Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all

Like so many others out there, I got seriously interested in doing case mods on the mac pro cases.

I've had the luck that my grandfather had both a G4 and a G5 to spare (in exchange for a faster hackintosh build I still had lying around).

I finished my G5 months ago (although one could say a casemod's never really done, innit?) and with an empty G4 case staring at me, I decided to give that one a go as well.

I must say that the building experience appeared as easier to me than the G5 (or maybe I just got more used to modding?) but I really had an awesome time doing so.

The donor for my project this time hasn't been the most reliable build at all, but it got the job done; since I work in retail in a computer store, we sometimes can get our hands on "broken" computers where obviously most parts still work. The old switcheroo left me a working HP mobo with an Intel Core i5 and an AMD Radeon 8xxx (which is not suitable on a hackintosh :/).

Apart from stripping the case, I drilled a hole in the case so my PSU could still draw air.

I forgot to paint the CD tray as well, so that's the only major change I'll have to do.

I have no photos from the build process since I always forget to do so. However, here's the final result: (Note that in the background you can see one of my 2 G5 cases^^)

Attachments

• IMG_0334.jpg
    IMG_0334.jpg
    616.9 KB · Views: 460
  • IMG_0333.jpg
    IMG_0333.jpg
    566.4 KB · Views: 593
  • IMG_0332.jpg
    IMG_0332.jpg
    607.6 KB · Views: 665
  • IMG_0335.jpg
    IMG_0335.jpg
    636.9 KB · Views: 576
Hi all

Like so many others out there, I got seriously interested in doing case mods on the mac pro cases.

I've had the luck that my grandfather had both a G4 and a G5 to spare (in exchange for a faster hackintosh build I still had lying around).