Contribute
Register

Fix Sleep on Sierra

Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
68
Motherboard
ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING
CPU
i7 8700k
Graphics
EVGA gtx1080 ti
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Thanks all for the help.. finally the problem was a usb bluetooth dongle in usb3 port.. move to 2.0 and all work fine again.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VI Impact
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
MSI GTX 980ti Gaming
Mobile Phone
iOS
I had issue with waking on my Z170x Gaming 5 and GTX980. It would just display black screen and restart after a few minutes. I added the boot arg darkwake=0 and so far it seems to have fixed the problem. I'll have to test it overnight to see how it does for long periods of sleep.
darkwake=0 also useful for me. Thx

4790K
asus maximus vi impact
GTX980 ti
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
2
Motherboard
x
CPU
970
Graphics
nvidia
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I had the same problem with GTX960 OC in Sierra. Sleeps creates a panic and the system restarts.
I made some changes and solved it partially.

1) modified com.apple.Boot.plist and added darkwake=3
2) remove NullCPUPowerManagement.kext from clover 10.2 folder

This way works all except if I set the wifi wake up in energy preferences.

Hope this help.

NOTE: I have Mac 6,1 definition for my system. Didn't try with others
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2013
Messages
144
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have only one slider with Power settings. I use iMac 14.2 SMBIOS. Only a slider for Monitor will sleep after x minutes. I have used systemdefinition for MacPro 5.1 for years and always had two sliders. Is it right that there is only one slider on Mac 14.2 systemdefinition? I use Darkwake=8 b.t.w and Power NAP enabled.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,809
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I have only one slider with Power settings. I use iMac 14.2 SMBIOS. Only a slider for Monitor will sleep after x minutes. I have used systemdefinition for MacPro 5.1 for years and always had two sliders. Is it right that there is only one slider on Mac 14.2 systemdefinition? I use Darkwake=8 b.t.w and Power NAP enabled.
Powernap causes issues with sleep on some motherboards recommend disabling it. Attach ioreg. [Guide] How to Make a Copy of IOReg | tonymacx86.com
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2013
Messages
144
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have it disabled now. My Mac sleeps wel now since than. Here is my ioreg. May be you will find some unknown troubles? I have found that it is normal to have only one slider since Haswell Mac's.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,809
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I have it disabled now. My Mac sleeps wel now since than. Here is my ioreg. May be you will find some unknown troubles? I have found that it is normal to have only one slider since Haswell Mac's.
Ioreg looks fine. If sleep is working fine then theres no need to worry about anything.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97N Gaming 5
CPU
i7 4790k
Graphics
Gigabyte RX 580 Gaming 8G
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm having this same problem on mine after upgrading to Sierra. Sleep will blank the monitor, but the computer never seems to shut down. It wakes up just fine.
Same issue, tried with darkwake=0 and 3, same results. Any other suggestions?
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,809
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Top