GA-B75M-D3P Motherboard & NO AUDIO!! PLEASE HELP!! 1st Hackintosh

Discussion in 'Audio' started by xianghu, Oct 12, 2012.

  1. xianghu

    xianghu

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P Motherboard
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225 Ivy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 12, 2012 at 4:54 PM #1
    xianghu

    xianghu

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P Motherboard
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225 Ivy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Hey Guys,

    So I built my first Hackintosh yesterday using unibeast. Installation process went smoothly but now I have too issues that I cant seem to get resolved. The first one isn't my biggest concern but here it is: When I restart the computer, when it gets to the log in screen, the graphics are all messed up and you cant see anything. I figured out that if I press the power button on the computer, it puts the computer to sleep. When I press it again to wake it up the graphics are back to normal and stay that way. So this problem isnt that big of a deal but I would like it to get it resolved eventually.

    My second problem and one that I really need fixed is that I have no working audio. I used multibeast and installed the ALC887/888b codec and got nothing. When I plug in speakers or headphones nothing shows up in the sound part of system preferences when you go to output.

    Here are my computer specs:

    Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P Motherboard

    Intel i3 3225 Ivy Bridge Intel 4000 Graphics

    Corsair Builder Series CX430 V2 430W ATX12V v2.3 80 Plus Bronze Certified Active PFC PSU

    Corsair 8GB 1333MHZ PC3-10666 240-pin

    Standard Hitachi 320GB hard drive (took from my macbook pro)



    Now, I did not update my BIOS. I think I currently have version F3. If you think that that will resolve my sound problem then I will update it. Otherwise, I'd rather not take the risk because I have never done it before. This is also my first time building a computer. It went fairly smoothly though. I was also thinking maybe I didn't hook up the front panel connections correctly (but I'm sure I did). If this were the case, however, the audio connectors in the back, from the motherboard, should still work either way right?. I tested out those as well and got nothing.

    When installing multibeast, I chose:

    1) UserDSDT or DSDT-Free Installation
    2) Drivers & Bootloaders-->Drivers-->Audio-->Realtek ALC8xx-->Without DSDT-->ALC887/888b-->v100302 Current.
    3)
    Drivers & Bootloaders-->Drivers-->Network-->Realtek Gigabit Ethernet 2.0
    4) Drivers & Bootloaders-->Bootloaders-->Chimera v1.11.1 r1394


    Any help is greatly appreciated. I made this computer with the intention of making it an HTPC. So without sound it is pretty much useless.

     
  2. Av8

    Av8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    7
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    Radeon
    Oct 12, 2012 at 5:31 PM #2
    Av8

    Av8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    7
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    Radeon
    I just built mine too and have exact same issues. Update your Bios will help but wont fix it I bet.

    Could be the HD4000 gfx. I just ordered a nvidia 440 graphics card.

    I can not figure out audio. GA Z77 DS3H. I will not get this MB again.

    Also NO sleep.
     
  3. xianghu

    xianghu

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P Motherboard
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225 Ivy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 12, 2012 at 6:18 PM #3
    xianghu

    xianghu

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P Motherboard
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225 Ivy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Yeah I thought gigabyte motherboards were the most compatible. The only reason I bought this motherboard is because it was on the builds page so I thought it was one of the most compatible ones.

    I was able to get audio to work through Airplay through my macbook pro (I have air server installed)

    As a last resort, I will have to buy the old airport express, plug my speakers into it, and play the sound through airplay. But I'd rather not pay the 50 bucks unless I have to.
     
  4. Av8

    Av8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    7
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    Radeon
    Oct 12, 2012 at 7:42 PM #4
    Av8

    Av8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    7
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    Radeon
  5. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17,173
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 13, 2012 at 1:18 AM #5
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17,173
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Attach a copy of IOReg. [Guide] How to Make a Copy of IOReg.
     
  6. moarfish

    moarfish

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Mobo:
    B75M-D3H / H67MA-USB3-B3 / P55-UD3L
    CPU:
    3570K / 2500K / i7 870
    Graphics:
    HD 4000 / 6870 / GF210
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 13, 2012 at 3:09 AM #6
    moarfish

    moarfish

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Mobo:
    B75M-D3H / H67MA-USB3-B3 / P55-UD3L
    CPU:
    3570K / 2500K / i7 870
    Graphics:
    HD 4000 / 6870 / GF210
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If the sound part of the system preferences shows up nothing. It means you do no the sound driver probably installed.
    It should show all kinds of output even if you plug in nothing.

    Please check these:
    - Did you enable on board sound in your BIOS Settings? Did you try to go back the default settings in the BIOS and just set the on board video and AHCI?
    - After 10.8.2 Combo Updater, did you reinstall your sound driver?
    - Make sure you select Internal Speakers (Build In) inside the Sound settings/Output of the System Preferences.

    not much else I can think of. It was an easy process on my B75M-D3H

    If it still not working, reinstall the OS and follow the exact instruction on my B75M-D3H build. Many people got it working 100% except the Volume MUTE function.
     
  7. xianghu

    xianghu

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P Motherboard
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225 Ivy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 13, 2012 at 3:28 AM #7
    xianghu

    xianghu

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P Motherboard
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225 Ivy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    I never saw the on board sound option in the BIOS. Where is that located?
     
  8. moarfish

    moarfish

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Mobo:
    B75M-D3H / H67MA-USB3-B3 / P55-UD3L
    CPU:
    3570K / 2500K / i7 870
    Graphics:
    HD 4000 / 6870 / GF210
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 13, 2012 at 6:58 PM #8
    moarfish

    moarfish

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Mobo:
    B75M-D3H / H67MA-USB3-B3 / P55-UD3L
    CPU:
    3570K / 2500K / i7 870
    Graphics:
    HD 4000 / 6870 / GF210
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    [​IMG]

    See "Audio Controller" under Peripherals
     
  9. johnsmith9078

    johnsmith9078

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    z77x-ud5h / h77n / b75m-d3p
    CPU:
    3570k / 2500k / 3245 / 3225
    Graphics:
    hd 4000 - dp / dvi
    Oct 15, 2012 at 1:58 AM #9
    johnsmith9078

    johnsmith9078

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    z77x-ud5h / h77n / b75m-d3p
    CPU:
    3570k / 2500k / 3245 / 3225
    Graphics:
    hd 4000 - dp / dvi
    I had the same video problem with 3225. You might try inserting the resolution data into /Volumes/Mountain Lion/Extra/org.chameleon.Boot.plist.

    <key>Graphics Mode</key>
    <string>1920x1080x32</string>
     
  10. xianghu

    xianghu

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P Motherboard
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225 Ivy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 15, 2012 at 5:24 AM #10
    xianghu

    xianghu

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P Motherboard
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225 Ivy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Thank you guys. I did a clean install and followed moarfish's instructions on his forum and got the sound working. As far as I can tell, everything is working 100%.

    The only other thing I would like to do is be able to monitor the computer temperature. I tried installing the FakeSMC plugins before doing the clean install and then I couldnt boot (just kept loading at the apple screen).
     

Share This Page