Contribute
Register

Freak's GA-X99M-GAMING 5 mATX Build - I7 5930K - GTX 970 - Clover

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,601
Motherboard
GA-X99M-Gaming 5
CPU
i7-5930K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Mount your SSD EFI partition and attach your /EFI/Clover.config.plist here. Also list what drivers are installed in /EFI/Clover/drivers64UEFI.

Also you could mount the EFI partition on your usb and copy the EFI folder to SSD EFI partition since it's successfully booting from the USB. Then you'd have a bootable SSD to work with.

EDIT: Is this Yos or El Cap?
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-X99M-Gaming 5
CPU
i7 5930K@4.5
Graphics
Nvidia Titan X
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
El Cap 10.11.4 stable - Clover

Gigabyte X99M Gaming 5
Intel i7 5930K@4.5Ghz
Corsair Dominator Platinum 2666Mhz CL15 4X8GB
Nvidia Titan X
Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - OS X
Intel 750 SSD NVMe PCIe 400GB - Windows 10
Dell UP3216Q

Everything is working, the only problem is I can't install El Cap on Intel 750 and make it bootable. I tried fresh install, tried CCC, just doesn't work.

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 13.12.03.jpgScreen Shot 2016-03-30 at 13.13.48.jpgIMG_0342.jpgIMG_0030.jpgIMG_0297.jpgIMG_0326.jpg
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,601
Motherboard
GA-X99M-Gaming 5
CPU
i7-5930K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Sweet! Did you try the Intel 750 SSD in the other PCI-e slot?
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-X99M-Gaming 5
CPU
i7 5930K@4.5
Graphics
Nvidia Titan X
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sweet! Did you try the Intel 750 SSD in the other PCI-e slot?

Now the 750 is installed in the last slot, the one at the bottom. Is the only way I could make it work. With the SSD installed in the third slot(like in the pics above), nothing was working! Couldn't install, couldn't boot Clover USB, couldn't boot El Cap after install, nothing at all.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,601
Motherboard
GA-X99M-Gaming 5
CPU
i7-5930K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I've had problems with multiple cards in the middle slot, the bottom one has worked fine with all. Have your Blackmagic scores changed?
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-X99M-Gaming 5
CPU
i7 5930K@4.5
Graphics
Nvidia Titan X
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The scores didn't change. One is for 850 EVO, and the other one(the bigger) for Intel 750. 750 has got Win 10 installed on it.

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 13.13.48.jpgScreen Shot 2016-03-30 at 13.12.03.jpg

I see you've got an XP941, AHCI probably. Did you install OS on it? Is it bootable?
In 2 weeks time I'll try to upgrade to Asus X99M-WS, and maybe buy a SM951 AHCI. I wonder if they will work for 10.11.4?
GA-X99M-Gaming 5 is a great board for Hackintosh, but is not very stable in OC.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,601
Motherboard
GA-X99M-Gaming 5
CPU
i7-5930K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yep I installed to and boot the XP941 with no issue, it also works fine in a EVGA X99 Micro2. I assume any AHCI m.2 will work. I looked at the Asus board but decided if I was going to be limited to Sata Express 10Gb/s I might as well stay with the Gigabyte. My OC on the Gigabyte was pretty stable until the F21b/c bios.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
176
Motherboard
HP ProBook 470 G5 (Clover)
CPU
i7-8550u
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The scores didn't change. One is for 850 EVO, and the other one(the bigger) for Intel 750. 750 has got Win 10 installed on it.

View attachment 183274View attachment 183275

I see you've got an XP941, AHCI probably. Did you install OS on it? Is it bootable?
In 2 weeks time I'll try to upgrade to Asus X99M-WS, and maybe buy a SM951 AHCI. I wonder if they will work for 10.11.4?
GA-X99M-Gaming 5 is a great board for Hackintosh, but is not very stable in OC.

Hi Ionut! Why not using samsung sm951 ssd? It is AHCI, same performance and it is bootable! I's my system disk so the speed is not at max.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 00.57.56.jpg
    Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 00.57.56.jpg
    608.2 KB · Views: 168
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top