Fixed: HDMI Audio OS X El Capitan easy guide (No DSDT Edit) Works for me

Discussion in 'HDMI Audio' started by patrick797, Oct 25, 2015.

  1. patrick797

    patrick797

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX650 1GB DDR5
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 25, 2015 at 2:44 PM #1
    patrick797

    patrick797

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX650 1GB DDR5
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Fixed: HDMI Audio > Yosemite / El Capitan/ OS Sierra easy guide (No DSDT Edit) Worked for me

    Hi everybody

    I have installed OS X El Capitan following this guide UniBeast: Install OS X Mavericks on Any Supported Intel-based PC Everything is working, the only problem I had was audio.

    My Hardware:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI Socket 1155 Mini-ITX Motherboard
    Intel Core i5-3570K CPU
    Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz Low Profile Vengeance Memory
    GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 650 GV-N650OC-1GI 1GB 128-Bit GDDR5
    Samsung 840 Pro 2.5" 256GB SATA III Solid State Drive
    PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-220L
    Be Quiet 530W Pure Power PSU
    SHARK ZONE C10 Mini-ITX PC Case

    (Cheap OOB Graphics Card for Mac OS Sierra is: GeForce GT 710)

    Here is what I did


    First I have installed AppleHDA.kext & HDAEnabler892.kext using KextBeast to enable my onboard audio for Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI (you have to get the right audio kext for your motherboard or You can skip this, as this fix will also enable onboard audio)
    I have restarted, opened sound preferences & selected the right device for sound output. The onboard audio is now WORKING :headbang: (Not as loud as my USB2.0 External 3D Virtual 7.1 Channel Audio Sound Card Adapter)
    This Audio Sound Card Adapter works OOB and the sound is good. If you can't get onboard audio working this is the best & quickest option



    OS X El Capitan (This works with Yosemite & Sierra) HDMI Audio Fix:

    I have downloaded VoodooHDA 2.8.8 pkg installer 1.0
    I have run the installer, rebooted & now I have working onboard audio & HDMI audio
    If it doesn't work for you. open sound preferences & check if the right device for sound output is selected.

    Most importantly I have working HDMI Audio without complicated DSDT edit. :headbang:
    This could work for you as well. You have to try to see if it works for you or not.
    Try this on your own risk.

    Audio noise Fix : If you have a bad noise after you have installed VoodooHDA 2.8.8 pkg installer 1.0
    You need to show all files (use ShowAllFiles app) Then go to System/Library/Extensions find VodooHDA.kext copy it to desktop.
    Delete the original kext in the Extensions folder. Go to the kext on the desktop - Show package content, open contents folder, open info.plist with text edit
    find this:

    <key>PCM</key>
    <integer>90</integer>
    <key>Rec</key>
    <integer>70</integer>
    <key>iGain</key>
    <integer>0</integer>
    <key>iMix</key>
    <integer>0</integer>

    Under iGain change the value from 90 to <integer>0</integer> Save the change. After that run KextBeast
    Select the destination folder: System/Library/Extensions
    Reboot, done no more noise or bad audio.

    * Alternative guide to enable HDMI Audio : GUIDE: HDMI Audio for this guide download: HDMIAudio-1.0.dmg.zip (This guide didn't work for me, but it might work for you.)

    There is other way to do this: Download HDMIAudio.kext.zip

    You need to mount your EFI partition using Clover Configurator. Then just copy HDMIAudio.kext to EFI/Clover/Kext/10.11 then reboot. I also red to copy the kext to EFI/Clover/Kext/other instead to 10.11 folder)

    If this doesn't work, try to put HDMIAudio.kext to desktop & run Kextbeast
    (This didn't work for me either, but it might work for you. )


    Please share if this helped you


    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 22, 2017
  2. joe31093

    joe31093

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Oct 25, 2015 at 10:13 PM #2
    joe31093

    joe31093

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    I have a similar setup but using the CPU's HD4000 instead of a dedicated video card. I have the HDMI as a selection in "Sound" but no audio. Will keep trying...
     
  3. patrick797

    patrick797

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX650 1GB DDR5
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 25, 2015 at 11:54 PM #3
    patrick797

    patrick797

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX650 1GB DDR5
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi

    Second from the top is the one which works for me
     
  4. joe31093

    joe31093

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Oct 26, 2015 at 2:50 AM #4
    joe31093

    joe31093

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    I tried them all. No audio :(
     
  5. patrick797

    patrick797

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX650 1GB DDR5
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 26, 2015 at 7:29 AM #5
    patrick797

    patrick797

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX650 1GB DDR5
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    That is a shame, I had trouble with HD4000 that is why I got graphics card. The best cheap one is GT610 it works OOB
     
  6. joe31093

    joe31093

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Oct 27, 2015 at 3:51 AM #6
    joe31093

    joe31093

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Ok, got it to work finally (with DSDT).

    1: Clean DSDT (MaciASL), compile, no errors
    2: Patched with Z77N-WiFi, compile, no errors
    3: Patched with AMI-HD4000-AMD-NVidia-A3 (https://raw.github.com/toleda/audio_hdmi_hd4000/master), compile, no errors
    4: Saved DSDT.aml to EFI\EFI\CLOVER\ACPI\patched

    Got HDMI Audio :)

    Gigabyte Z77N-WIFI, BIOS version F3, default settings
    Intel Core i5
    16GB RAM
     

    Attached Files:

  7. patrick797

    patrick797

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX650 1GB DDR5
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 30, 2015 at 5:37 PM #7
    patrick797

    patrick797

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX650 1GB DDR5
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Please comment, you will help others
     
  8. Nickbel

    Nickbel

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 ghz
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 31, 2015 at 7:07 PM #8
    Nickbel

    Nickbel

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 ghz
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Display port audio workaround

    Hi there,

    I had no audio since the update to 'El Capitan' on my setup. The only audio I could get to work was my (razer) Headset via a USB port.

    So I tried a few things, for example this link (https://github.com/toleda/audio_CloverALC) but even after some tinkering around I could not get the ports on my computer to work. My setup however gives me the ability to play audio via display port, so when reading this thread I thought I could give that a try and I installed VooDooHDA and after a restart, my audio went to my monitor and I heard sound:clap:. My monitor has a 3.5mm audio port and thus I used that to connect my speakers to my computer. So its a bit of a workaround but I will keep my self up to date and try to get the actual ports on my computer to work.

    Succes to everyone else trying to get their audio to work:beachball:.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2015
  9. jminrod

    jminrod

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7 TH LGA 1150 Z97 Dual Thunderbolt 2 ATX Motherboard
    CPU:
    Intel Core BX80646I74790K i7-4790K Processor (8M Cache, up to 4.40 GHz)
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GT 740 4GB GDDR5 Dual DVI mHDMI Graphics Cards 04G-P4-3748-KR
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 4, 2015 at 12:59 AM #9
    jminrod

    jminrod

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7 TH LGA 1150 Z97 Dual Thunderbolt 2 ATX Motherboard
    CPU:
    Intel Core BX80646I74790K i7-4790K Processor (8M Cache, up to 4.40 GHz)
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GT 740 4GB GDDR5 Dual DVI mHDMI Graphics Cards 04G-P4-3748-KR
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The [​IMG] VoodooHDA-v2.8.8.zip worked for me. My build is in my signature. I did try some of the others with no luck but I am very new to the hackintosh world. I got a new monitor that had built in speakers so I thought I would come back to the forums. I tried the voodooHDA app restarted and tried the HDI output but nothing. When I seen that the "Line Out (Green Rear)" had been added I tried that and now I have sound going to a cheap set of accer usb speakers. This is so much more helpful trying to watch youtube videos on my iphone for how to use clover was impossible. Thanks again to everyone here
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2016
  10. patrick797

    patrick797

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX650 1GB DDR5
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 10, 2015 at 5:00 PM #10
    patrick797

    patrick797

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX650 1GB DDR5
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It is good to hear that it worked for you
     

Share This Page