Contribute
Register
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3
CPU
Intel Skylake 6
Graphics
Nvidia 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
I am the fool, in case it wasn't obvious. Anyway, I cant boot my once working hackintosh as, in my attempt to fix another issue, i have gone into "Clover Boot Options" and hit "Remove all Clover boot options". Due to my original problem i am unable to get past the apple loading screen and am thus unable to reinstall the clover boot drive even with a clover USB. Is it possible to reinstall the Clover Boot Manager onto the system without being able to boot?

My original problem is that i uninstalled my Nvidia Web driver for my GTX 1070 and accidentally clicked restart now without reinstalling another nvidia driver. If possible, can someone tell me how to boot from the integrated graphics driver? I cant find the option in clover under "Options".

I am running a dual boot system: Windows 10 (working) and Hackintosh on seperate SSD's.
I just successfully updated from sierra to High sierra 10.13.2

I've attached an image of verbose mode when i try to boot from the USB.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0076.JPG
    IMG_0076.JPG
    2.8 MB · Views: 120

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,492
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
I've attached an image of verbose mode when i try to boot from the USB.
This error is typically the result of too many unnecessary fixes in config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Fixes.
Remove all of them (or set false), then enable only those you actually need.
My original problem is that i uninstalled my Nvidia Web driver for my GTX 1070 and accidentally clicked restart now without reinstalling another nvidia driver.
Fix for failure NVIDIA Web Driver on High Sierra, black screen, panics.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3
CPU
Intel Skylake 6
Graphics
Nvidia 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
Thanks for your response, I really appreciate it.

This error is typically the result of too many unnecessary fixes in config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Fixes.
Remove all of them (or set false), then enable only those you actually need.

EDIT: so to do that I just go into "clover boot manager" and go to "options" and go to "ACPI Patching" select "DSDT fix mask" and then deselect all the checkboxes and then reselect the options that are apart of my system? Is that right?

Fix for failure NVIDIA Web Driver on High Sierra, black screen, panics.

I keep ending up back at that link but unfortunately the fix that it provides assumes you can boot in recovery mode. I had access to the OS's user interface and recovery mode. High sierra was working perfectly from the integrated graphics. Unfortunately as soon as i uninstalled the Nvidia web driver it no longer boots.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3
CPU
Intel Skylake 6
Graphics
Nvidia 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
This error is typically the result of too many unnecessary fixes in config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Fixes.
Remove all of them (or set false), then enable only those you actually need.

Fix for failure NVIDIA Web Driver on High Sierra, black screen, panics.

So i edited the DSDT fixes from the clover boot manager (which i booted from a usb) and i can now boot. it turns out it was the "Fix LAN" that needed to be unchecked.

Unfortunately i still cant use my GTX 1070 even after following the link you sent. Every-time i use the 1070 it gets to halfway through the loading screen and then the screen turns off. I manage to navigate using voiceover but its not usable long term. the only way i can see the screen is if i uninstall the web driver Version 378.10.10.10.25.102 using voiceover. Otherwise no matter what i do the monitor turns off half way through the apple loading screen.
 

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,492
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Otherwise no matter what i do the monitor turns off half way through the apple loading screen.
BIOS - Disable Integrated Graphics - PEG as Primary
Use a digital connection to your monitor - VGA is not supported.
Boot with nv_disable=1
Install Nvidia Web Drivers
Config.plist - Do not inject Intel or Nvidia graphics and no ig-platform-id
Edit config.plist - NvidiaWeb = true as per Link
May need to emulate NVRAM - Problem 6 (Install EmuVariableUefi-64 + RC Scripts)
Remove nv_disable=1 from config.plist
MacPro 6,1 or iMac 15 or iMac 17 System Definition need black screen fix as per Link
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3
CPU
Intel Skylake 6
Graphics
Nvidia 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
BIOS - Disable Integrated Graphics - PEG as Primary
Use a digital connection to your monitor - VGA is not supported.
Boot with nv_disable=1
Install Nvidia Web Drivers
Config.plist - Do not inject Intel or Nvidia graphics and no ig-platform-id
Edit config.plist - NvidiaWeb = true as per Link
May need to emulate NVRAM - Problem 6 (Install EmuVariableUefi-64 + RC Scripts)
Remove nv_disable=1 from config.plist
MacPro 6,1 or iMac 15 or iMac 17 System Definition need black screen fix as per Link

Thanks again for your detailed response again. I realised anytime i was logging in i was using clover configurator to edit the wrong config.plist file. So i managed to log in and change the right config.plist file and i retried the instructions in the original link you sent but now i get this error (see attached image). and after googling, experimenting and not sleeping for an entire night am unsure how to proceed.

In addition to that I also have a question: how can i boot without using a usb as i'm always using the usb to boot (at some point i accidentally clicked "remove all clover boot options" in clover boot manager under "options") and now theres no option to choose clover on start up?

Thank you so much for your help.

EDIT: i also have Clover configurator on a macbook so i can edit the config.plist file on the USB from there (with clover configurator).
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0185.JPG
    IMG_0185.JPG
    2.1 MB · Views: 52
Last edited:

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,492
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
So i managed to log in and change the right config.plist file and i retried the instructions in the original link you sent but now i get this error (see attached image).
You must have done something wrong as your image still shows issues with graphics.
 
Top