G5 mod - standoff screws?

Discussion in 'PowerMac G5' started by filby87, May 16, 2012.

  1. filby87

    filby87

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    May 16, 2012 at 11:04 AM #1
    filby87

    filby87

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    ive removed the standoffs and have cut the rear panel and got my mobo tray lined up and ready to jb-weld the standoffs back on in the right place
    ... but ...
    i cannot find any screws that will go into the standoffs, i have plenty that seem the right size but none with the right thread,
    anyone know the details of these type screws so i can buy some?

    thanks
     
  2. Gus

    Gus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Mobo:
    N/A
    CPU:
    N/A
    Graphics:
    N/A
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    May 16, 2012 at 11:57 AM #2
    Gus

    Gus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Mobo:
    N/A
    CPU:
    N/A
    Graphics:
    N/A
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    M3.5 by 7.5mm long I believe. In the UK the screws that hold electrical socket/light switchs ect. on to their rear plates. Just need to cut them down. Or go and search for machine screws.
     
  3. filby87

    filby87

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    May 16, 2012 at 12:33 PM #3
    filby87

    filby87

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    thanks Gus!
    i have now ordered the screws, just gotta wait before i can finishh building . . .
    ... i spend more time waiting for parts than i do actually building :(

    thanks again :headbang:
     
  4. rehpotsirhc

    rehpotsirhc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2550K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 18, 2012 at 10:30 PM #4
    rehpotsirhc

    rehpotsirhc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2550K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I re-tapped all of mine to standard ATX 6-32 because there weren't enough of the black G5 screws left due to many of the G5 motherboard's mounting holes being occupied by another screw in standoff.
     
  5. merlincs

    merlincs

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE B75M-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-3225
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 19, 2012 at 1:59 PM #5
    merlincs

    merlincs

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE B75M-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-3225
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi what do you mean by re-tapp?

    When I removed the G5 standoffs I threw them into wastebin :banghead:

    I plan to buy motherboard tray and to switch from AMD to Intel (have old mobo temporarily located in G5 without any fixing if you can see that you will kill me)

    Can I use mountainmod tray without these G5 standoffs? Or can I use something other?

    Thanks for tips
     
  6. rehpotsirhc

    rehpotsirhc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2550K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 19, 2012 at 4:00 PM #6
    rehpotsirhc

    rehpotsirhc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2550K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
  7. lynx1984

    lynx1984

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel I7 2600k 4.21Ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX770
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 19, 2012 at 4:16 PM #7
    lynx1984

    lynx1984

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel I7 2600k 4.21Ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX770
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    To bad you threw them away. I used 4 of them to mount the mother board tray in my g5 case. and 6 of them to mount my harddrive cage.
     
  8. merlincs

    merlincs

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE B75M-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-3225
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 19, 2012 at 5:01 PM #8
    merlincs

    merlincs

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE B75M-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-3225
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for answers

    I know I was so stupid in that time.

    According to tip from eelhead I have to buy SCREW STUDS 6mm I will by also 9mm ones.
     
  9. alexnov

    alexnov

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    H61M-D2-B3
    CPU:
    i5
    Graphics:
    9800GT
    Aug 2, 2017 at 1:20 PM #9
    alexnov

    alexnov

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    H61M-D2-B3
    CPU:
    i5
    Graphics:
    9800GT
    can you please tell me how to remove default motherboard standoffs from G5 case? Are they glued?
     
  10. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,236
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 2, 2017 at 1:25 PM #10
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,236
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
     

Share This Page