Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Does ANYONE make one? I've seen tons of people selling a 18pin cable but doesn't the late 2005 one use a 24pin?

This is really disheartening because I didn't realize this and already bought a late 2005 case. I have ZERO soldering experience and was really counting on a plug and play type deal :(

Does anyone know? I now have a perfect condition G5 case that I don't want anything to do with because I'll never get the front panel working :banghead:

Also, I would absolutely paypal you for your services. Much rather do that than sell this case I just bought this week lol.

Ok there is always a work around :D

Post a pic of the connecter. There are a lot of resources for info on how to make it work.

Also you can always buy a 18 pin set up off ebay as well and just replace yours if needed.

thank you for calming me down a bit lol...here are some pics of the cable I ordered. Will this work with a late 2005 G5 front panel? I'd rather not buy on ebay an older front panel because I know in replacing it I wouldn't make it look right, or if I have to cut up the front I'll screw it up for sure.

index-1.jpg
index-2.jpg
index.jpg

Attachments

• index-1.jpg
    index-1.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 844
  • index-2.jpg
    index-2.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 531
  • index.jpg
    index.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 565
Yeah that's the cable that fits into my 4 cases :D

I think the front IO Power, Audio, USB and Firewire are all the same I do think. That's why I mentioned swapping out the front with the 18 pin connector :D

You have some time yet so don't drive yourself crazy while your away like I said.
Once your back then you can dive right in and figure it all out.

You'll figure it out

bought a spare 18 pin panel for 20 bucks, so I'm safe either way now. Either a premade cable shows up on the internet or I unscrew the stock front panel and replace it. Seems like just 2 screws and I'm good!