Graphics
GTX690
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
I'm very fortunate that my work place are chucking out a load of old Macs. I want to Mod one of them into a PC.

I can choose between a G5 case or a Mac Pro. Can any of you please provide advice on which one I should go for and why? I have very little (well, none) experience in modding PCs so perhaps the easier the better - that said - I do like a challenge.

Thanks very much for your advice.

Nathan

GO FOR THE MAC PRO!

I bet you will regret it if you choose the G5. On the pro, you have the possibility to swap in 2 drives in the front. I'd take the pro.

- Mathias

Hi Makrja,

Thanks for your reply. Is the Mac Pro harder to mod? (I think I read it is?)

I haven't had chance to do much research yet, but I shall search around on the forum. The only problem is the HDD bays at the top are missing on the Mac Pro - will this be a major problem? What size mobo can the Mac Pro take?

Sorry for all the questions. If anyone else would like to jump in with their two pennies worth, go right ahead!

Thanks,

Nathan

Hi Makrja,

Thanks for your reply. Is the Mac Pro harder to mod? (I think I read it is?)

I haven't had chance to do much research yet, but I shall search around on the forum. The only problem is the HDD bays at the top are missing on the Mac Pro - will this be a major problem? What size mobo can the Mac Pro take?

Sorry for all the questions. If anyone else would like to jump in with their two pennies worth, go right ahead!

Thanks,

Nathan

NP Mate!

I havent mod'ed neither! But i have modded a G4, and boi it was not easy. I can only imagine that the Pro/G5 will be a ton easier, since there is such space.