Fixed my 550 ti

Discussion in 'Mountain Lion Desktop Support' started by coolcorey1, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. coolcorey1

    coolcorey1

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte H67m D2 B3
    CPU:
    Intel core i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    MSI power edition gtx 660 ti
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 6:56 AM #1
    coolcorey1

    coolcorey1

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte H67m D2 B3
    CPU:
    Intel core i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    MSI power edition gtx 660 ti
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    550 Ti problems

    For anyone getting a white screen and a cusor then the dreaded beachball after installing With the 550 ti boot with -X and delete ati6000 and ati frame buffer in extensions make a backup of the (just in case)

    REPAIR PERMISSIONS WITH KEXTBEAST!

    Reboot!!!!!

    Dont know why this fix works but could not find it anywhere i think it will work for most nvidia cards if they have this problem.
     
  2. Didanix

    Didanix

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 8:28 AM #2
    Didanix

    Didanix

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have a GTX 550 Ti (MSI Cyclone II) and this fix (sadly) did not work for me.

    While I got past the white screen, it still gets stuck either at a blue screen or when it's loading the desktop.

    I have a fully working Lion install, so I'm using the same DSDT for ML. No idea where to go from here. :(

    This is as far as I can get:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Didanix

    Didanix

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 8:58 AM #3
    Didanix

    Didanix

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I *think* the problem might be that I have installed Lion and Mountain Lion on the same SSD, while in Lion I've moved my User-directory to a separate HDD.

    From what I can tell (from the logs) is that the nvidia driver should be working properly, but it appears that it's loading all the settings/preferences/components from my User-directory (on the separate HDD) even though I didn't set it up to do so. So naturally, it's loading CUDA and what not, so things like that could be the problem.

    I'll try with an older SATA drive next, just to see what happens with a fresh install with nothing extra.

    Also, it might be worth mentioning that I have to use PCIRootUID=0, otherwise I'll get a blank screen/no signal.

    *sigh* Here we go again.
     
  4. andy4life

    andy4life

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    Intel
    CPU:
    2.67
    Graphics:
    550Ti
    Jul 26, 2012 at 9:37 AM #4
    andy4life

    andy4life

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    Intel
    CPU:
    2.67
    Graphics:
    550Ti
    Unfortunately this didn't work for me.

    I have an Asus P5Q Pro and 2x ASUS Nvidia 550ti 1GB. Both of them work with EFI strings or without by using GraphicsEnabler in Chameleon. I can change resolution and the graphics are accelerated. I have four monitors connected 2x VGA and 2x DVI. This configuration has been working for me since Leopard (i used to have two ATI's but upgraded to the 550ti's when Lion came out and they worked fine).

    My issue is this: When I leave the computer for a while one of two things will happen:

    1. Either I will have severe tearing issues and then a subsequent hang which requires a forced restart
    2. The computer will just hang requiring me to force restart it

    or

    3. If I'm running a video in Quicktime in full screen, I can't get out of it - it just stays stuck on full screen. If I put it on full screen and then quickly go to windowed
    mode I notice tearing in the top left corner and a 2-3 sec delay in going back to windowed mode.

    Things I've tried

    1. Using EFI strings in com.chameleon.boot.plist
    2. Not using EFI strings in com.chameleon.boot.plist
    3. Disabling GraphicsEnabler
    4. Enabling GraphicsEnabler
    5. Using a ROM image in chameleon
    6. Not using a ROM imagine in chameleon.
    7. Editing AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext and smbios.

    Either way my graphic card(s) are both detected and I get full resolution support and acceleration. My issue is the hanging it's driving me nuts.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks guys
     
  5. Didanix

    Didanix

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 10:03 AM #5
    Didanix

    Didanix

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    First off, I can confirm that a fresh install did the trick, got full hardware acceleration in Mountain Lion, hooray! I'm using GraphicsEnabler=Yes and PCIRootUID=0, nothing else out of the ordinary (except for disabling those two kexts mentioned in the first post). Also, Mac12,1 smbios, if it makes a difference.

    Secondly, andy4life, does your Ti show up as 1,5GB instead of the 1GB? Mine does and it feels like that's the cause of the hanging.
    With my current Lion setup, my Ti has been working perfectly (used Mac12,1 power management via AGPM kext), except for when I'm doing extensive graphics stuff, ie. playing multiple videos with Flash & VLC while having a 3D application open, it always hangs at some point, so I'm thinking that it has something to do with Lion thinking that the card has run out of memory, but who knows, haven't found any "solid" proof.
     
  6. andy4life

    andy4life

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    Intel
    CPU:
    2.67
    Graphics:
    550Ti
    Jul 26, 2012 at 10:36 AM #6
    andy4life

    andy4life

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    Intel
    CPU:
    2.67
    Graphics:
    550Ti
    One of my cards shows up as 1,5 and the other as 1mb lol.

    I'm suspicious of the same. When I use the rom image it shows up as 3gb's each (odd).

    I have done a fresh re-install twice and I have played with MacPro3,1 and 4,1 and 5,1 but never 12,1) I might try that. I will post back here if that fails.

    I have also tried PCIRootUID=0 and that does absolutely nothing for me. It's so strange since it was working perfectly in Lion.
     
  7. andy4life

    andy4life

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    Intel
    CPU:
    2.67
    Graphics:
    550Ti
    Jul 26, 2012 at 11:02 AM #7
    andy4life

    andy4life

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    Intel
    CPU:
    2.67
    Graphics:
    550Ti
    So I changed my EFI strings so that the cards would be 1gb each and I turned off graphics enabler and changed my smbios to Mac12,1 and I'm still having the same issues :(
     
  8. Didanix

    Didanix

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 12:35 PM #8
    Didanix

    Didanix

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Well, after testing that the Ti works in ML using an old SATA HDD, I went ahead any wiped my SSD and installed ML on it.

    Much to my surprise, after you reboot for the first time (after running Multibeast), I can't get the graphics to work (same garbled screen), no matter what I try. Tried rebuilding the kextcache (with the -f flag, not sure if that still works), removed the ATI kexts, nothing seems to help.

    Booting with -x works though, but not like that helps anything.

    No idea what to try next..
     
  9. Didanix

    Didanix

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 1:47 PM #9
    Didanix

    Didanix

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Damn it, I've reinstalled about ten times now. According to the logs, it's the dreaded NVDA (DMA) Channel Timeout error, meaning something's definitely wrong with the driver.

    What smbios/definitions are you guys using, since it worked for you out of the box? I've even tried patching the driver and the power management kext, but the result is still the same. It can't be my DSDT from Lion, can it?
     
  10. andy4life

    andy4life

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    Intel
    CPU:
    2.67
    Graphics:
    550Ti
    Jul 26, 2012 at 1:53 PM #10
    andy4life

    andy4life

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    Intel
    CPU:
    2.67
    Graphics:
    550Ti
    I'm getting that same Channel Timeout error on my console logs also.

    If I don't use any smbios it will work for me out of the box with GraphicsEnabler set to Yes and no EFI or anything else. I have also added my device ID to the 100HAL kext but that hasn't done anything.

    I keep contemplating trying out the kext files from 10.7.4 in Lion when it worked but I think I did this once and it broke my ML install - instant kernel panic on startup.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice