK sleep?
Or not OK sleep??

My UD2-v1.1 has NOT OK issues with sleep on 1.6.2.

It seems to sleep (it wakes up upon key/mouse press)...
However, on waking up, it enters a regular boot-up process. :(


have you checked that all the power options in energy saver (under system preferences) are ticked?
Originally, "Start up automatically..." wasn't checked...
If I check it, after sleep, my rig won't wake-up (blinking HDD LED & blinking "Phase LEDs" on board)... Only way to get out of it is unplug ! o_O

I unchecked "Start up automatically..." and now I can put it to sleep, and on wake I get the previous behavior (full reboot). :banghead:
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
76
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
FatShenanigans said:
Right - it's not in the DSDT but in another ACPI table that's referenced by the DSDT table.

Easily? Right on. Tony, can you send Winstonace your DSDT collection (from your board alone) that can fix what we've been working on? I'm all ears :D

I attached in my previous post a dsdt of MACPRO 4,1
it has UHC part right in it, not a reference as you mentioned.

regarding the hub?
as I said, it's very easy to have two hubs of EHCI just as IMAC
just replace your uhc/EHC part with this


Code:
            Device (UHC1)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001D0000)
            }

            Device (UHC2)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001D0001)
             }

            Device (UHC3)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001D0002)
            }

            Device (UHC4)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001D0003)
            }

            Device (UHC5)				
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001A0000)
            }

            Device (UHC6)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001A0001)
            }

            Device (UHC7)			

            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001A0002)
             }

            Device (EHC1)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001D0007)
            }

            Device (EHC2)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001A0007)
	       }

no need for any device id and aapl stuff
everything is working right OOTB (including sleep and wake)
(that's true for the SATA too)
i'll post some ss when i'll get home later today.

I have to add that your arrogance is completly unnecessary
especially when it's not back up by knowledge...
 

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
8,740
Motherboard
PRIME Z490-A
CPU
i5 10600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the info Winstonace- I'll test today and report back. Would be great to get this all solved. FS and I have been testing stuff back and forth. The only thing working for me right now are my original edits of the DSDT, which give me full USB support- but when waking from sleep, have to re-plug.

Also, I've noticed that if you wake from sleep with power button, there are no issues whatsoever. :eek:
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
133
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
winstonace said:
I attached in my previous post a dsdt of MACPRO 4,1
it has UHC part right in it, not a reference as you mentioned.

regarding the hub?
as I said, it's very easy to have two hubs of EHCI just as IMAC
just replace your uhc/EHC part with this


Code:
            Device (UHC1)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001D0000)
            }

            Device (UHC2)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001D0001)
             }

            Device (UHC3)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001D0002)
            }

            Device (UHC4)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001D0003)
            }

            Device (UHC5)				
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001A0000)
            }

            Device (UHC6)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001A0001)
            }

            Device (UHC7)			

            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001A0002)
             }

            Device (EHC1)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001D0007)
            }

            Device (EHC2)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001A0007)
	       }

no need for any device id and aapl stuff
everything is working right OOTB (including sleep and wake)
(that's true for the SATA too)
i'll post some ss when i'll get home later today.

I have to add that your arrogance is completly unnecessary
especially when it's not back up by knowledge...


I don't understand why you are so quick to judge or assume. You assume that I was being arrogant. Is it because I pointed out something to you about the iMac? A fact is a fact and it is what it is, no more no less. I didn't say it to contradict you if that's how you read it. if you know how much time I've spent working with Tony trying to solve this problem, you might think twice and give me the benefit of the doubt in that I'm being sincere in that I'd love a new point of view, read: your help. You also assume that I don't know what's going on. I've seen that version of what you've posted long ago. Whether or not it will work Tony will be the one to say since it's his UD2 that's having the problem.

So I just want to know how to fix something, not prove something. Why am I even explaining this?

Back to topic - Tony, on that last DSDT I I sent you, change the 0x03 to a 0x02 in the following under the PCI0 header:

Method (_S3D, 0, NotSerialized)
{
Return (0x03)
}

to

Method (_S3D, 0, NotSerialized)
{
Return (0x02)
}

Silly mistake on my part that might make all the difference in the last file.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2010
Messages
918
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
winstonace said:
regarding the hub?
as I said, it's very easy to have two hubs of EHCI just as IMAC
just replace your uhc/EHC part with this
...
...
no need for any device id and aapl stuff
everything is working right OOTB (including sleep and wake)

Well, works OK for me inc wakeup by kb button press, other than same issue I had before with my DSDT above; namely need to still tick the "Start up automatically after power failure" in Energy Saver. (And not supporting USB1.0 device).

So something still screwy going on with sleep, elsewhere..
 
Top