Contribute
Register

From NVIDIA to Radeon RX 570

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 17, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
GA-Z97-HD3
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi there,
I would like to change my graphic card with the MSI Radeon RX 570 ARMOR but I do not know how to move forward.

The doubt that I have is this: since Apple is natively supporting the AMD cards (I hope that is supporting this one as well) all I have to do is change the card and boot the system? There is something else that I have to do?

My hackintosh is configured via Clover and for the moment I'm freezed with 10.13.1 because I had hard times triyng to update.

My will is to change the graphic card and then start with a fresh installation.

What do you think? Shall I have some problem with this implementation?
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there,
I would like to change my graphic card with the MSI Radeon RX 570 ARMOR but I do not know how to move forward.

The doubt that I have is this: since Apple is natively supporting the AMD cards (I hope that is supporting this one as well) all I have to do is change the card and boot the system? There is something else that I have to do?

My hackintosh is configured via Clover and for the moment I'm freezed with 10.13.1 because I had hard times triyng to update.

My will is to change the graphic card and then start with a fresh installation.

What do you think? Shall I have some problem with this implementation?
To upgrade to a RX 570, you are better off upgrading to 10.13.6 first as it fully support in last version of High Sierra.

To get to 10.13.6, I recommend downloading and update with the 10.13.6 Combo Update. Then use MultiBeast 10.4.0 to finish the update process. I also recommend using the AppleLDC.kext approach rather than the Realtek driver; it will survive updates. :thumbup: You can see how I did it with MyHero II installation. Your MultiBeast selections will differ slightly because of your Z97 motherboard's chipset.
 

Jamesbond007

Moderator
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
6,521
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there,
I would like to change my graphic card with the MSI Radeon RX 570 ARMOR but I do not know how to move forward.

The doubt that I have is this: since Apple is natively supporting the AMD cards (I hope that is supporting this one as well) all I have to do is change the card and boot the system? There is something else that I have to do?

My hackintosh is configured via Clover and for the moment I'm freezed with 10.13.1 because I had hard times tryng to update.

My will is to change the graphic card and then start with a fresh installation.

What do you think? Shall I have some problem with this implementation?

If you are running High Sierra 10.13.4 or later, it will be as simple as just replacing the GTX 760 with the RX 570 and it should work directly. Apple provides native support for the RX 570 / RX 580 / Vega cards as of High Sierra 10.13.4.

You can also change the graphics card and then perform a fresh installation of MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6 (or Mojave) and then the card should work directly.

But why can't you update to High Sierra 10.13.6 from 10.13.1 by using the Combo Update from Apple? Do you have problems trying to do the update?
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
52
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 TUF MARK 2
CPU
I5-7600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you are running High Sierra 10.13.4 or later, it will be as simple as just replacing the GTX 760 with the RX 570 and it should work directly. Apple provides native support for the RX 570 / RX 580 / Vega cards as of High Sierra 10.13.4.

You can also change the graphics card and then perform a fresh installation of MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6 (or Mojave) and then the card should work directly.

But why can't you update to High Sierra 10.13.6 from 10.13.1 by using the Combo Update from Apple? Do you have problems trying to do the update?
that statement is not entirely true as I have done more or less the same, I have graphics glitches on boot although High Sierra does identify the 570 correctly.
depends if you have dual monitors I suppose, but I have tried a few ways of getting the glitches removed without success.

Screen Shot 2018-11-22 at 09.30.28 copy.jpg
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
GA-Z97-HD3
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for all the info guys!!
Really glad to see all of you helping me up.

But why can't you update to High Sierra 10.13.6 from 10.13.1 by using the Combo Update from Apple? Do you have problems trying to do the update?

I didn't try anymore to update to .6 becaus when I was trying to update from .1 to .2 I kept coming back to the .1 and since this a workstation I said to myself that the update could wait...

The Combo Update you're referring to is the one that I can download from the Apple site?

Do you have any suggestion on how to prepare for the upgrade?

Do you think I will be better off if I just start from a fresh install?

Last note, I've installed my sistem with Clover because I've understood that this was the "cleaner" way to install and this gave me the option to update the system from the AppStore. Stork is referring instead to MultiBeast, van you explain the differences between those solution?

I am not afraid to do some experiments but at the end I would like to have an hackintosh working since is my main machine where I do most of the work.

Thank you again,
Andrea
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
52
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 TUF MARK 2
CPU
I5-7600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Multibeast is used "after" you have installed your system with clover, it allows you to fine tune your boot drive with things like graphics/network/sound and so on.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
52
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 TUF MARK 2
CPU
I5-7600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do you have dual monitor? Because I have them too and I've already bought the graphic card :|
Yes
2 x Dell UP2716D monitors both connected with display port cables. I have everything up and running OK, even the Jpeg preview is working in Mojave. Just a strange glitch on boot up after that everything is OK
see link below for a video I took of the problem but no-one has come up with an answer.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/sapphire-rx570-graphic-glitch-on-boot.265683/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top