Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> Forcing RGB mode for problematic displays

Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
1,056
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Wow! Awesome work! Thanks!!
In fact there already have been several similar methods on the internet as even a few Macs encountered the issue, but those are complicated and only tested with laptops. I didn’t try Hackintool until today, and I just thought it might be worthy to try.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,289
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In fact there already have been several similar methods on the internet as even a few Macs encountered the issue, but those are complicated and only tested with laptops. I didn’t try Hackintool until today, and I just thought it might be worthy to try.

I can confirm it's working for me too. :thumbup:
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
1,056
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This should be a macOS issue instead of a Hackintosh one. macOS might generate a corrupt profile for a display that would work improperly, so a correct profile that overrides the corrupt one will solve it. It is ironical that the easiest way to solve is from a Hackintosh tool.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,289
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This should be a macOS issue instead of a Hackintosh one. macOS might generate a corrupt profile for a display that would work improperly, so a correct profile that overrides the corrupt one will solve it. It is ironical that the easiest way to solve is from a Hackintosh tool.

Yes, I think it also affects real Macs.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
1,056
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The results do not change after updating to macOS 10.14.6.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
GigaByte: GA-Z87X-UD3H
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,289
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry for asking: where do I find that hackintool. I could not see it with the downloads.

I have no idea what to try next. I might have a problem with the graphics card (Gigabyte Radeon RX 580). I thought it would run out of the box ... but it might be somewhere else too...

I can log into my updated mojave but it works only for a couple of seconds and then everything freezes but the mouse arrow. I can move the mouse but cannot select anything.

See my post: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/i-can-log-into-mojave-but-only-the-mouse-arrow-lives.281550/

So it might have nothing to do with my graphics card but still i would like to check with that tool ...
Thanks for your support

 
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
GigaByte: GA-Z87X-UD3H
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thank you

i just fail to use it on the machine ... because the system freezes after login. is there something like a safe mode to go further (it tried shift while pressing return in clover)
 
Top